We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of my time in Tangiers.”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Tangier
Newport Isle of Wight
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The highlight of my time in Tangiers.”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The Continental Hotel is stunning, even if is evident it has seen better days. It has the feel of a museum in certain areas, everything from the reception to rooms reeks of faded glory. As an example my room had a huge hardwood wardrobe/cupboard, something that what cost a few thousand pounds in the U.K, yet it is missing a couple of handles and one of the door's did not close quite right. This did not detract at all from the experience, if anything it added to the air of refined decay you find throughout. The entire hotel is immaculately clean while the staff are professional and courteous. If you are travelling to Tangiers I would recommend this hotel, it has bountiful charm and character and is well worth staying in for a night at least.

Saying that the windows are not insulated at all and there is currently allot of building work going on in front of the hotel, expect to be woken by calls to prayer early in the morning and the pounding pneumatic drills and diggers for the foreseeable future. The "guides," who linger around the gate to the Hotel are also a nuisance, if you most get one agree a price before hand and do not pay more than 5 euro's though the Medina itself is small enough not to need one. I would not recommend getting one of these guides as you will be led to all of their friends shops rather than the sights you wish to see, they are more trouble than they are worth.

All in all if you are passing through Tangiers this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and they will accommodate if at all possible, if you want a sound sleep a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Hodgson1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    251
    134
    55
    44
See reviews for
85
250
71
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
everywhere
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

in this is a hotel with a famous history
still you can feel it .
beautiful ceilings and decorations
but sometimes you meet a famous actrice which became old and the make up is not enough some repairs of the beautiful dress is not perfect done
you have to climb stairs no elevator
positiv
helpfull staff and perfect located on walking distance off the ferry

Room Tip: ask for room on the sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Hotel Continental is past its prime by decades and decades; it is not the 1940s grand hotel of Paul Bowles' "The Sheltering Sky", nor as depicted in the 1990 movie. In the medina, you have to walk through the parking lot and down back streets to actually get to a central part of the medina. It's really no better situated than, say, the El Minzah, which is much more elegant. However, it isn't expensive and my wife and I liked it very much, staying for a single night on 2 separate occasions. The rooms are not elegant with old furniture as we had hoped, but were serviceable. Some have air conditioning, some not. There is no elevator and the rooms are up a level or two, so not for the handicapped or very elderly. Breakfasts are served in a lovely old section of the hotel, either on the veranda or inside, and you'll want to take your camera along. Front desk service was very accommodating. The people running this hotel are extremely helpful and nice; however, you take your luck with room assignments. Our second night spent here we came in late and were assigned a room with about six beds stuffed into it. Some rooms have a view over the harbour, which is very nice. Inspect your room; if you don't like it, try to get a look at another choice--there seems a great variation. All in all, for the price, I'd definitely stay there again on another trip to Tangier. We didn't try the restaurant so can't comment on food other than the standard breakfast, which was fine albeit unexceptional. If you're driving, parking does seem available.

Room Tip: Best to arrive early, take a look at your room, and if not happy ask to switch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The endless, poetic character of this beautiful, Moorish residence, with it's maze-like corridors and many secret nooks and crannies, absorbed us and allowed us a glimpse into the 'real' world of early life in Tangier. Yes, there are certain failings, such as the knobs falling off every other drawer we tried to open and the thin layer of dust on the mirrors in the 'wardrobes' (yes, plural) but these did not detract from the overall excellence of this experience, rather they just added to the character of the place.
Our immense room was a beautiful double on the top floor, containing all Moroccan furniture. We were given a choice of a few rooms and chose this as the most Moroccan. The four piece bathroom was modern and contained both bath and shower. Clean towels and sheets were delivered and the whole room and bathroom cleaned and mopped daily.
The staff were helpful and happy and did a fabulous job all round. Breakfast (although lacking choice) on the terrace and relaxation in one of the many little rooms leading off the 'maze' interspersed with a little retail therapy in the kasbah, made for very relaxing 7 night stay.

Room Tip: Depends on your preference. The place is being gradually refurbished and most rooms now have new ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PnlpKln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This hotel is quite old and is done in traditional Morocco style. It was very interesting exploring all the public rooms downstairs and the artefacts / decor in them. The food was really good in the evening, and the lamb tangiene was nothing short of amazing. Would have tasted even better with a beer, but they didn't serve any. Breakfast was ok, although there was a big squashed fly under my croissant. Oh well, it didn't spoil the taste. The bedroom was ok, although we did get bitten a bit in the night; perhaps bed bugs?
The staff were friendly, although it would be good if they shooed off the 'guides' who try to offer their unwanted services to you, rather than just letting them follow you into the lobby! Close to the medina, and ferry port. Interesting to say the least, would come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petec84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangier, Morocco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2013

This Hotel maybe old, but it has very helpful, polite staff (even if sometimes noisy).
It is placed ideally for a Tangier stay, more-or-less in the centre of the Medina/Kasbah/old town. The beach is a 5 minute stroll along the harbour promenade, where there are numerous eating places to be found.
The hotel restaurant has French flavour, and helpful waiters and friendly Chef.
Most of the rooms are freshly renovated, and have very nice bath/wc areas. Beware, there are still some rooms to be done!
On the whole, considering position/price/customs (no alcohol) Hotel Continental is the ideal Hotel in Tangier. Many more modern chain Hotels could learn a lot from these people.
I will be back!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid 105 (still old style) Port or north side, has trafic noise. Ask for renovated room if given un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Though past it's prime, it's still worth staying here for the history, decor, and friendly staff. Easily accessible if arriving from the ferry, the hotel over looks the port. The intricate wood and tile work covers practically every inch of the hotel and is a sight seeing must whether you stay there or not. The staff were very friendly and patient given our currency and language barriers. But once we realized they spoke Spanish it smoothed things along swimmingly. Worth a night or two if just passing through (as we were). Grabbing a mint tea on the terrace at sunset is a must.

Room Tip: Get an port facing room, you'll be greeted by a beautiful Moroccan sunrise in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.4 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#7 of 43 in Tangier
687 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#20 of 43 in Tangier
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#11 of 43 in Tangier
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
2.7 mi away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: 36 Rue Dar El Baroud, Tangier 9000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tangier
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Tangier
Hotel Continental Tanger
Hotel Continental Tangier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing