We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Safir
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Hotel Rif(Meknes)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
143
22
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
22
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracemodern wingnice citywelcoming staffbig squaretaxi driverfresh orange juicemint teaday tripon arrivalmoulay idrissbreadnoramerzougariadmoroccomedina
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had a great 3 day stay here. The staff, Nora and Doudou, took care of our needs, but were not overbearing. It is located in a very convenient place, and yet is a quiet refuge from the hustle and bustle of the streets. Breakfast was always ready when we were and afternoon tea in the sitting area was enjoyable. It was a bit cold when we were there, but extra blankets and a space heater helped a lot. My only suggestion would be - better lighting for reading in bed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Our room was up crazy little steps - if you were at all unsteady on your feet it could end very badly. The room we had didn't even have a window. It was really cheapl;y furnished - IKEA all the way. The pillows were like bricks. I worked out they had stuffed normal size pillows into teensy little pillow cases - this for some reason made them really hard and nasty. Then we tried to go to sleep - but there was a woman screeching like a banshee for hours in the room next door (which we think could have been in the next door building). Either way we didn't sleep. Finally the next morning we looked for 25 minutes for someone to give us breakfast. Finally found a middle aged woman on the phone in the next door building - it was clearly a personal and she didn't give a rats about us. Kept us waiting another 10 minutes while she finished her call. Apparently the owners were away - but even so this place is the worst hotel we stayed in whilst in Morocco.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nellie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clothy, Propriétaire at Riad Safir, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Hello Nellie
We are shocked by the view that you sent us.
We were contacted by mail, but you did not answer.
We understand that the access stairs to the room (Meknes) may seem like small . However, we have never had any particular comment on this point.
This room has been reserved by the agency to which you ordered your stay. It would have been interesting to know that you have problems with stairs. Then we would have selected a room on the ground floor.
Regarding the window, you had one in your bedroom and in the bathroom.
You say that your room is decorated by Mr. IKEA.
You made a serious affront to the artisans who made the medina all furniture. We note also that the kaftan and the mirror and the table were about a hundred years. We believe that Mr. IKEA is much younger.
I'll let you watch the pictures of the room (room Meknes) on our website and tell us your allegations.
It seems that you were disturbed by a neighbor of the house. It should have been reported to the person responsible for your comfort (Mrs. Ferdaous)
Well it would have helped you in your choice of pillows.
For paragraph breakfast: do not forget that you requested it early in the morning 7H.
Ferdaous prepared it in the living room at 7:00.
At 7:30 you were still asleep. She went knocking on your door to wake you up because your driver was coming. You remained silent.
Awaiting your arrival has made contact with your driver on the phone.
At the finish of it you were already late. We would ask the question who waited???
Ms. Ferdaous behavior is probably objectionable and we have discussed with her.
The customer is king but actually the injustice of it is not acceptable.
It is a pity that we have not actually been there because we could give you direct explanations, Ms. Ferdaous is limited in the language of Shakespeare.
However, we are sorry that the intimate charm of our traditional house you were not pleased and hope, however, that Morocco is a good memory for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We got the address of this riad from Lonely Planet. The riad is pretty much as is described in the guide: there is a traditional part and a more modern building. We stayed in the traditional part. The building itself looks very nice. However, we stayed there in the winter and it gets very very cold at night. Food is ok but was probably some of the most disappointing we got during our stay in Morocco. If you need to stay in Meknes, you can spend some time there. However, I would recommend driving to Fes instead.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kristtov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clothy, Propriétaire at Riad Safir, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013
Google Translation

De par sa conception, un riad est composé d'un patio à ciel ouvert. Celui-ci est fermé par bâche contre les intempéries.
Le froid est un véritable souci en hiver.
Selon l'adage: le Maroc est un pays froid où le soleil est chaud.
Les systèmes de chauffage sont les climatisations réversibles présentent dans chaque chambre et espace commun.
Nous délivrons sur simple demande, un chauffage d'appoint, à rajouter dans les salles de bains en complément.
Nous concevons que parfois cela puisse paraître insuffisant.
C'est pourquoi, des couvertures pure laine sont également mises à disposition. L'odeur de laine a malheureusement la particularité d'être assez forte et certaines personnes doutent parfois de la propreté. Ce fait est évidemment indépendant de notre volonté.
N'est ce pas un produit naturel 100% écologique?

La nourriture a parue décevante, sans que ce soit le cas pour les autres invités qui ont dîné en même temps.
Nous le regrettons car d'ordinaire, notre cuisine, qui se veut avant tout familiale et traditionnelle tant par la qualité, la fraîcheur et le goût des produits préparés, ne fait état que de grâces devant la table servie.
Nous prenons en compte les remarques citées afin de satisfaire au mieux nos invités, tout en étant désolés des désagréments survenus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

We spent a week here with my family and it was the Best!
Had a very kind and helpful staff (Doudou and Nora). Big, spacious rooms with very comfortable beds. Soundproof walls so you can't hear the streets outside. (A mosque is 25 yds away so you might hear the Call-to Prayers.) Open ceiling in lobby/sitting room. Huge terrace with views of the city.
Great, friendly, top-class cook, (Af-af) who will cook what you like and makes excellent desserts! Delicious, plentiful breakfasts with FRESHLY squeezed orange juice!
You have to walk through 3 neat, tight alley ways to get to the riad.
Overall, a top-recommended hotel in Meknes!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Echoes3120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Great place. Just round the corner from the main square, cool air-conditioned rooms and lovely communal areas. Gorgeous rooftop terrace too. We stayed there when we visited Meknes and Volubilis. Can't say enough nice things about it or the people running it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews