We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food done well”
Review of Ali Baba

Ali Baba
Ranked #35 of 229 Restaurants in Tangier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Lebanese
Restaurant details
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food done well”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It is these unassuming, budget friendly restaurants that really make all the difference to your experience of a place. Ali Baba was recommended to us by our hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The food is fresh, wholesome and of great quality. The service was friendly and quick. We ordered a plate of hummus and the couscous royale - both of which we devoured with great satisfaction. Came to around 105DH. Too easy. Would definitely return here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c-j-dob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    30
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good but lacking real quality”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I loved the service in this unpretentious little restaurant. The food was fresh but lacked some authenticity with the exception of the Falafels which were excellent. That is not to say the food was not good, it was just not very Lebanese. When we asked around there was indeed not a single Lebanese person in the restaurant. Still, you won't be disappointed if you are looking for fresh and honest food with great service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karim Samer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really excellent ”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We were a group of 8. 3 Egyptians 1 Moroccan and 4 Americans and the food was excellent. I mean breathtaking. Was an awesome change from the usual fries chicken tagine in morocco. I got falafel and fattoush and it was excellent. Best falafel the group as a whole had ever tasted, including the Egyptians who eat lots of falafel. I've lived in Lebanon for 3 years as well. My meal was 60 dirhem. About 8 dollars. Well worth the visit and right next to the beach. The owner is lebanese and gave us tea at the end of the meal for free. Great place.

Helpful?
1 Thank WillBeiruti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
1,826 reviews
1,424 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 748 helpful votes
“Excellent Moroccan/Lebanese food. ”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Restaurant suited overlooking beach front and whilst decor is rather basic , the food is amazing! Staff are warm and friendly and delightful. Restaurant is not licensed but they are happy if you want to take your own wine or beer to drink. Extensive menu with excellent display of fresh fish to choose from in addition to meat and vegetarian dishes. Great value for money. All food is freshly
prepared .

Helpful?
1 Thank Paulsmithcasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lebanese food”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We found this restaurant by accident but were extremely glad we did. It is situated on a main road and doesn't look particularly inviting. We had a tapas-style selection and ordered so much food that the waiter expressed his concern that we'd ordered too much. He obviously didn't know how much our family can eat (even at lunchtime). Everything we ordered was delicious. Half of us are veggie and our favourites were the potatoes in garlic & herbs, the thyme pizza and the tabbouleh. The meat eaters loved everything they had too. There was a wonderful fish counter where you could choose your fish but we were too full to indulge.
Probably our favourite restaurant in Morocco.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ali Baba also viewed

Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region
Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region
 
Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region
Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region
 
Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region
Tangier, Tangier-Tetouan Region
 

Been to Ali Baba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing