We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Piece of History”
Review of Chellah

Chellah
Book In Advance
More Info
US$256.10*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour from Marrakech to Casablanca and Rabat
Ranked #2 of 51 things to do in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Awesome Piece of History”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a Roman ruin site dating back to the 2nd century B.C. Fairly well preserved was the market, necropolis, forum, toilets and mosque. It was surrounded by beautiful gardens with plants from all over - Mexico, South Africa and native Spain. There were huge nests atop every high point where storks had made their homes. We saw some of the 240 storks that live in the area.

Just beware of guides approaching you after you pay your entrance fee (10dh each). While this gentleman was very knowledgeable, we didn't realize that he wasn't officially working for the Chellah. The way he approached us we thought he was a guide that worked there. When we finished our walk and talk, he wanted to charge us 130dh which was a lot of money considering the entrance fee. We ended up paying him a smaller fee but wished he had been more upfront at the beginning.

Definitely worth seeing the sight. An excellent example of Roman ruins.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    561
    375
    76
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“A very good couple of hours”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Taxi ride away. Great spot. Interesting and scenic tranquil roman ruins over quite a large area - then there are the Storks which were wonderful to see with their large nests. When we were there they had young which was very nice to see. No shops there and not a lot of cover - take water +/- picnic. I was very pleased to have seen this place - it is so unusual, interesting and relaxing. Easy to get a taxi on main road nearby. If in Rabat this really should not be missed. Entry fee not a lot.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Whatbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place in Morocco”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

i liked nature, history,the roman one and the islamic one birds, views,the river below, the trees ..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank perarussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Though quite a walk out from the medina it is well worth a visit. Roman excavations sit alongside Islamic and the whole area is tranquil, beautiful and interesting - though I wouldn't advice going mid day in the summer months. Take a picnic and enjoy the breathtaking views across the valley.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MoroccoMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, Morocco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Challa site”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Challa is an archaeological site near Rabat, Morocco, on up to the sixth century BC. Challa site mentioned when historians old small-town lies on the river carries the name "Sala Cologne," which is now called the Bouregreg valley.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank soufiankarbaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chellah also viewed

Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 

Been to Chellah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing