We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A worthwhile accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Tangier
Biella, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A worthwhile accomodation”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Hotel is excellent and located in very good area of Tangeri. The service was great and people very kind. Very good quality for money. Very good opportunity for business or for tourism. Good parking facility.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    122
    76
    56
    43
See reviews for
84
97
25
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We arrived with friends for a two-day stay last summer. We had contacted the manager before we came and asked for some good suggestions for a first time visit to Tangier. When we arrived the manager Rachid Jebari met us and had upgraded both families to three suites. What a great treat! Even though the suites are not newly refurbished, they were spacious and quite comfortable. The view was amazing.

The kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool area wich was clean and very pretty. We did struggle finding towels, and had to ask the pool attendant to bring us some. It took him a long time and when he finally came he handed us some very worn and ragged towels. I must say I was surprised. I would have thrown them away at home, and a luxury resort should never offer their guests something like that.

The food at the restaurant was so so... Maybe because of Ramadan the selection was limited? The food is pricy, which is ok if the quality is first class. The quality here was not first class. We chose to only eat there once.

Rachid followed up with us several times and really worked hard to make our stay perfect. I just wished the rest of the staff were equally attentive and pleasant. Unfortunately many off the staff seemed disinterested and arrogant. Our waiters did not smile once during our meal. It was as if they were irritated by anything we asked for. The friend we were traveling with is a consultant who has made one of Norways most famous hotel profitable. His comment was that the hotel's main problem was the attitude of the staff. Except for an amazingly pleasant and hard working manager, we really felt the rest of the place lacked the things you desire at top luxury resort.

Because of Ramadan the hotel was quite empty and there was really nothing going on. The bar/nightclub was closed, as was the a la carte restaurant. This was probably why the rates were so low. Compared to what we paid for the rooms we got an excellent deal. The upgrade to suites really made this trip special and would probably stay there again if Rashid took care of us:-)

Room Tip: Ask for sea view. You can always ask for an upgrade, maybe you'll be lucky:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NordicAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Out of Reception there were vast undefined public areas. Access to the restaurant difficult for people with mobility problems. Rooms were clean and comfortable with a view of Old Tangier 4 km away. Uninsulated electrical connections on bedside lights were potentially dangerous. The buffet dinner and breakfast were both good in choice and quality, but the food was not particularly hot. Fine for an overnight stay but we would not want to stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireBrigadier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joon S, Directeur général at Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review about your stay. I'm very sorry to learn that we have failed to give you complete satisfaction and I would like to express all my apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay with us. I have taken good note of your valuable comments which will help us to improve our services. In spite of this, I hope you enjoy your stay with us and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to the Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata, I remain with,
Best regards.

Joon Stueber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

What a disappointment after spending 3 nights at the wonderful Riad Arabesque in Fes. What a disappointing end to our Jules Verne "Morocco Revisited" tour. Where do I begin? This was probably the most "soulless" hotel I have ever stayed in (and I've stayed in quite a few in my time!). The room was clean and of a reasonable size and the chambermaids always acknowledged our existence, smiled and said hello - more than can be said for most of the other staff members. The reception areas were some of the poorest I have experienced. The shops were never manned. The bar service was poor.
The restaurant areas were bland - but the food was OK albeit nothing special.
The hotel was over 2 miles from Tangier town so not particularly well situated.
The final insult was finding that there was no free broadband access anywhere in the hotel - and that there was a £12.50 a day charge for an access code to sign on! To be fair when we complained (having made one payment) the desk clerk on reception gave us complementary access for the next day - but then blotted his copybook by denying he had done so when asked for a similar concession by the two other couples on our tour!

Room Tip: The rooms we saw were OK - but our best advice would be to try rooms in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joon S, Directeur général at Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review about your stay. I’m very sorry to learn that we have failed to give you complete satisfaction and I would like to express all my apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your visit. I greatly value your comments which will help us to improve our services and please rest assured that I shall bring your comments to the concerned departments.

Sincerely yours.

Joon Stueber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tangier hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Such bad experience as follow;
- After checking in, we waited for one hour to get towels.
- the bed covers are over used and old.
- It's my second day and still waiting the hotel to fix room AC, but no one give attention till now.
- to use sauna/steam and jacoozi after 4pm you have to pay even if you are room guest (strange)
- the room lack to minibar as advertised, the fridge is completely empty even no glasses provided.
I honestly advice anyone planning to visit this great city (Tangier) to avoid this hotel in order not to spoil the vacation/stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joon S, Directeur général at Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review about your stay. I'm very sorry to learn that we have failed to give you complete satisfaction and I would like to express all my apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay with us. I consider your email as a very valuable document, which helps us to improve our services and I have treated your comments accordingly with the areas and the personnel involved and have done the necessary corrections. We will work hard to improve this and would be glad to be able to show you during your next stay, that we are living up to our guest's 5 stars expectations.

Sincerely yours.

Joon Stueber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Very out of date and difficult to find way around hotel. Near busy. noisy road even though good view from tiny balcony over the coast line. Evening meal, buffet, all cold and uninteresting. Breakfast very ordinary.

Room Tip: The better view from high level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Initially room had no air conditioning. engineer came to fix it but went away again and not much then happened. Asked reception if we could change rooms and they agreed we could do so. After dinner back in the room the aircon was working so did not change. Nice views over the sea towards Spain. Hotel a long way out of town and walk into town was not very pleasant - in fact gave up after 15 minutes.
Buffet dinner was very good but service was poor. Staff seemed untrained and rather disorganised. Had to wait well over an hour for second course when we were the first in the restaurant and almost the last to be served!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a good view and all are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lebaron2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
2.6 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
2.0 mi away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#10 of 43 in Tangier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Royal Tulip City Center
Royal Tulip City Center
#5 of 43 in Tangier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Farah Tanger
Hotel Farah Tanger
#16 of 43 in Tangier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#7 of 43 in Tangier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger

Property: Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger
Address: Avenue Mohamed VI | Baie de Tanger, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tangier
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tangier
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The imposing Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger is the perfect location for business or leisure. It is set amidst beautiful gardens with a huge free-form swimming pool. Situated on the shores of the Mediterranean, this hotel overlooks the beautiful Bay of Tangier. Only a 5 to 10 minute drive from the city centre and yet far enough away to offer a calm and relaxing environment, it offers everything you expect. Large rooms, several different sized meeting rooms, a casino, a variety of restaurants and bars and a well-equipped and spacious gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Hotel And Casino Malabata
Moevenpick Hotel Tangier
Moevenpick Hotel Malabata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing