We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These guys are cool”
Review of Dar Omar Khayam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Omar Khayam
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We spent three nights in the Dar Omar Khayam. It is only a few minutes walk from the town beach and you can easily walk to many of the highly rated restaurants and the Medina from here. Our room (room 9 on the first floor) was modest but had a comfortable bed and clean bathroom with window to let in the breeze (important at this time of the year). The terrace at the rear where you eat breakfast is a really nice touch. The staff were really charming. The young guys that run the front desk are extremely helpful and have generally good competency in English. The two guys that run the breakfast in the morning are great as is the lady that does the cleaning. All of this reflects well on the owner who is there frequently and goes out of his way to help with restaurant bookings and directions. While the hotel itself is good value for the modest cost it is the interaction with the staff and owner that puts this cool little hotel into a class of its own.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room at the back overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal J, Responsable commercial at Dar Omar Khayam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hi Thanks for staying with us, we work hard to make our guests happy. We really appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel in 2 nights, it was very good small hotel in good location, not far from Medina and the Port. One little garden was nice to have a breakfast there and sit and relax after the whole day. The room was simple but nice and clean, with comfortable beds. Bathroom was a bit little but OK anyway. The breakfast was continental but good and we got very good bread with cheese, olives and jam. The staff was also very nice and helpful. It was therefore nothing to complain over, we were only satisfied with everything and I highly recommend this little Dar, it is really worth and enjoyable to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khamlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal J, Responsable commercial at Dar Omar Khayam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hi Thanks for staying with us, we work hard to make our guests happy. We really appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My second stay in Tangier and wanted to try a different place. The pension is in a neighborhood and felt very low key. I had just booked the room before leaving Fez so it was not in the system but the desk clerk found it and showed us to our room #6 which faces the street. There is no AC although some breeze coming through the window, of course along with all of the street noise. The room contained 3 single beds ( other rooms I saw varied) and an add in toilet, shower, sink combo room. This bathroom addition walls did not go all the way to the ceiling but far enough for privacy from room mates. Breakfast was included downstairs in the courtyard and it was very good. Bread, cheese, butter, jam, olives, coffee and juice were brought to us on a tray. As the location is in a neighborhood you can hear the carts going up the street calling out the things that they have for sale. Close the beach as mentioned, about a 10-15 minute walk to the Tarifa ferry (old port) and about 15 minute walk to train and bus stations. Taxis vary but expect to not pay more than 20-25mad to these destinations. Restaurants can be found very close by although Ramadan can create issues in those that are open to serve foreigners. There is a small store across from the front of the pension to by water, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for something away from the street due to noise that can go on most of the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdxballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This hotel is located near the port and many restaurants and cafés. We arrived quite early staff were very accommodating and let us check-in early. Staff was friendly, especially the owner, who seems like a very interesting fellow. My only complaint is that the bathroom in our room had a curtain for a door - not great for privacy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank lalalaVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Price, location and staff were the high points. Location-wise, although you should no doubt visit the Medina when in Tangiers, having been there now, I see no reason why anyone would want to stay at a hotel IN the Medina. This pension is within easy walking distance of the Medina, Ferry Port, some urban beaches, and has the advantage of being in a bustling neighborhood with many restaurants and cafes and people sort of going about their lives with little or no concern about what it is you do with your money. So great to leave the high pressure Medina with its many touts and escape to this neighborhood and relax with some mint tea at this Pensions expansive and cozy back patio area. The staff speaks great English and is very knowledgable and helpful, whether you are trying to arrange transport further in to Morocco, or just find a good place to eat. Their dinner recommendation was excellent, a place with amazing moroccan food close to the hotel where we were the only tourists in sight.
The rooms, I'll admit, are a bit rough around the edges, but fully adequate for sleeping, showering, etc, and since this is, after all, a budget place, I didn't take off a star for that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banxeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Hi all!
I went to Tangers for a couple of days in June and I have been lucky to end up at the Dar Omar Khayam hotel.
The place is perfectly located at only 5 minutes walk from the beach. The Medina is not far either so you can go discover the historical part of the town.
About the hotel, you have everything you would expect: friendly staff, comfortable rooms and good breakfast. I can just recommend this place.

Room Tip: number 12 maybe! it was mine and I really liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remytamalet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal J, Responsable commercial at Dar Omar Khayam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hi Thanks for staying with us, we work hard to make our guests happy. We really appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

スタッフさんはみんな親切、かわいいソファ付きの素敵な部屋にリーズナブルに泊れました!
朝食はモロッコ風の中庭でおいしいパンとコーヒー、オレンジジュースなどが楽しめました!
タオル、シャンプー、石鹸付き。

Kind staffs and nice breakfast, we can enjoy and relax in a pretty Moroccan room.
The location is about 10 minutes from the bus terminal.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank chocmoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamal J, Responsable relations publiques at Dar Omar Khayam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Hi Thanks for staying with us, we work hard to make our guests happy. We really appreciate your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#9 of 44 in Tangier
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#13 of 44 in Tangier
390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mamora
Hotel Mamora
#29 of 44 in Tangier
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mauritania Centre Tanger
0.3 mi away
Atlas les Almohades Tanger
1.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Tangier
Ramada Encore Tangier
#19 of 44 in Tangier
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Omar Khayam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Omar Khayam

Address: 26, 28 Rue AL Antaki, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Price Range: £26 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Omar Khayam 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming rooms in a residence by the beach located between downtown Tangier and the old Medina.The hotel has 26 comfy guest rooms with beds for up to four people.If you need a car, you can rent one directly from the hotel reception and use hotel parking during your stay.The reception is manned 24/7, and also offers a dependable wake-up service.Free wireless internet access in the rooms and airy public areas (WiFi).All rooms equipped with a little office space, internet connection and cable TV.The hotel provides convenient internet access in your room.The hotel has its own bistro - café serving breakfast, light snacks and drinks.Our competent staff looks forward to your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Dar Omar Khayam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing