We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most beautiful place I have ever been to!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Kalaa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Kalaa
Ranked #4 of 42 Hotels in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place I have ever been to!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent two night during our honeymoon travel at the Riad Kalaa. It was the most beautiful place I have ever been to! We were given a wonderful room with immensely high ceilings, a huge bathroom sprinkled with roses and with a sunken bath tub and such beautiful furniture and decoration I wished I could have taken everything with me! The hotel staff was extremely friendly and sitting and dinner in the inner courtyard was as romantic as it gets. Simply amazing!

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor have 4 meter high celings - wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Christina1707,

Thank you very much for this nice review. We are happy that we made you honeymoon really pleasant and, I hope, unforgettable.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    130
    47
    16
    9
See reviews for
89
264
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moss Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We were doing a private tour through Morocco, organized from Australia with Ibertours.This Riad was chosen by our tour company and as such I don't know the price. We stayed for one night and included breakfast.

Our driver had rung the Riad and we were met in the carpark and shown the way to the riad. We were warmly greeted and offered juice (which turned out to be freshly squeezed orange juice) and petit fours, while we perused the menu for dinner. This was the beginning of our love affair with Moroccan Oranges!

Our room, Santal, was located upstairs (our bags had been taken up) on the pool level. Its a lovely room, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The rain shower was wonderful and the toilettries provided were in recyclable glass jars. Big soft, fluffy towels were appreciated too.
Complementary water and free, fast wifi.

We had decided to have dinner here and were not disappointed. 3 courses for 280 dirhams each plus a couple of glasses of wine. Served in the courtyard on a balmy evening.

Our bed is comfortable and the area is very quiet. We woke to the sound of roosters and Call to Prayer. Wonderful. Isn't this why we travel? To see, hear and experience a different way of life.

For Breakfast the next morning there was Yogurt, dried fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly made pancakes, muffins, fresh bread and beautiful jams and honey, and good coffee. All beautifully presented.

This riad is located in the Medina and is very atmospheric. Being our first experience with a Riad, we were not sure what to expect, but thought it excellent and very different to the usual hotels experienced. The whole experience was fantastic.

If the price suits you, we would recommend Riad El Kalaa

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaraanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear barbaraanne56,

The whole team of Riad Kalaa thank you for your recommendation. We are glad that you had a pleasant time with us (and that you started your love affair with Moroccan oranges!).

The review is full of important details that will really help future guests. These details (complementary water and fresh frutis is the room, free wifi, toilettries, home-made and fresh food at the restaurant) have one aim: the satisfaction of our guest.

We hope to see you again very soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

I'll make this a short review as we stayed here for one night, but something was off about this place. The room "looked" nice but was damp and we kept coughing, something was in the air. But, what bothered us most, was the rude attitude of the staff. Does it hurt them to smile or be friendly? They weren't pleasant at all. I honestly can't think of one person who was pleasant. This obviously makes for an uncomfortable experience for the guest.

The dinner, as far as taste goes, was good. Again, service gruff. Breakfast not good, meager. When she poured the coffee, she would fill the cup only part full and take the coffee pot with her.

Glad we only stayed one night en route.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Summerblue,

We thank you for taking the time to write a comment regarding your stay. We are sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay.
I am surprised to see that nobody from the staff was listenning to you and making everything to make your stay better. We apologise.
I am also sorry that the experience in a riad was unpleasant. We are not a hotel and do not offer the same quality of service. We try to do our best to make the stay of our guest pleasant.

We are happy that you enjoyed the dinner served. I am also suprised by your comment regarding the breakfast. Everything is home-made and our guests are really happy with it. We do not offer any salty option, maybe reason why you were disapointed. Please, do not hesitate to request it.

We hope to see you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
366 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We arrived at Riad Kalaa in the early evening after a very long flight and then drive from Casablanca. Our driver parked at the nearest entrance to the medina and we were met by a friendly representative from the riad who helped us carry our luggage inside via a few narrow alleys.

We were greeted at Riad Kalaa with refreshing atai or moroccan mint tea. The riad has a beautiful courtyard and our rooms were just off this courtyard on the ground floor. They were comfortable and the bathroom was a bit small but well fitted out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Sharekhane 4,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again very soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

This was the third riad we stayed in Morocco. The previous two (in Fez and Essaouira) were so beautiful and the service so amazing that this one didn't seem particularly special. The location is great and the riad itself quite beautiful. However, when we first arrived, the man who came to answer the door to take us in was a bit rude. He told us to sit and fill out all the paper works but didn't offer us anything to drink, nor was he particularly friendly. Once we were done with the paperworks, he took us to our room and left. I had some questions to ask and when I went outside int the couryard/reception area, I couldn't find anyone. I had to knock on the kitchen door to get people's attention. Basically, there's no nice greetings like we've experienced in the other raids.

The room itself was a bit strangely configured. It was a loft so downstairs was the seating area with sofas and a TV. Then upstairs on a rather steep staircase is where you'll find the bed and the bathroom. Everything was clean and nice, but to go up and down the stairs was a pain. And there's no bathtub.

We only stayed one night and had dinner at the riad. The service during dinner was ok albeit slow. The tangine was good but nothing to rave about. If we ventured out to town, we probably would've eaten something better for a cheaper price.

Last, on the morning of our departure, we wanted to have breakfast in the courtyard area instead of the breakfast room. I asked an attendant if it's ok and she stared at me with an annoyed face but nodded her head. I assumed that meant yes. We sat and waited and waited and no one came to serve us. I had to go ask again before things were slowly brought to us.

Overall, the stay was fine. I just wish the service was more pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Meg M,

We thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay.
We apologise for the lake of English speaking, and the slow service. Our staff is currently taking some English lessons in order to offer a pleasant welcome to our guests.

We still hope that you had a good stay with us,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Although we stayed only for a night, the property was excellent. Great staff support, the rooms were well maintained, the bathrooms clean and well stocked with all toiletries. The rooms were sufficient for 2 people.
We had dinner at the property and our first experience of a Tajine was good. They allowed us to bring in our own bottle of single malt at the dinner table, without any corkage.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 811riteshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear 811riteshk,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about your stay at Riad Kalaa. We are all happy to hear that you enjoyed it;

We hope to welcome you again very soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Decent place to stay in rabat . We stayed here for only one night before going to fes . Tried the dinner in hotel which was quite good . Good service by the riad team .

Rooms are quite small but i guess this is how all riads are !!

Also since the rooms are close to each other , one needs to be extra careful while talking so as to not disturb the other guests .

would recommend this riad for people travelling to rabat .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pranav a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Pranav a,

I thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Riad Kalaa.

We hope to see you again very soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#5 of 42 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
1.0 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Euphoriad
Euphoriad
#7 of 42 in Rabat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa Mandarine
Villa Mandarine
#1 of 42 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Zouhour
Dar Zouhour
#10 of 42 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kalaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kalaa

Property: Riad Kalaa
Address: 3-5 Rue Zebdi, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#3 Family Hotel in Rabat
#3 Business Hotel in Rabat
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Kalaa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover this 1815's property, in the peace of the old Medina. With over 1000sqm for only 11 rooms and suites, Riad Kalaa is here to offer you Rabat like you have never seen it...Welcoming mint tea and traditional sweets, natural amenities, Rooftop pool, complimentary wifi access, Andalusian patio, panoramic solarium.Moroccan restaurant, summer snack & delights on rooftop terrace, traditionnal hammam, aromatherapy massages.Golf pre-reservation, excursions, airport transferts... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Kalaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kalaa Rabat
Riad Kalaa Hotel Rabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing