We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meknes et riad dor”
Review of Riad d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad d'Or
Ranked #8 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
dirono
1 review
“Meknes et riad dor”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The Riad is located in an incredible historic palace, which has been renovated maintaining some original rooms and adding new ones. It has 2 beautiful internal courtyards and a huge terrace on different levels with awesome views on the city. My room (the "Almoravide") was quite an experience, as it had the ambience of a 250 year old princess's suite with 4 meter high wooden ceilings, woodcarved arches and decorated walls, as well as a Hammam like bathtub below ground. It felt like being in a film, but also slightly spooky! The night porter was very friendly and provided me with water for tea twice.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fontino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    148
    40
    15
    10
See reviews for
112
297
50
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

For an imperial city with a lot to see, I found Meknes to really be lacking in anything other than what I would call "basic" accommodation as far as riads are concerned. Riad D'or is ok, but is a complete labyrinth of a place with room names that are close to unpronounceable and therefore totally forgettable. A person can wander for quite some time without ever actually finding their room. I'm not sure what would be so hard about simply putting up some signage to lead guests to their rooms? I found it extremely frustrating. Our bathroom had a "sunken" L shaped shower. In the cold of December, you actually had to step down into a freezing tiled hole in the ground. The shower did not connect to the wall so you had to hold the nozzle and move it over your body to get we. How does a person hold a shower nozzle in one hand, plus use two hands to soap up and wash your hair? I froze! Most unpleasant! What is so hard about attaching the shower to the wall? We noted that the staff member who showed us to our room took the heater remote control with him. My husband (an Arabic speaker) went down to get it as the room was freezing. He was told they don't leave the remotes in the room as guests turn the heating/cooling on and never turn it off, costing them in electricity. Um - derrrr! Isn't that what I'm bloody paying you for by paying the room rate? Needless to say, I marched straight down to reception and demanded immediate possession of the remote! There was a menu in the room on arrival offering approximately 4 entrees, 6 mains and 4 desserts which enticed us to dine there. On arrival at the restaurant we were offered a different menu with only 2 entrees, 3 mains and 2 desserts, and none of the dishes that had enticed us there in the first place. We asked the waiter (in Arabic - so no communication problems) "What is the soup of the day?" "Don't know" was the reply, with no move whatsoever to find out. Dude, isn't it, like, waitering 101 to know the dishes of the day before coming out to serve customers? Suffice to say, we skipped entrée, had a quick tagine and opted to return to our room to eat our own Moroccan pastries for dessert. My review - feckless, ignorant and penny pinching staff and not enough thought about how to make the rooms user friendly. Lovely tiling in the downstairs salon, but otherwise I'll look for other accommodation when next I'm in Meknes.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DebbieV833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The rooms are absolutely stunning! The riad is very clean and the architecture of the building is very beautiful. It is somewhat a maze and there is a lot to discover. The restaurant of Riad D'or is also very good. I had an amazing time in this riad and felt very welcome. Everyone was very kind and helpful. When my friend got sick the host even took me to a pharmacy. Love this riad and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This riad is my favorite during my visit ot Morocco. It is so beautiful and relaxing that I hated to leave. Wandering around the riad you discovered amazingly furnished sitting rooms where you can gather with your friends. The bath is large, although the lighting is too dim. The breakfast is great!
My only suggestion to the owner is to provide extra blankets during the cooler months.

Room Tip: The riad is probably made up of two or more small houses. It has a series of stairs that connects...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Riad d'Or is a place to discover and to stay for some days... excellent breakfast and home made food, different rooms decorated with a lot of taste, relaxing in one of the many lovely corners, drinking a thee while talking with the owners you will make friends forever.
Thanks you so much guys, keep going on! This is a lifeproject to be continued!

ann en lina from belgium (Leuven)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

the Riad is very nice and clean with the staff are so friendly especially Zakia the receptionist and also Ghizlan in the restaurant and i like the location so much it is very near to Sahat Alhadim and the old madenah

Room Tip: Marrakesh room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seagull1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I had a reservation for this hotel and when i got there coming from Ouarzazate (10h drive) they told me that my reservation was cancelled because i got there at 21h and the check in is until 19h.
I made the reservation through Booking.com and i didn't saw that the check in was so early.
So they send me away without any help saying that they already sold the room and so i was in the midle of Méknes alone without any help from them.
They were very uncongenial to us and no help at all! Very rough and afther a10h drive, after trying to get there in the middle of the Medine, they just told us that we have to leave the hotel because they have sold our room.
After that we contact Booking.com that had to talk to them trying not to charge a no show, this mean that they wanted to charge the same room twice, they sold the room and after we got there and expulsed from there they wanted to charge us with a no show.
This is the worst hotel i ever bean in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TiagoVarela25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Transatlantique
Transatlantique
#4 of 19 in Meknes
134 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Swani
Hotel Swani
#5 of 19 in Meknes
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#1 of 43 in Meknes
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Felloussia
Riad Felloussia
#14 of 43 in Meknes
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Meknes
Riad Meknes
#34 of 43 in Meknes
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad d'Or

Property: Riad d'Or
Address: 17 Rue Ain El Anboub et Rue Lalla Aicha Adouia, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad in the old Medina of Meknes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing