We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Real Medina Experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful Roof terrace on top of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Roof terrace on top of house
Chairs on roof terrace fourth floor roof terrace fourth floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Beautiful Roof terrace on top of house
Chairs on roof terrace fourth floor
roof terrace fourth floor
entrance to first floor; steep stairs - be careful!
First double bedroom on First floor
Second Double Bedroom on the First Floor
second double bedroom
Stairs to second floor
stairs to second floor
Third bedroom with two single beds on second floor
third bedroom with two single beds
First bathroom on second floor
first bathroom
stairs to Third Floor
kitchen on the Third Floor
living room and kitchen
kitchen
living room on third floor
Living Room on the Third Floor
roof terrace with view of the sea
living room on third floor
Table on roof terrace
Abdellah Chaoui who will welcome you to the house
Debbie Winterbourne - owner of the house
outside of the house
street in the Kasbah where house is located
front door of house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
joaninind...
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Real Medina Experience”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is a wonderful house in the heart of the Medina. You will walk to everything, and then come back to your terrace in the evening and enjoy the sea view, a glass of wine and the breeze! Debbie is wonderful to deal with, and we all just loved Abdellah who is in charge in Tangiers. Would go back in a heart beat...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caratcat7...
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Taste of Tangiers”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This house offers an authentic experience of life in a Kasbah, right in the heart of things. You can get lost in the very narrow streets but there is always help from locals and I did get a street map from the tourist office on the harbour front. The roof terrace is amazing with panoramic views and plenty of seating. Abdellah, who looks after the house is a star and offers way beyond what is necessary. Be aware that the stairs really are steep and numerous but this does add to the authenicity of your experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
enekoanse...
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment in the Kasbha of Tanger”
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house is well located, is clean, comfortable and the neighbrough is tipical moroccan, where you can meet locals and turist also.
The views of the terrace are wonderfull, where you can have your dinner or just relax.
I highly recomend this apartment to those who are looking for a truly moroccan expirience in the beautiful center of the kasbha.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanAustr...
Austria
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“This is the real deal!!”
Reviewed 8 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

If you want a true Moroccan experience this quirky house is exactly that! All your neighbours are locals and you will have a pretty unique experience! The view from the roof terrace after a morning sightseeing is really brilliant! and its was lovely to enjoy a glass of wine there in the evenings amidst the twinkling lights of the old town. I would certainly recommend this house to all my fit friends (stairs are steep!) who are looking for an authentic Moroccan experience! We had lovely breakfasts in the Moroccan Club sitting under a lovely big tree and our best dinner has got to be the fish platter for MAD 50 at the port! We would also recommend going from here to the Blue Medina town of Chefchouen and this Abdellah organised for MAD 500. Thank you Debbie!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torsten_G...
Dresden, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great house, great country, lovely people”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in the house for about 2 weeks and we had a great time there. This accommodation is perfect if you want to visit the Country with it's culture and the lovely People living there.
The house is located in the middle of the medina of Tanger. Around you there are only moroccan families. We didn't see any other Tourist in this area during our stay. If you plan your first visit to marroc you learn some things about the People and the culture. Especially if you grow up in western europe. If don't do that (and we saw some Tourist in morocco which were not prepared ;-)) the Country can be very irritating and exhausting. And if your neighbors are all moroccan People you can't rescue yourself in a Hotel with a wall around it ;-) ... If you are prepared and if you are open minded you will have a unforgettable Holiday in the great Country - and this accommodation is the perfect place to stay.

I will not say much about the house - it's as described. You have everything you need - even if you stay there for month. The terrace is amazing! You should have no disability because there are 4 (with terrace 5) floors. You have to go up and down many stairs each day.

The best thing of the house and the most important one for our perfect holiday was Abdellah. He showed us so many things that are usually hidden for Tourists. He was our guide, showed us the City, told us many very interesting things and invited us to his Family.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wistar B
Istanbul
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Morocco: this 4 story house in the historic medina, close to the kasbah, in a friendly neighborhood, has a fantastic r”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This 4 story house in the historic medina, close to the kasbah in a friendly neighborhood has a fantastic roof terrace with a
panoramic view of Tangier from the port to the beach. The house is organized vertically as are many of the houses in the area. The rooms are adequate and comfortable----room for 6 people--- with 2 bathrooms. The kitchen is functional and all the appliances work. The sitting area is small but ok.
The administration is very responsive to requests and seems committed to making this apartment work for guests.

The main challange of this apartment is the stairs, which are quite high by American standards, so I would not recommend this place for people with knee, hip or cardiac issues.

The two best things about this apartment are its' location in the medina and its' roof terrace. We lived there for the month of February 2014 and spent lots of time on the terrace.
I would highly recommend the Artist's Residence.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VTUK
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Traditional and Quirky ... In the heart of the Kasbah”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

I booked this accommodation last minute when the property I had originally booked withdrew 2-days before I was due to arrive. That said the owner of this property, Deborah, was most efficient in her dealings and very reasonable with the rates she charged for this 3 bedroom property. Similarly, her contact in Tangier, the ever smiling Abdellah, was extremely helpful and courteous on arrival and our departure for the handover of keys and was only a call away if we needed him. In 2013 I have visited Tangier 3 times. Each time I have stayed at a different place. This time we stayed in what can be truly described as an authentic and rustic Moroccan home. If you want the real deal with a hint of quirkiness and eccentricity then this is a fun place to set base and explore the Medina and truly appreciate how the locals live. A great place for families too. Albeit tucked away down a side street, the locals are very helpful so much so that one evening when I had taken a wrong turn and asked for directions the young lad who guided me back, Mohammad, turned out to be our neighbour who lived directly opposite. My only genuine feedback would be to ask that an extra couch be offered in the living room, even though a tad tight for space with a dining table and chairs, to provide seating space when unwinding in the evening as one 3-seater was not enough for 4 of us. Thank you Deborah. Wishing you well!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: Staircase ... Being over 6 foot tall I had to bow my head to get upstairs ... Quirky!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing