We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chellah - A must see during your visit to Rabat!”
Review of Chellah

Chellah
Book In Advance
More Info
US$256.35*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour from Marrakech to Casablanca and Rabat
Ranked #2 of 51 things to do in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
439 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Chellah - A must see during your visit to Rabat!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

During our recent visit to Morocco, one of the stops my wife and I made was to the ancient ruins at Chellah. Approaching the site is very impressive as we view the fortress walls and the ornate gate. Upon our arrival at the gate Gnawan musicians greeting us at the gate. We then entered a fascinating ancient site; some of the ruins go back further than 25 B.C. Other parts of the ruins date back to the 14th century. While this site is undergoing restoration, it is still a great walking site with great views and a lot of history including the necropolis and Roman ruins.

The sites of the ruins include areas where ceremonial water basins were constructed as well as shrines and a what was a spectacular mausoleum. Of particular note is an ancient mosque which is now the home to storks which have erected huge nests. Indeed, storks can be seen throughout the Chellah ruins along with cats.

A working knowledge of French (or Arabic) would be helpful since all of the directional and information signs are in French an Arabic. Bring your walking shoes and enjoy!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jonahNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    559
    375
    76
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
373 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Storks and more storks”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a combination of Islamic and Roman ruins in a very nice garden. The area was larger than I thought and there were many more storks and I thought! But it is worth a walk through, the gardens are quite nice. The ruins are rudimentary and there has been little effort to have signs as to what is what so bring a good guidebook. Again there are guides for hire there but we did it on our own. There are some good views of the countryside and many photo ops. It is exposed to bring hats, sunscreen and water.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lasa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level Contributor
261 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Andalusia”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

you feel as if you are travelling in time, beautiful gardens that are sort of wild but captivating, the different levels of this site each have a story to tell

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HARBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enkhuizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
350 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“breathtaking experience”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The atmosphere on a sunny morning, quit early, gave the place a fairytale like quality. Old walls can be seen as: old walls. But they can also be seen as our doors to the past. Litlle pieces of tile, and the colors of long ago make me very happy. A very old man with a stick entered the premisses in a dark green cloak and to me it seemed he walked out of a picture from the tres riches heures du duc du Barry. It was enough to make one very happy and gratefull to be there.
And yes, there were also storks!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank diana56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“So, so”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A visit to the Chellah pales in comparison to a visit of the Tomb of Mohammed V, the Hassan tower, the Kasbah and the souk. There are few ruins to visit: both Roman and Muslim ruins are together and frankly, what seems to attract tourist more are the myriad of stork and their nest perched among the ruins.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheerim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chellah also viewed

Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 

Been to Chellah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing