We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel was absolutely beautiful, right on the beach. The only negative part was we did travel during Ramadan which is the fasting period for them, this meaning that everything is closed and practically without life. The food was horrible as well as the coffee which costs 30 Dirhams (a bloody fortune). The City itself is not one of my favorite, I highly recommend traveling further south because people will rip you off here, a taxi ride shouldn't be any more than 30/40 Dirhams so be careful and make sure they turn on the taximeter!!
I do have to say that the man in charge of the hotel has an amazing level in English, he lived in Florida and New York, and he was absolutely wonderful to us!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lmavill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night here and it was wonderful. The "sea view" rooms have an unobstructed view the port and sunset. The rooms were comfortable and nicely equipped. We ordered room service and ate our dinner on the terrace. For the price we paid, we really got a lot of value. I would come back in a heartbeat.

Breakfast is luxurious, but 100 mad per person if you don't have in the room rate.

Staff is sweet, courteous, and mostly French and arabic speaking (when I visited). If you don't have a word of either, you may run into minor trouble, but they will find someone to help you.


Note: taxis call this place "hotel mogador" and the price for a taxi from the main train station should be no more than 50 mad. Probably much less.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank travellingsteenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed here for a few days at the end of May 2014.

It is a lovely hotel, very clean and as in most hotels, the maids are the nicest people.

The rooms are plush, but designed for taller people than myself. I'm 5'2" and it was an effort to climb into the lush marble bath, and I had to stand on my tip toes to brush my teeth!

I ate there a couple of times and the food was very very nice, and a good sized serving.

The staff around the hotel and pool are a bit stand offish, they need to know there's a difference between being invasive and avoiding eye contact when you are trying to get their attention for an hour or so, goodness knows how they cope when it's busy.

For some reason my room key kept deactivating and I had to get it reset in reception every day, even though it was booked for 4 days, it made me feel like they didn't trust me!!

But a lovely place in a lovely setting, beautiful views.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Destiny_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Plus points are the views, outdoor pool, peacefulness, rooms.

Negative points. Poorly designed lobby and restaurant. No bar. No indoor pool. Staff are not trained to European 5 star standard. Breakfast expensive. Location is isolated. Wifi not working in rooms. Lifts are poor.

Good value but never in a million years is this a 5 star hotel, how they have given this rating is beyond me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickgala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I booked a room in this Hotel to celebrate my 1st marriage anniversary, the Hotel in general is excellent with a wonderful view in front of the sea.
The Hotel Crew accepted to change my room to an other which has both beach & swimming pool view with a big smile they are very kind and willing to help.
The room was spacious clean and in order even small details.
The breakfast was various, plenty of choices and you can have it in the large terrace of the Hotel
moreover there is free parking for cars.....i really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Methodman_081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very agreable place with luxury rooms. Huge, terrasse on the sea at a real interesting price. Typical with a very pleasant staff , speaking French. Breakfast offers delicious fresh fruits , orange juice and local food.

Room Tip: Room 2013 is just excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CATBRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for my wedding night , we got upgraded to junior suit with amazing sea views and found the room decorated with petals and all extra bits to make it extra special at no added charge, hotel very clean and reception staff very friendly
Very good value for money compared with other hotels in the area , will be back for longer stay in the summer

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohamed32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
2.4 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
3 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
2.2 mi away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#11 of 44 in Tangier
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger
2.9 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#8 of 44 in Tangier
735 reviews
2.3 mi away
Atlas les Almohades Tanger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel

Address: 10, lot Ghandouri Bd. Med V, Tangier 90000, Morocco (Formerly Ryad Mogador Tanger)
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Price Range: £68 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stately and refined Grand Mogador Sea View & Spa is situated in front of the Mediterranean Sea, two minutes from Malabata Beach and 5 minutes from Tangier's train station. The hotel's spacious, and comfortable rooms and suites feature all the amenities of a luxury hotel. Guests can go for a swim in the inviting outdoor pool or heated indoor pool, and business travellers can make use of the three onsite meeting rooms for up to 100 guests. The complete wellness centre boasts a range of massages and health and beauty treatments in addition to the sauna, hammam, and a relaxation room. For a productive business trip or exotic holiday in Tangier, this hotel offers the ideal stay. - City attractions: Travellers might wish to view the art collections at the Museum of Moroccan Arts at the Sultanate Palace and Musee de Carmen-Macein, and visit the Tangier Grand Mosque and Kasbah Mosque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing