We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem”
Review of Dar JAND

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dar JAND
Ranked #8 of 46 Tangier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have never had such hospitality before anywhere. Run by an American couple with fascinating life stories who want to hear yours! You feel like you are staying with old friends, not strangers.
Andrew and Janet do all that is possible to make your stay enjoyable and to facilitate any aspect of arrival/departure/getting around/ figuring things out. They know and love the city and its people and it shows. They are a fantastic resource. Our visit was much briefer than we would have liked but still got a quick tour of the medina from Andrew.
Beautiful "Dar", thoughtfully decorated, quiet, great breakfast and conversation on the roof.
I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambornegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Dar JAND
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

We are so glad we made the effort to visit Tangier, Morocco for two nights during our month-long vacation in Spain and Portugal, and how lucky we were to discover Dar Jand and hosts Janet and Andrew! It was easy to plan everything in advance, including having Farouq (arranged by Janet and Andrew) meet us at the airport and take us on a wild, mini-van ride through the narrow streets right up to the door of Dar Jand. After we checked into the third-floor Tuareg Zraq, the blue room, we joined Janet and Andrew up on the terrace for wonderful conversation and delicious tea and cookies with an incredible 360 degree view of the Kasbah, the Straits of Gibraltar, and Tangier. Andrew then took us on an orientation walk of the area, with its labyrinthine streets and alleys, to point out different shops and places to eat and visit and help us remember his guideposts to find our way back to Dar Jand by ourselves. The next day we spent four hours walking with Abdellah, an excellent guide recommended by Janet and Andrew. He took us through markets, the church and cemetery, the Kasbah, the Grand and Petit Soccos, and alley after alley, all the while entertaining us with his knowledge, humor, and love of the city and its people. We enjoyed several delicious meals during our stay, including the special dinner at La Saveur de Poisson, where we sat down and were served several courses of whatever the family had prepared for the evening. Best of all, though, was Janet's incredible breakfasts served up on the terrace, with the magnificent view and delightful conversation with Janet and Andrew. We certainly recommend this beautifully decorated and comfortable Dar, made even better by its excellent hosts. We would love to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are delightful. We loved our top floor blue room, the Tuareg Zraq, and didn't mind...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graybirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

There is a very good reason why this place is #1. You won't find this in Lonely planet, Rick Steves or any other guide books, and shame on them. This is a jewel of Tangier... I told the inn keepers that they are doing a service to the city and I truly believe that. The city and median in particular are not an easy place to get around... I've seen a good part of the world and this might be the hardest to navigate. No one knows the street names, it's all by landmarks... and there are narrow, windy streets that always seem to go uphill, and locals everywhere that don't speak a lick of English. They go the extra mile by picking you up, and giving you a nice acclimation tour when you get there. They also have great contacts for tour guides, shop keepers and drivers when you need them!

Janet and Andrew are wonderful, wonderful hosts. We felt like we were visiting Uncles and Aunts... some of our most enjoyable moments of our trip were our talks with them. They have such interesting stories and give great insight to the city. You can tell they are well loved in the community too; all the locals, adults and children alike, welcome them into their neighborhood, even though there aren't many Americans to be found.

The inn is decorated like you wouldn't believe. We were able to see each of the rooms, and they all have their own charm. I don't know how they were able to do it, but they transformed that building into a masterpiece. Eating breakfast on their rooftop patio with a 360 view of the media was spectacular.

There aren't many places in the world that I would go back to and stay, because I like to get a different perspective, but I wouldn't even consider anywhere else in Tangier! Do what you can to stay here!

Room Tip: The room with the solarium is worth the price!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCarson699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed at Dar JAND in August 2012 at the start of our week in Morocco. Janet and Andrew were great hosts and really helped us to get to grips with Morocco, introducing us the food, customs, some language, and gave us great tips on how to get around. They also have some amazing stories, not least about the lengths they needed to go to to get the hotel up and running. Andrew met us off the ferry from Tarifa and showed us around the Medina, and Janet prepared delicious breakfasts each morning.

The hotel is beautifully decorated with traditional Moroccan furniture and is very comfortable. Highly recommended.

(sorry, this review is long overdue!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Hi Janet & Andrew,

A massive (but belated - sorry!) thank you for looking after us at Christmas time 2013. Tangier is a great place for just "hanging out", and what better place to base ourselves than Dar Jand. Although we've stayed with you guys before, Andrew's Tangier orientation walk quickly got us back in the swing, and also pointed out some new places to visit - Dean's Bar turned out to be our favourite!

The Dar is absolutely lovely, and your hospitality and attention to detail are second to none. And what a treat staying in the top floor Tuarag Zraq room!

We will definitely be back - hopefully we can persuade Mandy's folks to join us.

See you soon,
Dave & Mandy.

Room Tip: The top room is a little more pricey, but well worth it. Views from the solarium and the room itself...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drdavidtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

If you are considering a day trip to Morocco from Spain, consider a few day's stay at this B&B. The location is very central in the Medina near the port. Views from the rooftop terrace of the Tangier skyline as well as across the straights of Gibraltar to Spain are stunning. The host's are very knowledgeable about their surroundings and can set up tours, suggest restaurants, and advise were to shop. The rooms , clean and cleaned daily , have a Moroccan theme that you would hope for given the location in the ancient Medina. We stayed for 3 days, but could have easily stayed a week, and will do so our next trip. There is a reason this B&B is ranked number 1 in Tangier, go and find out why!

Room Tip: The terrace room has excellent views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerJon401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I can't imagine having stayed anywhere else for a more wonderful introduction to Tangier, the culture, the people, the food and beyond. Traveling as single female for the first time in Morocco, I was hoping to find a home base that allowed for a true experience of the city, but also with the ease of being able to communicate. Dar Jand was the magic key to all.

The rooms are all beautiful, well kept, neat as can be. A lot of love and detail goes in to this place and it's palpable. Janet and Andrew were both so helpful and generous. Warm spirits, great company and lovely hosts all around. And it's true, Janet's baking is worth a stay on it's own.

Andrew has a real knack for ensuring you're able to memorize the winding mystery streets of the medina. Having a grasp on where you are and where you're going makes any exploration more fun. They know a great community of locals who can further guide you around the city well. I had an inspired day out with Abdellah, who is also a musician and invited me to a small performance with friends the following day. He was gracious and kind and couldn't have been a better guide or new friend in a strange and beautiful new land.

Tangier was a highlight of my entire summer around the world and that's in no small part because of Janet and Andrew and the great comfort at Dar Jand. Thanks for everything. Can't wait to get back... xxkd

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdiable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#9 of 44 in Tangier
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
0.1 mi away
Dar Chams Tanja
Dar Chams Tanja
#1 of 46 in Tangier
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Yasmine
Dar Yasmine
#6 of 46 in Tangier
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Jameel
Dar Jameel
#4 of 46 in Tangier
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Sultan
Dar Sultan
#5 of 46 in Tangier
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar JAND? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar JAND

Address: 62 Rue Cheikh Mohamed Ben Seddik | Medina, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Tangier
Price Range: £66 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Our House is Your House." Located in the old Medina of Tanger, in the heart of a truly Moroccan neighborhood with easy access of the Port, Grand Socco, Petit Socco, Kasbah, Railway Station and Airport. Our rooms have en-suite bathrooms and rates include Mediterranean breakfast and wi-fi service. Our rooftop terrace has a panoramic view of the Medina and the Bay of Tanger. Please, no children under the age of 12 years. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing