We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Cheap”
Review of Hotel Splendid

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rabat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Rabat
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and Cheap”
Reviewed 3 January 2009

I opted for my family to stay at Hotel Splendid while in Rabat, based on the positive reviews from this website combined with the low price. It did not disappoint. The rooms were relatively clean, and had private washrooms. The proximity to both the train station and medina made the location ideal. Staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and accomodating. It is definitely a budget hotel with no extra ammenities, but it provides the basics for a good cost.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Noradian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    27
    23
    5
    10
See reviews for
4
27
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2008

We stayed at the Splendide for 3 nights. We stayed in the slightly louder and warmer room facing the street the first night and moved to a cooler and quieter room facing the courtyard the second two. The bathroom was shared--and you'll want to make sure there is enough toilet paper before it's too late. The showers in the rooms had marvelous water pressure, though it flows too fast for the drain to keep up.

The courtyard is serviced by the tasty yet inexpensive Ghazza restaurant across the street and you can get 6dh coffee to take to your room.

The location is very central and close to the train station.

All in all, very good value. The staff are friendly and accomodating. We would choose the Splendide again in Rabat.

  • Liked — Inexpensive yet clean
  • Disliked — Shower drains too slow
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkFromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2007

If you are on a very tight budget, this is place for you. The rooms are about 10Euro/night and its about 5Euro to take a shower. The bathrooms are down the hall. Don't expect much in the way of cleanliness or temperature control or anything but a bed. But it certainly could have been worse. The location is not too bad.

  • Liked — good value for the money
  • Disliked — not very clean
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCglobetrotterJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2007

I've stayed here 10 days , and it's fantastic hotel to stay in. the rooms are nice and quiteand very clean. 5 min walking to medina. The staff are verry freindly and efficient.
when i will turn over to Rabat I will stay there I prefer it.

  • Liked — location and service
  • Disliked — everythings
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RosaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2006

The best thing about this hotel is that it is so close to the train station in Rabat. We had just arrived from JFK that morning into Casablanca, jumped on a train and arrived in Rabat around 10 am. Not more than a 7 minute walk from the station, we arrived at our first choice, Hotel Splendid. It was much less money than some of the others listed in Lonely Planet and seemed to be located as conveniently so we sprung on it. We got to see the room first and it was cute, roomy, with tall ceilings (12 ft) and a window that overlooked a lovely tiled courtyard. The bathroom was a true walk in, seemed like the size of a small room actually, tiled all over so that when you took a shower the water could go everywhere and it would not matter. The toilet smelled just a bit but we soon learned that this was pretty standard in all the hotels--something to do with the plumbing perhaps because everything was quite clean and sparkling. The bed was a firm straw mattress which I happen to prefer to a boxspring type. The pillow was my first introduction to a french roll, which was kinda fun. The courtyard had some plants, tile work, arches and chirping birds to serenade you. I used earplugs as I am a light sleeper and I could hear the staff's music selections in the morning from the kitchen. Also, there was a bit of construction going on next door around 8 am (tile cutting mostly) and we slept in til 8:30 or so. The front desk men were as friendly as they could be, and they didn't speak too much English but we got along just find with some broken French. The key fob was a most excellent hand made brass bauble. Funny thing about the locks in Morocco, you have to turn them twice to get them to lock just right. Odd to us but a nice surprise. Just outside there were a few cafes and patisseries and snack shops so we had no trouble finding food at odd hours. There was a cafe/restaurant in the hotel for breakfast (pretty standard toasted baguette with butter and jam, and cafe au lait) and the dim lights in the courtyard at night indicated you could get a mint tea or coffee then too. Hot water all the time....towels were not provided. Little writing desk and a large stand up clothes cupboard was in the room too.

This hotel is located in the Nouvelle Ville close to the souks and open-air markets which were quite fun to walk around. A good location, especially if you are weary from the train! We recommend. It didn't seem like it could get much better than this for this price.

Helpful?
21 Thank rachelleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lutece
Hotel Lutece
#20 of 44 in Rabat
50 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ibis Rabat Agdal
Ibis Rabat Agdal
#26 of 44 in Rabat
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Rabat Medina
B&B Rabat Medina
#16 of 44 in Rabat
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Pietri Urban Hotel
0.5 mi away
Belere Rabat
Belere Rabat
#11 of 44 in Rabat
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rihab
Hotel Rihab
#19 of 44 in Rabat
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Property: Hotel Splendid
Address: 8 Rue Ghazza, Rabat 10030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Rabat
Number of rooms: 219
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Rabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing