We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Difficult to rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pension Dar Omar Khayam
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Tangier
York, UK
Level Contributor
479 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Difficult to rate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have found reviewing this property difficult.

It was our first time to Morocco and a Riad (Guest House).

I'm sure the owners spoke English but my wife is learning French and wanted to communicate that way. We couldn't fault the staff at all.

Our room was at the rear of the hotel and basic. The en-suite was small and you could almost have had a shower whilst sat on the toilet.

By Western standards the Riad is not that good. However, it is difficult to pass judgement as we have never seen or stayed in a Moroccan Riad before. I can only base this review on what I have experienced in Europe / North America

The bedroom was clean - the bathroom had mould in places (behind the door / above the shower). The towel rail kept falling off the wall.

Breakfast was served in an outdoor area at the rear of the property and consisted of coffee, orange juice, a bread roll and a couple of croissants with jam, butter and cheese.

I suppose you get what you pay for and at £26 we believe we found a bargain in Tangier.

We were surprised at the steep climb from the sea front up to the Dar Omar Khayam.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    52
    25
    8
    12
See reviews for
21
54
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. They were very good about advising how to take the ferry across to Spain and where to catch the bus once in Tarifa. The room was so cute and the back terrace was a beautiful place to hang out or to have breakfast. Highly recommend it.

I have no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MarahG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had a good stay helped by the staff. Internet and shower worked well breakfast was good. Interesting people travelled through. Parking was easy and the guarian made sure we were secure. Ask and you will get good information.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank JulianandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angers, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night because it was pretty cheap and had OK reviews. Indeed, the entrance of the hotel seems ok and some people told us their rooms were not that bad. But the manager was really rude and wouldn't let me and my wife stay in the same room with her own sister because she was not related to me!

So he made us pay for another room which was really dirty and with no hot water in the so called bathroom... We complained for ages but the manager was being very mean and threatening so we spend the worst night ever in this place and will never go back!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank manucasa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalucia75, General Manager at Pension Dar Omar Khayam, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Mr Manucasa,

You need to know that by law in Morocco, non married Moroccans of opposite sex can not share rooms. Your wife can share your room but not her sister. (really sorry)

You came during high season and had a reservation for two people. At the front desk, we gave you your room and proposed you what was left for your sister in law who was not expected.
We didn't try to surcharge you as you may think, it's just the law and we have to operate by the rules in order to not get in trouble with the authorities. If your sister in law was foreigner, there would not have been any problem but since she is Moroccan, it was not possible.

We proposed you another room for your sister in law or we asked you to find another hotel.

As you may notice, most of our customers are satisfied with our hotel and services, and we understand that you were disappointed because we charged you 150 dirhams (less than 15 euros) for an extra room for your sister in law.
We sincerely apologize if the receptionist was rude to you. I am the manager and I didn't get to meet you.

P.S : All our rooms have hot water in the shower

All the best,

Nabil Araissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tangier hotels

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this Dar for three nights during our stay in Tangier.
Overall the location and price of the Dar was good. The owners have previously lived in the US and speaks English amongst other languages. Helpful and a well appreciated benefit to have someone that you can communicate easily with.
The room we had was clean and average sized. I found the bathroom too tight/small for my liking. It was basically an add on to the room it felt as the walls do not reach the ceiling. You had all the essentials but in very close proximity. I.e. You could be sitting on the toilet and still have your shower.
Perhaps a mixture of the plumbing and being a costal town but the sewer smell was noticeable in the room, especially if staying more than one night. As well, there was a definite musty smell in the room, very apparent if the windows had been closed for any length of time.
In the back was a lovely courtyard area to relax, enjoy breakfast and just take a break. The owners and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast included in the room fee was nice, the best part - fresh squeezed orange juice!
I personally found the beds we had to be too hard. To the point your shoulder had no give in the mattress, and I like firm mattresses! As well we had a room that faced the road and sleeping with windows open (required for the smell) resulted in many, many late nights due to the noise. Something that is probably mitigated with a room facing the courtyard.

Overall we had a pleasant stay in this Dar. The location was convenient to walk to the medina, beach and nouvelle ville within minutes. Whatever amenities are lacking at this Dar are more than compensated for by the great owner and staff!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mishi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here based on the reviews and wasn't disappointed. Quirky room with an unusual toilet shower combination and a great vintage leather couch. Good WiFi in the room, 30 min walk along the esplanade from the train station, 10 to the Medina, friendly staff. Enjoyed a simple breakfast in the sunny rear courtyard and took advantage of the comfy lounges. Good value, although I'm sure there's slightly cheaper options too.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Kym B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangier, Tanger, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife and I stayed in Dar Omar Khayam (DOK) for 3 nights. As other Tripadvisor reviewers have pointed out, it's only a short walk to the city center and even closer to the beach. It's a modest but comfortable place to stay, don't expect a classy 5-star hotel but it definitely worth every penny. The place is clean, quiet, and close to shops if you need anything. The staff are absolutely great, they are extremely helpful and friendly (most with very good English). In our case, they even went out of their way to help us with everything from direction to setting up our phone's SIM card and a tip to buy Internet USB dongle. They can also help in finding (and getting) rental cars, restaurant bookings, you name it. Only the Wifi is a bit on-and-off, but it's not a big thing. If you're visiting Tangier, you might want to check DOK for a place to spend the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yusatya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mauritania Centre Tanger
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 43 in Tangier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#19 of 43 in Tangier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Saif Tarifa Beach
Saif Tarifa Beach
#12 of 43 in Tangier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Tanger
Ibis Budget Tanger
#28 of 43 in Tangier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mamora
Hotel Mamora
#22 of 43 in Tangier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Dar Omar Khayam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Dar Omar Khayam

Property: Pension Dar Omar Khayam
Address: 26, 28 Rue AL Antaki, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 Hotels in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Dar Omar Khayam 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming rooms in a residence by the beach located between downtown Tangier and the old Medina.The hotel has 26 comfy guest rooms with beds for up to four people.If you need a car, you can rent one directly from the hotel reception and use hotel parking during your stay.The reception is manned 24/7, and also offers a dependable wake-up service.Free wireless internet access in the rooms and airy public areas (WiFi).All rooms equipped with a little office space, internet connection and cable TV.The hotel provides convenient internet access in your room.The hotel has its own bistro - café serving breakfast, light snacks and drinks.Our competent staff looks forward to your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pension Dar Omar Khayam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing