We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite fun if you fancy a noisy nightclub in your hotel's lobby”
Review of Hotel Akouas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Akouas
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Meknes
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Quite fun if you fancy a noisy nightclub in your hotel's lobby”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Let me first start off with the pro's of Hotel Akouas:

+ The rooms provide pretty ok what you usually require: a place to sleep (although hard beds, more about that later), proper bathroom, spacious room.

- As mentioned in the title, there's a nightclub located in the lobby. OK to me if that's your thing, but we found out when returning to our room at 9:30 PM. Around this time the volume was acceptable. That changed when I woke up at 3:30 AM and heard the beat downstairs. Note: this was at the upper (6st) floor.
- The beds were hard as stone.
- Unfriendly/unpersonal staff. You notice the difference between people that see you as a walking wallet and those that treat you as a person soon enough, and we were treated as the former. (i.e: the receptionist was only friendly on the possibility of selling us 37-euro per person trips to Volubilis, where a avarage cab charges 27 euro 'retour' IN TOTAL. Needless to say: decline this offer)
- On negotiating a discount for our planned 5-day stay, all we got was a dissapointing free breakfast. After two noisy nights we left.

Room Tip: If you can stand hard, firm beds, unpersonal/unfriendly treatment and the location is exactly what y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HedwigJoostD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    19
    27
    13
    10
See reviews for
6
19
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

On a rainy December night Akouas was a welcome and warm retreat.
Rooms large with great heating, basic, but large bathrooms and nice views over the city.nbeds quite comfortable ,extra blankets provided.
The. Sin attraction is the downstairs bar, seemed to be full of locals, and very smoky.
Had a great dinner there, delicious food and a nice selection of local wines.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank brysc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salamanca, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a little expensive compared with the rest of morroco but considering that Meknes is not expecting avalanches of tourists is the best choice we found.
It is within a 20mins walk from the madina's place and the famous Bab amansour that doubtlessly worths it.
Good places for having dinner near the hotel where tourists are barely found.
Hotel seemed to be built expecting great times to come but decadence and obsolescence is found in every corner. You only have to take a look at the swimming pool (absolutely empty) or the room's doors.
The personnel is quiet, the car's guard with his long white beard belongs to the chair in the hotel's door, the tables all dusty hasn't been cleaned and the golden ornaments on the sofas are prepared for the king's arrival to sign his picture hanged on the wall.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pippeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Very clean place . our room was comfortable and with nice decoration .
the atmosphere was also nice , we had the chance to meet other guests and talk with them .
i think it is a nice plac to visit in meknes.

Room Tip: hight floor have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HamiltonNZ
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed here has part of a tourgroup.
On arrival I found the hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating.
My room had two king single beds and they were extremely comfortable.
I like that the decor in the room reflected Morocco and it was very tastful.
My room was very large and had enough room for two extra chairs and a small table.
Also the windows were double glazed but you could also slide them open to get some fresh air or have a look out the window.
The air con was one of the better ones I had in morocco and I liked that you could set it to swing mode.
There was a huge wardrobe for anyone who was staying a bit longer.
My one complaint is that the walls were very thin and you could hear people in the next room or out in the corridor very clearly.
All in all...a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Even knowing that is less expensive than the others, i can assure you that it could be your worst experience in Morocco. The Arab Music is too loud until 04.00h so you cannot sleep. The employers are non polite and restaurant food, is horrible.
Please, do not stay at this hotel if you want to rest or sleep.
.

Room Tip: No choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisCasablanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Meknes hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Arrived by train on 21st March 2012. Turn left out of the station and walk about 200 yards and its on the left at the end of the road.
Walked in and booked a double en suite room (607) for 420 Dh including breakfast.
The room is on the 6th floor and has a small balcony. The bedroom was very clean with a TV and air con. The sheets and towels were clean and fresh and the shower worked with plenty of hot water. Not that we chose it for it the hotel has a swimming pool but it was empty of water on the day we visited. It does have a bar but we didn't use it so can't comment further.
The breakfasts were good. coffee, bread, croisants, omelette, jams, juice ect all included.
There was no noise despite being fairly close to the train station and main road.
Tel; (212) 05 35 51 59 67
email: hotelakouas@yahoo.fr
www.hotelakouas.com

Room Tip: Useful location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bart1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
382 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Swani
Hotel Swani
#5 of 19 in Meknes
36 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#6 of 19 in Meknes
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Menzeh Dalia
Menzeh Dalia
#11 of 19 in Meknes
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bab Mansour
Bab Mansour
#17 of 19 in Meknes
20 reviews
1.0 mi away
Transatlantique
Transatlantique
#4 of 19 in Meknes
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akouas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akouas

Property: Hotel Akouas
Address: 27 Rue Al Amir Abdelkader, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akouas 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Akouas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akouas Hotel Meknes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing