We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly host”
Review of Riad Dar Alia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Dar Alia
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The Dar Alia was the first Riad for 2 nights we stayed in during our 14 day tour around Morocco. What a great start! Naima is an excellent host! She made us really feel welcome. First we were upgraded to the "Grande Suite", which was a pleasant surprise.
Dinner was typical Morrocan, which we appreciated, also breakfeast was good.
The Riad is located near the Kasbah and desbite being inside the Medine it can be reached easily in a 1 or 2 minute walk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Riad Dar Alia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Riad is placed near the Kasbah, with a park nearby (the one in front of the Kasbah). It is easy to reach also with heavy luggages.
The place is nice and the personnel is very very but very kind! We also have the possibility to have the dinner here and it was excellent.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and you can rest also in the common zone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked this riad through booking.com and on the reservation, it has the name of the rooms. When we arrived, the owner told us that the rooms we had booked were single rooms (although it specifically stated double rooms for 2people on our booking confirmation) so she changed our rooms, except 1 room. Not really a good start. I suspect she had given our rooms to other guests.

The riad is nice but not as characteristic as some of the others raids where we stayed in Morocco.

The breakfast was poor compared to other places we stayed.

One good point, we arrived at about 9pm and the owner suggested a nice restaurant nearby for dinner.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank rollingstone1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Dar Alia. We were lucky to be upgraded to "Grande Suite Rbatia Double Room" which I strongly recommend despite the bigger price.The riad is really an explosion of colours, decorations , artifacts things that make it a very pleasant place to stay. Staff is kind and helpful. The only problem is to actually find the Riad in the first place....it's a real challenge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicu_moraru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I recently spent 3 nights at the Dar Alia with my family. My son is living in Rabat for the semester and we want to be close to his host family's home in the medina. We were a group of 6 people and rented 3 rooms in this beautiful ryad. The rooms were spotless, comfortable and quite beautiful. The ryad itself is stunning. Naima and her staff were attentive, helpful and very professional. The location of the ryad is perfect as it is in the middle of the medina, yet close to one of the exits so it was easy to get to our driver and the sights outside of the medina.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycatty35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadAlia, Gérant at Riad Dar Alia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

The manager and all the staff of DAR ALIA wanted to thank you for all the compliments you write to them.
And it is always a pleasure to receive you in Rabat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed in the Medina in every city we visited in Morocco and had trouble finding our Riad everytime. Dar Alia was no different but once we got to the right carpark our host was waiting to guide us to the Riad. The host, his wife and other staff were very helpful and friendly and even got up early in the morning to provide us with Breakfast at 6.00am as we had to catch a ferry at Tangier before lunch. The location is fabulous and we were so close to the Kasbah Oudayas which was very impressive. We saw quite a lot of Rabat even though we were only there for a night - all that driving around to find the right entrance to the Medina :-) . The Riad itself was pretty authentic the courtyard and furnishings were very nice. The furnishings in the room were quite old but the bed was comfortable, there was a decent bathroom and a good shower. Very happy wth our stay at Dar Alia.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadAlia, Gérant at Riad Dar Alia, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

The manager and all the staff of DAR ALIA wanted to thank you for all the compliments you write to them.
And it is always a pleasure to receive you in Rabat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The house is really nice to look at. But to sleep there was not exactly the highlight of our trip. The room was small (by which I mean no room for a second suitcase), the bathroom dirty and smelly, the heater in the room dodgy. The thing that stands brightest in my memory of the place however is eating dinner with about 7 layers of clothing on (also known as everything I had brought with me) because it was served in the inner unheated courtyard, in December. Oh, and sleeping in my sleeping bag.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#5 of 45 in Rabat
590 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#4 of 45 in Rabat
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Zouhour
Dar Zouhour
#9 of 45 in Rabat
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Villa Mandarine
Villa Mandarine
#2 of 45 in Rabat
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Maati
Riad El Maati
#4 of 49 in Rabat
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Zyo
Riad Zyo
#2 of 49 in Rabat
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Alia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Alia

Address: 15 Rue El Hout | Medina Rabat, Rabat, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Rabat
Price Range: £63 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Alia 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Dar Alia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing