We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place terrible reception” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Mandarine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Mandarine
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful place terrible reception”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed in this beautiful hotel for one night. The room was great as were the grounds and common areas. However, our experience was marred by the very unpleasant and rude person at reception. When we checked in, he was rather cold, and things were worse when we checked out. We settled our bill for dinner upon checkout and left. As we drove out, the guard at the gate told our driver that we had to go back. My husband and our driver went back into reception where we were accused of stealing the bathrobes. We had left them hanging in the bathroom on the hooks. Apparently, the housekeeper never looked there. The rude man barely apologized. A word to the next guests... Throw your robes on the floor and be prepared to not feel welcome and to be treated poorly. For the price of the room and the type of facility, they should train their staff at reception. We would recommend staying elsewhere!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jelyapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trasnarabat, Manager at Villa Mandarine, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear client,

First of all I want to apologize personaly for the bad treatment you have received at your departure from Villa Mandarine.
We made an extremly stupid error by excnanging two rooms on our planning (one single and your double).
We had forgotten two very important things : respect and communication !

I wish that you appreciate our room and garden.
we will do our best to avoid these inacceptable situation.

Sincerely yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    83
    22
    5
    6
See reviews for
56
123
10
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth Beach
Level Contributor
318 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

If travel takes you to Rabat area of Morocco, I cannot imagine a better hotel. The rooms were well appointed, the hotel quiet overall, and the staff very helpful. We arrived in the late evening and they made it easy for us to get relaxed. The breakfast buffet was excellent and they also made eggs upon request. We loved the center courtyard and orange trees. Such a nice hotel -- it was a surprise to us how wonderful it is.

Room Tip: We had standard rooms and they were good sized with balconies. Great bathroom amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley0415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed at the Villa Mandarine for over 3 weeks during a move to Morocco. The best thing about arriving at dusk was the beautiful scent of orange blossom and the romantic lighting. The decor is understated but very Moroccan. The gardens are lovely for strolling and the breakfast bar serves marmalades and jam made from the orchard fruits (the homemade yogurt at breakfast is amazing too). The rooms are peaceful and clean with unique touches in each. The pool can be a bit cold but is very nicely situated. The restaurant menu is top-notch, very yummy international and Moroccan cuisine (Fish tajine is a favorite). The staff were attentive and kind, especially to our 2 year old who, after 3 weeks, had the run of the place. We always take guests back for meals now that we have moved into our own home. Only complaint is the price tag but it certainly is an appreciated luxury.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nrgalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
156 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed at Villa Mandarine while on honeymoon only for a night. It was more of a travel break for us. The hotel was small and cosy. It was a good stay but slightly expensive.

The best part is their orange orchard - they have the best oranges in the world. We had not eaten such good oranges. Best was you could walk around and pluck out as many as you wanted. The best ones are ofcourse served in your room and at the breakfast table. Still remember the taste of the oranges!

Room Tip: A room facing the orange orchard / garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013Travel_Companion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Beautiful gardens, helpful staff and amazing food.....these are just introductory remarks, villa mandarin is more than that..garden of flowers, birds, butterflies and PEACOCK..kids r amazed to see peacock roaming near their breakfast table. The smell of blooming mandarin flowers worth every breath. Nice pool, elaborated decor..with all famous painting, central garden and , some modern artifacts.restaurant is one of the best in city..just ask what you want..and multilingual staffwill convey it to the Chef. Rooms are so cosy with private balcony. Very helpful staff right from the doorkeeper to the manager...just visit once and make it home

Room Tip: I prefer the first floor on the pool facing side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
263 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

From a facilities perspective, there's nothing bad to say about the hotel. Rooms are comfortable and spacious. The gardens are lovely and the dining room is attractive. The staff, however, is among the coldest set of people I've ever encountered while traveling. Upon arriving, the reception staff pushed papers at us to fill out without even a hello or welcome (in any language) let alone a smile.

The restaurant staff was equally rude. The food however, was very good with a mix of Moroccan or high-end international fare. Pricey for Morocco but not break-the-bank expensive. You're quite a bit from downtown so other dining options are limited in this diplomatic neighborhood.

All in all, the stay was fine, but the staff needs a big lesson in civility.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week in late January 2013 whilst on business. I would agree with all the other reviewers that the staff are very friendly and helpful, the grounds are fantastic with numerous exotic trees and shrubs and the rooms are nicely appointed, although a proper walk in shower would have been nice, as opposed to a hand-held shower over the bath.
The neighborhood is safe and quiet and is basically in the affluent consular district suburb of Rabat. Although the hotel is 5 or 6 miles outside the centre of the city, you can get reception to call a 'petit taxi', which carries 3 passengers max. for around 350 dirham (£3.00 approx) or a 'grand taxi', which carries up to 5 passengers for about 1000 dirham (£8.00 approx).
The breakfast in the hotel is very good with freshly made omelette, good coffee and superb freshly squeezed orange juice.
I only ate dinner in the hotel once and opted for the medium priced Moroccan menu. The food was nice but not great compared to other restaurants I ate in in the city for far less money. I can't comment on the gourmet menu except to say it was fantastically expensive.
My advice would be to get a cheap taxi into the city and eat in some of the local restaurants, many of which are excellent (and cheap!)

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank curiousfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rabat hotels
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
3.9 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
4.5 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#4 of 42 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#5 of 42 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
4.4 mi away
Euphoriad
Euphoriad
#8 of 42 in Rabat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel la Tour Hassan
Hotel la Tour Hassan
#7 of 42 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mandarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mandarine

Property: Villa Mandarine
Address: 19 Rue Ouled Bousbaa | Souissi, Rabat, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#2 Business Hotel in Rabat
#2 Family Hotel in Rabat
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Mandarine 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Mandarine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mandarine Hotel Rabat
Mandarine Hotel Rabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing