We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely restored house with a gracious hostess”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Dar El Kebira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar El Kebira
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nicely restored house with a gracious hostess”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

This Dar has been carefully restored, and shows great attention to period details. Some of the interiors are a bit too Berge Follies Roaring '80s for my taste, and cleaner decor could let the bones shine. Nevertheless, this is a handsome home, a fine place to stay in Rabat, well-located near the Souk and the Fort, and a stone's throw from a beach walk. The hotel is run by a great manager who truly understands how to be hospitable, and this makes the whole experience of checking in their very worthwhile indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows that can let in light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryna_in_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    132
    46
    17
    8
See reviews for
78
183
34
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is a charming place to stay in Rabat. There was good communication before arrival, and a car service from the Casablanca airport was arranged (though I was charged 10 Euros more than originally communicated). My first time in Morocco, and the Riad soon felt like home. The room where we stayed the first night had a musty smell, but for the next two nights we were given a larger and nicer room for the original, lower room price. Great breakfast area with simple breakfast and great service, with a view over the old city. The surroundings and decor are beautiful. Location is excellent. Amina speaks very good English and is super helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Dar el Kebira had a service that was not too bad. The problem is that most of the staffs speak only French, so we had a hard time communicating, though the staff were kind so we ended up speaking in pictures. There seemed to be mood swings in the staff though. Sometimes they completely ignored our "hi"s. Breakfast was good, warm bread. Towels were old and unclean. The biggest problem, and the greatest thing we didn’t like about, is that our rooms were extremely small. We stayed in a deluxe room, the duplex orangers, which had an area of 24 meters squared. We have agreed to stay after we looked at the size of the room, and we understand that there were three other rooms of the same size. However the three others had one, flat, 24m2 room, while our room had a bedroom on top of the bathroom, so the whole thing felt as if it was 16m2. We understand this was a deal, but looking at other rooms it still doesn’t feel right. Because of all this we spent the two nights virtually unhappy. Our room was the only room in the floor that had two floors, and so this means two things. Either you put the second floor forcibly into what was supposed to only hold one floor, or there are secret rooms on the third floor of all the other spaces of the riad. Other than the room though, it was quite agreeable, but we won’t be so sure to return.

Room Tip: Duplex Orangers not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyb3r13g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Arrived to a warm welcome by manageress Amina. Stayed in the Orangers room, great character, bed situated up on a mezzanine. Simple but good breakfast served by charming staff. Amina was extremely helpful with directions and recommendations for restaurants, shops, etc. There are several signs to the riad which is just a short way into the medina off Rue des Consuls. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljabec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

What a wonderful welcome after our long journey. Before we got to "business" we were greeted with Moroccan hospitality- sitting in an amazing courtyard and enjoying tea and sweets.

The riad arranged for a transfer which was convenient as the driver took us as close to the riad as possible and then another person transferred us and our baggage through the streets of the Medina right to the door. A good thing- you don't want to get lost as your first experience but once you get your bearings the riad is easy to get back to.

Everyone made us feel welcome and comfortable and the rooms were fine. Note that most all riads are similar in that the windows open up on the inside towards the courtyard and this means that the lower rooms can be a bit dark.

Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay and would return if and when we return to Rabat!

Room Tip: Upper rooms are brighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mysanibelcondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Very nice view from our window, perfect service from Amina, the decor was amazing. The food was excellent! We recommend it! This is the perfect settlement for a well erned vacation.The location couldn't be better, the hotel looks new, spotless, comfortable and has everything that is required from a high quality hotel (I should also mention the excellent breakfast) and the tea. But what makes this by far the best hotel in town is the staff. They will always welcome you with a genuine smile and their warmth makes you feel actually welcome and that they are happy that you are staying at their home, they are people you wish you could be friends with. If you accept one piece of advice, Darelkebira is -by far- your best choice in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms with a patio have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emily w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

Dar El Kebira is a charming old guest house right in the heart of the Medina of Rabat. Traditional Moroccan architecture and exotic interior. The staff is wonderful, the food is delicious and the rooms are beautiful. It is a true haven of tranquility after a hard day's work.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter_Oostelbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#5 of 42 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
2.6 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Villa Mandarine
Villa Mandarine
#1 of 42 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Euphoriad
Euphoriad
#8 of 42 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Zouhour
Dar Zouhour
#10 of 42 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar El Kebira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Kebira

Property: Riad Dar El Kebira
Address: Rue des Consuls - 1 Impasse Belghazi | Ferran Znaki, Rabat 1005, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rabat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rabat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#3 Spa Hotel in Rabat
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
#7 Business Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar El Kebira 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar El Kebira is fully reinvented to receive guests in search of tranquillity and well-being in the purest Moroccan tradition. Every detail is designed to create a living space expressing luxury and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Dar El Kebira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar El Kebira Hotel Rabat
Dar El Kebira Rabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing