We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Minzah Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Mamora(Tangier)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (745)
Filter reviews
745 results
Traveller rating
212
291
127
61
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
291
127
61
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamous guestsmoroccan restaurantold world charmbygone erapiano barcrepestour guidelong weekendtaginean oasismint teavisiting tangiermoroccohistorymedinamusiciansdoorman
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 745 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The buffet breakfast was ordinary and the orange juice is watered down which is dangerous if they dont use bottled water! The room was ok but the carpets needed cleaning as our feet got very dirty after removing our footwear, although the hotel was in a good location it is certainly not worthy of more than 3 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElMinzah, General Manager at El Minzah Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Dear Mr Barry,

First of all, we thank you for taking some minutes from your time and reporting your remarks on tripadvisor.
We are very surprised to read from you about the orange juice. We assure that we do not use any water and the orange juice is 100% natural, as the oranges are available all the year in Morocco.
Further to your second remark, we will ensure with our housekeeping manager about this point. However we are happy to inform you that all the room’s and public areas carpets had been renewed at the beginning of this year and are still new
We hope to welcome you back again and soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This hotel was built in the 1920's and has been frequented by movie stars (all dead now). The experience today is like a taste of old Morocco. The room was clean and quiet, but dark. The bath was updated sometime past, so was ok. The room could use some updating and nicer touches kile better lighting. The food was average at best as was the service. We went out for a walk after dinner and the streets were wall to wall with people. No one bothered us or even looked at us, but we didn't feel safe so we returned to the hotel after only a very short time.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the innner courtyard, which was quiet and nice.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50States36Countries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed for a night at El Minzah while visiting Tanger. Our room was really small but had a great view of the gorgeous pool. The hotel spa is located in another building which is a little inconvenient but service at the spa was great. Decor of the hotel is exceptional. Breakfast was amazing with variety of foods both hot and cold. Hotel cost for wifi is slightly high.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarheel_TravelersNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

When we arrived at El Minzah, our room was not yet clean. So, the staff recommended we take a walking tour with a tour guide. At first, the tour was nice: he took us around the Medina and we went to lunch at a very nice, although expensive, restaurant. After walking around a bit, we were taken into a carpet shop.

The owner took us up the roof to show us his view, gave us mint tea, took pictures of us--then started pushing his carpets on us. The rest of our "tour" consisted of going around to various other shops where we were pressured into buying things we did not want and had never asked to see. It ended soon after it became apparent we wouldn't be shelling out any more money, but the guide then tried to pressure us into taking another tour the next day.

I have some experience traveling in Africa and the Middle East and never before have I had a tour guide put me in such a situation. On the contrary, all my previous guides had always warned me if someone was trying to rip me off and had told me how to protect myself. I have never had a tour that consisted of being taken to a shop and goaded into spending hundreds of dollars on carpets.

I thought the guide/hotel's behavior was unprofessional and broke the bond of trust I've come to expect in those situations, and it cast a shadow over our stay at El Minzah.

By all means, stay at El Minzah: the rooms are clean and comfortable, the pool is nice, and the hotel is very pretty. But avoid the guided tour: or at the very least, remember that the guide is NOT on your side.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Nice Hotel, but the ifacilities are not updated.
Nice service
Very nice building, but withlack of maintainance and cleaness
The SPA has nice service but the noise of the city invades it so it make difficulto to feel relax
The maasage is of high quality but it does not take care of certain details to respct intimidity of the client

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews