We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pension Dar Omar Khayam
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Tangier
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Top Location”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Nice little hotel located midway between the port and the train station which was perfect for us, we walked to both. Staff were great and very helpful and eager to please. Good breakfast and they have a proper cafe style espresso machine! Room was a tad musty however was fine for 1 night.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank JoeyjoejoeshabadooJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    53
    26
    8
    12
See reviews for
21
56
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lunpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

This place is everything good we expected from a B&B. My first impression when the taxi dropped us off at the gate was that this hotel has a sense of welcoming. And it was proven true, to a tee!

Friendly chirpy super helpful staff with excellent local knowledge. Cute interior decoration that makes you feel like posing at every corner.

We were as happy walking around Tangier town as we were hanging out with Nabil, the owner, and his staff at the lobby area.

The location is also very convenient for you to have a shorty walk to the town area and to Cinema Rif and the medina.

Too bad we were there only for one night. If I ever find myself in Tangier again, I would not think twice about staying there again.

Totally recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank YantiOsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We were forced to stay in Tangier for the one night in order to catch a flight the next morning.

If you like towels that would pass for cheesecloth this is the place for you!
Pillowcases? None. Left the shams on and turned it over. Sheets were crappy. No heat! Not that it wasn't working...didn't exist. Froze my butt off. Shower nozzle/wand came off in my hand. Husband got electrocuted when he went to adjust light over sink.

I was initially of the mind set 'don't care about the age of the hotel just as long as it is clean'. Changed that! I didn't sleep..ugh!

When we were leaving a guy from Quebec was screaming at the front desk. He obviously was unhappy. Originally he was to stay a week but he was checking out.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nabil A, Directeur général at Pension Dar Omar Khayam, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Ms Sheila P,

We have checked our books and could not find any Sheila P on our list of people who stayed in our hotel.
Indeed, no Sheila P for the month of November stayed in our hotel. We tried to find out how have you made your reservation but could not find any records neither whatsoever.
We believe that you probably stayed in a different place and think that it was with us.
Most of our customers here at Dar Omar Khayam are satisfied, feel at home and we do make sure that every request is being fulfilled.
As the hotel Manager, I have not found any crappy sheets or pillows without covers or as you say "cheesecloth towels". The hotel has only 26 rooms and it is quite easy to check all the rooms and find out that your statement is misplaced.
However, we would like to mention that we have a laundry room and that all our sheets, linen, towels etc. are washed thoroughly after every single use.
Heating-wise, we would like to inform you that in Morocco, there is no central heating as it is really cold for only 60 days per year (December - January) and for that purpose, the hotel has three chimneys and they are lit when it gets cold.
You have also mentioned that your husband got electrocuted and that a customer from Quebec was screaming at the front desk ??? (We seriously have no clue about all your statement) Have you mentioned that ?? Did you inform the front desk about all your misfortune ??
We do take all of our customer requests very seriously and as you may have read before your review on this site or on Booking.com, our customers feel at home when they are with us. They are satisfied and they come back.
At last, we would love to know how much have you paid in our hotel (if you think it is here that you stayed) and we also strongly recommend you next time to head towards a five star hotel in order to have your needs fulfilled. Understand also that saying bad things about a business is not very nice and is a very serious matter specially when the staff works hard to satisfy everyone.
All the staff here at Dar Omar Khayam wish you a great day,

Best regards Miss Sheila P,

Nabil Araissi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tangier hotels

York, UK
Level Contributor
484 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have found reviewing this property difficult.

It was our first time to Morocco and a Riad (Guest House).

I'm sure the owners spoke English but my wife is learning French and wanted to communicate that way. We couldn't fault the staff at all.

Our room was at the rear of the hotel and basic. The en-suite was small and you could almost have had a shower whilst sat on the toilet.

By Western standards the Riad is not that good. However, it is difficult to pass judgement as we have never seen or stayed in a Moroccan Riad before. I can only base this review on what I have experienced in Europe / North America

The bedroom was clean - the bathroom had mould in places (behind the door / above the shower). The towel rail kept falling off the wall.

Breakfast was served in an outdoor area at the rear of the property and consisted of coffee, orange juice, a bread roll and a couple of croissants with jam, butter and cheese.

I suppose you get what you pay for and at £26 we believe we found a bargain in Tangier.

We were surprised at the steep climb from the sea front up to the Dar Omar Khayam.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. They were very good about advising how to take the ferry across to Spain and where to catch the bus once in Tarifa. The room was so cute and the back terrace was a beautiful place to hang out or to have breakfast. Highly recommend it.

I have no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MarahG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had a good stay helped by the staff. Internet and shower worked well breakfast was good. Interesting people travelled through. Parking was easy and the guarian made sure we were secure. Ask and you will get good information.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank JulianandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angers, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night because it was pretty cheap and had OK reviews. Indeed, the entrance of the hotel seems ok and some people told us their rooms were not that bad. But the manager was really rude and wouldn't let me and my wife stay in the same room with her own sister because she was not related to me!

So he made us pay for another room which was really dirty and with no hot water in the so called bathroom... We complained for ages but the manager was being very mean and threatening so we spend the worst night ever in this place and will never go back!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank manucasa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalucia75, General Manager at Pension Dar Omar Khayam, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Mr Manucasa,

You need to know that by law in Morocco, non married Moroccans of opposite sex can not share rooms. Your wife can share your room but not her sister. (really sorry)

You came during high season and had a reservation for two people. At the front desk, we gave you your room and proposed you what was left for your sister in law who was not expected.
We didn't try to surcharge you as you may think, it's just the law and we have to operate by the rules in order to not get in trouble with the authorities. If your sister in law was foreigner, there would not have been any problem but since she is Moroccan, it was not possible.

We proposed you another room for your sister in law or we asked you to find another hotel.

As you may notice, most of our customers are satisfied with our hotel and services, and we understand that you were disappointed because we charged you 150 dirhams (less than 15 euros) for an extra room for your sister in law.
We sincerely apologize if the receptionist was rude to you. I am the manager and I didn't get to meet you.

P.S : All our rooms have hot water in the shower

All the best,

Nabil Araissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mauritania Centre Tanger
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#8 of 43 in Tangier
574 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Tanger
Ibis Budget Tanger
#29 of 43 in Tangier
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Saif Tarifa Beach
Saif Tarifa Beach
#13 of 43 in Tangier
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mamora
Hotel Mamora
#24 of 43 in Tangier
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#18 of 43 in Tangier
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Dar Omar Khayam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Dar Omar Khayam

Property: Pension Dar Omar Khayam
Address: 26, 28 Rue AL Antaki, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Dar Omar Khayam 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming rooms in a residence by the beach located between downtown Tangier and the old Medina.The hotel has 26 comfy guest rooms with beds for up to four people.If you need a car, you can rent one directly from the hotel reception and use hotel parking during your stay.The reception is manned 24/7, and also offers a dependable wake-up service.Free wireless internet access in the rooms and airy public areas (WiFi).All rooms equipped with a little office space, internet connection and cable TV.The hotel provides convenient internet access in your room.The hotel has its own bistro - café serving breakfast, light snacks and drinks.Our competent staff looks forward to your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pension Dar Omar Khayam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing