We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay..”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Tangier
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay..”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our family stayed here on a very serendipitous visit to Morocco. Jimmy, owner of the gift shop, was an incredibly interesting guy who entertained the kids and their parents .....The Hotel Continental is one of the oldest hotels in Tangier, Morocco. It is located in the Medina area of the city centre and some of the rooms overlook the harbor...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GBenedict123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    250
    134
    53
    44
See reviews for
83
249
71
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Cheap for the view that u get and the fact that it's located in the old medina. Close to all the local shops that sell souvenirs and clothes and scents. Taxi rank at end of hotel walkway.

View from room was breathtaking as it overlooks the old harbour. Located across the road from the beach.

About a ten minute taxi journey and you're in the newer part where all the clubs and bars are. Ten minutes from main indoor souk that sells everything!! - majorelle.

Rooms get cleaned everyday, staff are helpful, towels and iron provided. Breakfast is buffet style with hot and cold on offer. Ranging from breads, eggs to fruit and cold meat.

Decor in hotel is beautiful and the hotel shop is like a museum. Communal areas are relaxing and spacious and resemble spacious booths, other guests can hav their own booth if they wish.

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weddadradman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed as a family in the hotel for a couple of nights and had really comfortable beds. But the hotel was pretty empty and they put us in a room far away from the main entrance. The service was horrible. When we checked out at the check out time, but our flight was later in the afternoon, we went out and got fish and food to bring back to the terrace to eat. They told us that we had to order from their menu in order to even sit there. So we ordered an orange juice and it was sooo expensive. We stayed in the hotel but were not allowed to sit on their terrace for free? That is ridiculous!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasa_Frasss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tangier hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is not a 3-star hotel. First room had a toilet mishap (gross), 2nd had no hot water nor wi-fi connection. Decent enough breakfast and friendly staff cannot make up for a very very poor experience.

Bed coverings looked about 2-3 decades old and smelled like it as well.

Yes, the hotel is historic and has some very beautiful aspects that are charming to see. The breakfast area is gorgeous and the patios overlooking the port are nice, if not a bit run down. But why not stay elsewhere and come to take pictures of its former grandeur.

When I told locals where I was staying - they were surprised and said it was not a good place to stay.

Restaurant had ok food - though double the price of what you can find in the surrounding medina (old city).

This is NOT a 3-star hotel - and don't get fooled into thinking that. It is closer to a 1-2 star hotel with visions of a 3-4 star past.

However - the staff were great and friendly and seemed to try their hardest to do something with what limited resources they have.

Room Tip: Stay away from the back of the hotel which borders on the neighbourhood with VERY loud residents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlust808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This Hotel will be appreciated by those who like that sort of atmospheric faded grandeur, hinting of another era. The rooms are large and airy, we had a balcony with great views over the port. It is situated effectively in the walls of the old-town. Very friendly service, and free WiFi. Lovely breakfast with views over the port and city. Don't expect 4-5 star service, though it is easy to imagine it was a top class hotel at one time. Everything was very clean, and location is unbeatable for wandering around the old town, casaba etc..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony facing the port for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesOnTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A hotel for those who like hotels with a history. Built in 1870. Except for the decaying beauty and history, it is like a not very well kept 2 star hotel in terms of standard and relatively expensive for that. But still... I just love old hotels from the colonial era and I'm happy to have stayed at the Continental! I even somehow like that it's not a perfectly renovated 5 star hotel. The mosaic on the walls and ceilings are fantastic! The location is great, especially if arriving with ferry from Tarifa (just 7-8 min walk). It is inside the medina and near the kashba. Staff was polite and spoke good English. Breakfast was noting to write home about. They really should serve fresh orange juice, stronger coffee and have some choice of fruit (not just water melon). But the breakfast room and adjoining terrace are wonderful! Rooms are quite basic and dated, but sufficient for sleep. WiFi worked without problem. No alcohol served at the hotel. The ground floor store is interesting as is the owner since 44 years!

Room Tip: Look at more than one room. Some rooms more dated and some smell of cigarettes. Some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gestalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and i stayed here over night to be close to the ferry port. The room was very plain and simple. No refrigerator. It seems a lot of the magic has been lost from this once luxurious and exotic hotel. You can walk around and get a feel for how it used to be because some of the detailing is truly superb. Plus John Malkovich stayed here in the 80's people!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.4 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#7 of 43 in Tangier
681 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
1.0 mi away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#10 of 43 in Tangier
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rembrandt Hotel
Rembrandt Hotel
#18 of 43 in Tangier
360 reviews
8.9 mi away
Saif Tarifa Beach
Saif Tarifa Beach
#13 of 43 in Tangier
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: 36 Rue Dar El Baroud, Tangier 9000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tangier
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Tangier
Hotel Continental Tanger
Hotel Continental Tangier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing