We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conflicting thoughts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Conflicting thoughts”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The welcome at the hotel was excellent, refreshing cup of mint tea, swift check in and bags taken to the room with us. We had to change rooms however after about an hour as the in room Wi-Fi was very poor and it was essential for work. This was effected willingly and effectively. We then had to phone for towels, and the mini bar was empty. The wifi remained very weak....

The room service was good, nicely presented and not a long wait which is a contrast with the service in the main buffet restaurant. The breakfast buffet was limited, as was the lunch time and evening one, but ok overall. Any drinks, including coffee with breakfast and wine with meals were very slow to arrive, the wine coming after we had finished our meal!
Overall the hotel is clean, the pool area is nicely maintained and staff provide extra towels and mattresses with no problem. Each day, we had an issue with fresh towels for the room not being delivered until either very late afternoon or early evening, and for some reason they kept on delivering only one despite there being two of us in the room.
Would I stay again? Maybe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjwaix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    129
    80
    61
    49
See reviews for
91
102
27
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, El Kelaa des Srarhna, Morocco
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was worried reading previous reviews concerning bad customer service but was surprised on how this was absolutely not the case. The staff was very helpful, punctual and friendly. The Breakfast buffet was varied and satisfying.
The Hotel was clean and I was even transferred to a different (better) deluxe room after complaining about my current one with a view on the parking lot (partially due to Doctors conference going on).

Thank you movenpick for a lovely experience in beautiful Tanger!

Room Tip: Deluxe room was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbusedCustomer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Pls expect there to be very little English spoken or understood. Service in restaurants is very slow, pool drink and food same-with us waiting for over an hour with it being forgotten. Waitstaff don't know what's not available and take long time to tell you your choice is not possible, with waiting times for a club sandwich in excess of 45 mins. Don't think you'll be served water while you wait! Breakfast buffet dishes cold (when they should be hot) and unimaginative and poorly replenished. Poor staff training and carelessness all around. Business Center consists of two outdated computers behind a screen in a lobby....you have to hand a memory stick back over to reception go get something printed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotellie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tangier hotels

Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

It's one of the best movenpick hotels that I stayed at, they have a very good front desk staff they will go beyond their way to satisfy your a very need at the location is the best. It's a nice hotel whit top of the line facilities like the swimming pool, spa and a gym.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruqaya75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joon S, Directeur général at Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel. We have taken good note of your valuable comments for which we thank you and we are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to again thank you very much and are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata.

Very sincerely yours,

Joon K. Stueber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I stayed for one night at Movenpick Hotel Malabata , rooms are spacy and clean. Bathroom is clean and well maintained. Its not a new hotel but its very well maintained, however some upgrade is needed like interactive TV system .. Existing TV channel quality is poor and should be upgraded. Also internet must be provided for FREE specially in a 5 Stars hotel.
Breakfast was really excellent , French orange juice was amazing.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Tangier .

Room Tip: ask for a room with Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biella, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Hotel is excellent and located in very good area of Tangeri. The service was great and people very kind. Very good quality for money. Very good opportunity for business or for tourism. Good parking facility.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We arrived with friends for a two-day stay last summer. We had contacted the manager before we came and asked for some good suggestions for a first time visit to Tangier. When we arrived the manager Rachid Jebari met us and had upgraded both families to three suites. What a great treat! Even though the suites are not newly refurbished, they were spacious and quite comfortable. The view was amazing.

The kids thoroughly enjoyed the pool area wich was clean and very pretty. We did struggle finding towels, and had to ask the pool attendant to bring us some. It took him a long time and when he finally came he handed us some very worn and ragged towels. I must say I was surprised. I would have thrown them away at home, and a luxury resort should never offer their guests something like that.

The food at the restaurant was so so... Maybe because of Ramadan the selection was limited? The food is pricy, which is ok if the quality is first class. The quality here was not first class. We chose to only eat there once.

Rachid followed up with us several times and really worked hard to make our stay perfect. I just wished the rest of the staff were equally attentive and pleasant. Unfortunately many off the staff seemed disinterested and arrogant. Our waiters did not smile once during our meal. It was as if they were irritated by anything we asked for. The friend we were traveling with is a consultant who has made one of Norways most famous hotel profitable. His comment was that the hotel's main problem was the attitude of the staff. Except for an amazingly pleasant and hard working manager, we really felt the rest of the place lacked the things you desire at top luxury resort.

Because of Ramadan the hotel was quite empty and there was really nothing going on. The bar/nightclub was closed, as was the a la carte restaurant. This was probably why the rates were so low. Compared to what we paid for the rooms we got an excellent deal. The upgrade to suites really made this trip special and would probably stay there again if Rashid took care of us:-)

Room Tip: Ask for sea view. You can always ask for an upgrade, maybe you'll be lucky:-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NordicAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
2.0 mi away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#11 of 44 in Tangier
483 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
2.7 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#8 of 44 in Tangier
700 reviews
2.1 mi away
Atlas les Almohades Tanger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger

Property: Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger
Address: Avenue Mohamed VI | Baie de Tanger, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tangier
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tangier
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The imposing Mövenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger is the perfect location for business or leisure. It is set amidst beautiful gardens with a huge free-form swimming pool. Situated on the shores of the Mediterranean, this hotel overlooks the beautiful Bay of Tangier. Only a 5 to 10 minute drive from the city centre and yet far enough away to offer a calm and relaxing environment, it offers everything you expect. Large rooms, several different sized meeting rooms, a casino, a variety of restaurants and bars and a well-equipped and spacious gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Movenpick Hotel And Casino Malabata
Moevenpick Hotel Tangier
Moevenpick Hotel Malabata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing