We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““Beautiful riad but service is lacking”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ryad Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ryad Bahia
Ranked #5 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
China, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““Beautiful riad but service is lacking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

e stayed here for a few nights on a two week trip to Morrocco.
There was a bit of a mix up with our reservation and the dates on which we were supposed to be staying. I don't think the mix up was really anybodies fault but the Riad manager dealt with it in a very poor manner and made us feel very unwelcome. The Riad itself is very pretty but you will get better hospitality, quality service and a warmer welcome elsewhere in Fes. The director didn't seem able to cope with all the guests and the service at dinner was poor and quite brusque. We were also asked to leave a tripadvisor review which I find is contrary to the spirit of tripadvisor

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank difalk m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    76
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
52
144
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We were very disappointed with Ryad Bahia. Whilst the living and open areas were lovely , the bedroom was small and the balcony near the resturant. This meant that at night the room was noisy. My great disappointment was the threadbare and very poor quality sheets and towels. This was our most expensive accommodation in Morocco, we had booked the most expensive room and it fell well short in terms of quality. We elected to eat in the restaurant both nights of our stay - one meal was lovely the next was very bland and uninteresting. The meal price was very high. We decided to leave a night early and unfortunately we were required to pay the extra night - the owners blamed the booking agent however it was their decision.
We would have appreciated some advice on visiting Meknes but none was forthcoming and the owners were either busy of absent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouieJ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

This riad was our introduction to the riad experience in Morocco and we were amazed. Walking into the medina of a city you have no idea what is hidden behind the walls. We were astonished when the door was hopen and we stepped into this place. It is stunning. The owners and staff are gracious and welcoming. The food was excellent and they were good enough to put on a fire and serve our meal cozied up to it.

Not a criticism, but it is worth knowing that buildings in Morocco are not heated and thus can be very cold. The room does have a heater so you can warm it up but you'd be wise to bring some extra layers for evening and overnight.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toscolano-Maderno, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is my second stay at Riad Bahia, and in my opinion, represents perfectly the best moroccan hospitality. Bouchra (the owner) has a special touch, loves her country, and is a source of information about Meknes and Morocco. The riad is centrally located, in the heart of the medina. The food is also very tasty. I hope to be lucky enough, to come back here once again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinzia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This is a charming place, a wonderful building with lots to find around corners and stairs cases, a lovely social and eating area and an enchanting roof terrace. Gently unpolished and full of character - truly lovely hosts, very friendly and welcoming, not intrusive.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank r g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We got into Meknes late, taking the train directly from our flight to Casablanca. While we had help from friends, this Riad was very easy to find, and was a welcome Oasis. Great heat inside our room, and a lovely view from the top area.

Room Tip: The higher the better for rooms, though all were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our first night in Morocco after a long flight from New York and site seeing. We felt we had arrived at an oasis. We were given a beautiful and spacious room on the top terrace with a bedroom and an adjoining room. It was an extremely tranquil room even with the call for morning prayers from the mosque at 5 am. This did not interrupt a deep sleep and waking to a beautiful breakfast the next day. Our only regret is that we did not stay here longer. We will be back!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top with the terrace were spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFK212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meknes hotels
11.0 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#2 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
10.8 mi away
Riad Amazigh Meknes
Riad Amazigh Meknes
#4 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
10.9 mi away
Riad Ritaj
Riad Ritaj
#3 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Riad Lahboul
Riad Lahboul
#6 of 43 in Meknes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
10.9 mi away
Riad Meknes
Riad Meknes
#36 of 43 in Meknes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
10.9 mi away
Riad El Ma
Riad El Ma
#1 of 43 in Meknes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Bahia

Property: Ryad Bahia
Address: Tiberbarine, Ancienne Medina Meknes, Meknes, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ryad Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Bahia Meknes
Ryad Bahia Hotel Meknes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing