We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Hotel Rabat”
Review of Royal Hotel Rabat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel Rabat
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Rabat
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Stayed here in December 11. I arrived late in the evening and just looked for any hotels I could find. This was one of several hotels I looked at. Great central location. Only a 5-8 min walk from train station and same distance to medina area. Room cost around 480 MD/£37 for a double room (off the rack price). Nothing fancy about the hotel but perfectly fine for a good nights sleep. Bed was comfortable with clean white sheets, bed throw was clean, though covering blanket had seen better days. My room overlooked a side street and had a balcony. I didn't find the room noisy. Bathroom was clean but a bit small and I would agree with other posts about the shower area, which is 'walk in' and part of the rest of the bathroom divided by a shower curtain with a slightly lowered floor. Breakfast staff were very friendly, helpful and were happy to cook a hot breakfast accompanied with tea, juice, pastries and a bottle of water. They may have offered yogurts and fresh fruit but i didn't ask. The hotel also offers free wi free. Wi fi all worked fine, including in my room. Check out is around mid day. Overall - only half a notch - below any of the budget chain hotels - but for the location and cost, a decent enough hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you agree to stay. If you're staying several days or longer, book by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I arrived in Rabat (our first stop in Morocco) in the last afternoon. We had flown into Casablanca from Madrid, and taken two trains from the airport to Rabat station. We arrived with no reservations and the intention of staying at the Hotel Splendid on advice from the Lonely Planet and Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, the Splendid would have been just fine for me when I traveled as a backpacker, but those days are past.

We ended up staying at the Royal because we really needed a comfortable room after our long day of travel. Our initial impression was that the hotel was very nice. We had a small balcony that looked out on a quiet side street and across at the nearby mosque. At the time we thought little of the annoying fact that we needed to move the rug at the foot of the bed in order to open the doors to the balcony. However, it soon became apparent that our small room had other quirks. The small refrigerator that was recently added (and the person who showed me the room proudly pointed out) fit poorly under the dressing table. Its presence meant that it was impossible to pull the chair out from under the table. Moreover, there was no electrical outlet into which to plug the refrigerator. We move the unit under the bathroom counter where it fit and where we could plug it in. Speaking of the bathroom, it had a shower (no bathtub) whose floor was only slightly lower than that to the bathroom as a whole. This might have worked to contain the shower water, if the shower floor had sloped properly to the drain. Unfortunately, it did not, so some water spilled onto the bathroom floor. Not enough to annoy, but enough to confirm the pattern of this hotel.

The included breakfast was tasty and generous, and all the staff were helpful and cheerful, and the hotel was a short walk from the train station.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BackpackerNoMore62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This one of the few reasonably priced hotels that had availability when we were there in April. It is within a few blocks to the train station and central to the major attractions around Rabat. Our room was small and the furnishings were modest. The room had a small balcony which overlooked a quiet park. Nothing special but nothing to complain about. We looked at several rooms before choosing the one we selected. One of the rooms had a large balcony but faced the busier street, and the sun. Ours was smaller, quieter and on the shadier side.

Rabat was a refreshing change from Fes and Marrakech - no hassle factor, no one was expecting a fee for taking a photo and no one was offering a hard sell once you showed the slightest interest in items in a shop. Fes and Marrakech could take some lessons from this town. Rabat had plenty of places to see and do to easily fill up a day. It was a pleasant and, admittedly, unexpected surprise.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dk424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I have stayed at the Royal several times, the first was about seven years ago. The Royal is several steps above basic by Moroccan standards and is located in the very heart of Rabat. Parliment and cafes just a block or so away and just a few blocks from the Medina. Balcony rooms are very pleasant indeed. The balconies overlooking the garden and mosque do welcome the calls to prayer but such is Morocco. The room I recently had facing the street was not noisy when I shut the doors to the balcony. Travelers who remember the surley men who searved breakfast in the past will be happy to find that, as of this year, they have been replaced by a warm and gracious female staff.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Stayed here with my teenage son for one night. Actually, my 2nd time at this hotel. The place is classy inside and its dated interior was improved since the last visit. Had room with a balcony across the street from a mosque and park. Very quiet except for times of call to prayer, particularly 5:00 a.m. if that bothers you. Room lacked sufficient electrical outlets. Mini fridge had to moved across room to available outlet -- only one in room besides bathroom. Water from shower went all over bathroom floor. Beds hard as rock, so could not get a good night's sleep. Location was great about 4 blocks from Rabat Ville train station and about 3 blocks from medina. Breakfast continental plus egg. Good but not generous.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcadoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

This place has a very outdated feel about it and really became our last resort since a lot of the other hotels we had on our list were fully booked. The rooms are very basic and ours faced the street making it very difficult to fall asleep and keep on being asleep. Overpriced for what you get and make sure you have earplugs if you do decide to stay at Hotel Royal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinniTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

The rooms reek of something odd, maybe disinfectant- they are reasonably clean, but the staff is surly and often rude. I ended up here by accident and would never come again- try the Hotel Balima down the street.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elysiumssssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.4 mi away
Belere Rabat
Belere Rabat
#16 of 45 in Rabat
255 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rihab
Hotel Rihab
#23 of 45 in Rabat
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Rabat Medina
B&B Rabat Medina
#15 of 45 in Rabat
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Soundouss Hotel
Soundouss Hotel
#12 of 45 in Rabat
123 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Rabat Agdal
Ibis Rabat Agdal
#21 of 45 in Rabat
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Pietri Urban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Rabat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Rabat

Address: 1 Rue Amman bp 175, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Rabat
Price Range: £58 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel Rabat 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Cancelon, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel Rabat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rabat Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing