We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best find of our trip”
Review of Riad Palais Didi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Palais Didi
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Meknes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Ismail Moulay reportedly fathered 888 children, some of them in this building, which is a small, beautiful, old palace in a perfect location in Meknes. We spent one night, which was all we needed to see the highlights of the city and to visit nearby Volubilis. The food was about the best Moroccan meals we had on our whole trip, which was 17 nights and included some hotels that were several times more costly, and some restaurants that were highly touted but disappointing. If there had been more to see in Meknes we would have been happy to spend more time, but we moved to Fes at the end of the day. The only disappointment was that the little pool on the roof had no water. Not big enough for swimming, but it would have been nice for a dunk. The rooms were magnificent.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for a room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveler20c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2013

On entering the hotel we were impressed, especially the rooms. We were the only ones staying which felt strange. The hotel is really catered to groups of day trippers having lunch.The bathtub in my room leaked when showering, I brought this to the attention of the staff but they seemed unmoved.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This guest house which was once a royal residence has a very Moroccan atmosphere and is located in the quiet alleyways of the old Medina in Meknes. We loved the very faithfully restored rooms and suites. Breakfast and dinner were excellent with local dishes served in the lovely courtyard. A small rooftop pool was refreshing after a long day in the bus.

Room Tip: You can select from a number of rooms and suites, each has its own character and special features, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggies53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

A lovely location and a beauttiful courtyard but we found the decor in the rooms overpowering and old fashioned, it definitely needs an uplift. The breakfastb was extremely basic, not palais standard.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiers_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This Riad is located in the heart of the old Medina part of Meknes call Dar el Kabir. Quaint rooms but less offthe creature comforts of a hotel. The building and rooms are a site to see bu remember its 400 years old. Food service is not what you expect out of a restaurant but it's incredible in taste.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Webappguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Now if they would just improve their service (slow and unhelpful) and put wifi in the rooms, this hotel could easily be a 5-star. The rooms were magnifIcent and full of character, the breakfast and dinner were good albeit slow, and the wifi was only available in the lobby. All in all, definitely worth it for the rooms, but don't expect good service or wifi as well.

Room Tip: Stay on the rooms around the courtyard -- they're gorgeously decorated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveler9871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I loved almost everything about this hotel. The ONLY things I didn't like were: Staff didn't speak english, and WiFi didn't work in room

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Fritz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
396 reviews
3.2 mi away
Menzeh Dalia
Menzeh Dalia
#16 of 19 in Meknes
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Anne de Meknes
Riad Anne de Meknes
#3 of 19 in Meknes
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Swani
Hotel Swani
#4 of 19 in Meknes
40 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#6 of 19 in Meknes
41 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tafilalet & Spa
Hotel Tafilalet & Spa
#2 of 19 in Meknes
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Palais Didi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Palais Didi

Address: 7 Dar Lakbira, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Meknes
Price Range: £59 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Didi is a descendant of sultan Moulay Sulaiman and grandfather to the present owners. Didi had 4 wives, each of them had her own quarters on the ground floor of what is now referred to as Riad Palais Didi. Today Palais Didi is a real masterpiece of Moroccan craftsmanship. Restored in the purest Moroccan style, it is organized around a large patio and a nice fountain where you would eventually refresh during the long summer days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Palais Didi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Palais Didi Meknes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing