We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad looked nice but staff ruined experience”
Review of Riad Kalaa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Kalaa
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Riad looked nice but staff ruined experience”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I'll make this a short review as we stayed here for one night, but something was off about this place. The room "looked" nice but was damp and we kept coughing, something was in the air. But, what bothered us most, was the rude attitude of the staff. Does it hurt them to smile or be friendly? They weren't pleasant at all. I honestly can't think of one person who was pleasant. This obviously makes for an uncomfortable experience for the guest.

The dinner, as far as taste goes, was good. Again, service gruff. Breakfast not good, meager. When she poured the coffee, she would fill the cup only part full and take the coffee pot with her.

Glad we only stayed one night en route.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Summerblue,

We thank you for taking the time to write a comment regarding your stay. We are sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay.
I am surprised to see that nobody from the staff was listenning to you and making everything to make your stay better. We apologise.
I am also sorry that the experience in a riad was unpleasant. We are not a hotel and do not offer the same quality of service. We try to do our best to make the stay of our guest pleasant.

We are happy that you enjoyed the dinner served. I am also suprised by your comment regarding the breakfast. Everything is home-made and our guests are really happy with it. We do not offer any salty option, maybe reason why you were disapointed. Please, do not hesitate to request it.

We hope to see you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    137
    49
    16
    9
See reviews for
97
273
32
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We arrived at Riad Kalaa in the early evening after a very long flight and then drive from Casablanca. Our driver parked at the nearest entrance to the medina and we were met by a friendly representative from the riad who helped us carry our luggage inside via a few narrow alleys.

We were greeted at Riad Kalaa with refreshing atai or moroccan mint tea. The riad has a beautiful courtyard and our rooms were just off this courtyard on the ground floor. They were comfortable and the bathroom was a bit small but well fitted out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Sharekhane 4,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again very soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was the third riad we stayed in Morocco. The previous two (in Fez and Essaouira) were so beautiful and the service so amazing that this one didn't seem particularly special. The location is great and the riad itself quite beautiful. However, when we first arrived, the man who came to answer the door to take us in was a bit rude. He told us to sit and fill out all the paper works but didn't offer us anything to drink, nor was he particularly friendly. Once we were done with the paperworks, he took us to our room and left. I had some questions to ask and when I went outside int the couryard/reception area, I couldn't find anyone. I had to knock on the kitchen door to get people's attention. Basically, there's no nice greetings like we've experienced in the other raids.

The room itself was a bit strangely configured. It was a loft so downstairs was the seating area with sofas and a TV. Then upstairs on a rather steep staircase is where you'll find the bed and the bathroom. Everything was clean and nice, but to go up and down the stairs was a pain. And there's no bathtub.

We only stayed one night and had dinner at the riad. The service during dinner was ok albeit slow. The tangine was good but nothing to rave about. If we ventured out to town, we probably would've eaten something better for a cheaper price.

Last, on the morning of our departure, we wanted to have breakfast in the courtyard area instead of the breakfast room. I asked an attendant if it's ok and she stared at me with an annoyed face but nodded her head. I assumed that meant yes. We sat and waited and waited and no one came to serve us. I had to go ask again before things were slowly brought to us.

Overall, the stay was fine. I just wish the service was more pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Meg M,

We thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay.
We apologise for the lake of English speaking, and the slow service. Our staff is currently taking some English lessons in order to offer a pleasant welcome to our guests.

We still hope that you had a good stay with us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Although we stayed only for a night, the property was excellent. Great staff support, the rooms were well maintained, the bathrooms clean and well stocked with all toiletries. The rooms were sufficient for 2 people.
We had dinner at the property and our first experience of a Tajine was good. They allowed us to bring in our own bottle of single malt at the dinner table, without any corkage.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 811riteshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear 811riteshk,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about your stay at Riad Kalaa. We are all happy to hear that you enjoyed it;

We hope to welcome you again very soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Decent place to stay in rabat . We stayed here for only one night before going to fes . Tried the dinner in hotel which was quite good . Good service by the riad team .

Rooms are quite small but i guess this is how all riads are !!

Also since the rooms are close to each other , one needs to be extra careful while talking so as to not disturb the other guests .

would recommend this riad for people travelling to rabat .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pranav a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Pranav a,

I thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Riad Kalaa.

We hope to see you again very soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great location
Excellent service
Nice rooms
Clean and safe
Everyone was very pleasant and they had nice tea and snacks available and breakfast was good and since I left early for the airport, they accommodated an early breakfast

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nbondre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Neil B,

Thanks a lot for this short, precise and nice review regarding your stay at Riad Kalaa.

We are gald that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be really happy to meet you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A very nice small riad and a friendly atmosphere. Serves very good food if you let them know you want dinner ahead and also close to Dinarjatt another fine spot with Moroccan fare. Some great room layouts, if travelling with kids. We were able to put them in 2 comfortable beds downstairs, while the bed and bath were located in a loft above.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkga62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear jkga62,

Thank you very much to have share your experience with us.
We are really happy that your stay provide you satisfaction. Your suite is, in deed, a good option for family to accomodate parents and 2 children. The oriental suite are in duplex so parents and children have enough space.

We hope we will welcome you again very soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#4 of 45 in Rabat
490 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
4.4 mi away
Villa Mandarine
Villa Mandarine
#2 of 45 in Rabat
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Euphoriad
Euphoriad
#7 of 45 in Rabat
75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel la Tour Hassan
Hotel la Tour Hassan
#8 of 45 in Rabat
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kalaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kalaa

Property: Riad Kalaa
Address: 3-5 Rue Zebdi, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#3 Business Hotel in Rabat
#3 Family Hotel in Rabat
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Kalaa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover this 1815's property, in the peace of the old Medina. With over 1000sqm for only 11 rooms and suites, Riad Kalaa is here to offer you Rabat like you have never seen it...Welcoming mint tea and traditional sweets, natural amenities, Rooftop pool, complimentary wifi access, Andalusian patio, panoramic solarium.Moroccan restaurant, summer snack & delights on rooftop terrace, traditionnal hammam, aromatherapy massages.Golf pre-reservation, excursions, airport transferts... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Kalaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kalaa Rabat
Riad Kalaa Hotel Rabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing