We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very classic and confortable Hotel with a superb view over the ocean”
Review of Le Mirage

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tangier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Mirage
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very classic and confortable Hotel with a superb view over the ocean”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

The Hotel is just upon the cave of Hercules, with a nice main door and splendid gardens around, the central swimming pool and the large terrace looking over the Atlantic. If you goes down the long stair to the beach, your contact with the ocean will be closer..some kilometers of large beachs are waiting for you, but the situation in the hotel is so confortable that you are tempted not to go away so early. The room was nice and in elegant moroccan style, as good the breakfast and the service in local style. The restaurant is a bit affected by the french style, but it's good and elegant anyway. We will try to come back there, again, even if it's not easy to get the right reservation on the right time and the final bill will not be so cheap, but...the charm is priceless :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eestijoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    30
    17
    10
    14
See reviews for
24
68
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We visited for lunch on a fine day. A large patio offers superb views of the Med including the straits and rock of Gibraltar to the northeast and the beaches and city of Tangier to the west.

Be sure to reserve a table on the terrace if the weather is fine. The Mirage is perched high on a cliff so you may need a wrap in the evening, even in summer.

This is an elegant restaurant focused on seafood. Predictably, the quality if the fish dishes is excellent. A grilled John Dory or sea bream, garnished with vegetables and a couple of boiled potatoes, accompanied with a bottle of good Moroccan wine, cannot be beaten.

We had no complaints about the reception we received or the table service.

The restaurant is twenty minutes by taxi from downtown Tangier, expensive but worth a visit if the weather is fine and you are able to secure and linger at a table on the terrace.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spencerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

While staying in Tangier we were suggested to visit the 5 stars luxury facilities of Le Mirage where we intended to lunch at the beach.
After 20' drive from Kasbah in Tangier and 15 eur taxi ride we were dropped at the door step of the Hotel.
Upon arriving none of the security and staff found necessary to greet the two of us but the unacceptable was soon to unfold as we met the receptionist .
The sumptuous entrance decor was not supported by his stressed , unfriendly behavior , which with no will to speak any other language than a poor french and plenty of arab pointed with his hand to the right side of the property... we entered the premises and we were obiouvsly directed not to the beach restaurant as we had asked but to a courtyard with beautiful views and a restaurant. we asked again the waiters , of which none seemed to speak any other language than arab and a broken french /spanish , that pointed to the left hand side of the property.
Once again we walked passed the reception but the Receptionist did not aknowledged us and kept up with his rude attitude. we walked down the stairs toward the beach hoping to be finally able to lunch when suddenly the Receptionist started shouting and waiving as he was calling back cuttle to the stables , and kept yelling and bubbling in arab all sort of things walking back to the reception were we asked explanation and to talk to a manager or someone which in a so called 5 stars de luxe hotel could communicate in english , spanish , german , portuguese , dutch , italian and chinese with the two of us ( these the languages we speak ) . he kept raising his voice walking in a out a what i suppose being the manager office ( manager on duty which did not even bother to step out his/her office and talk to us ) and offering nothing more than tension , unacceptable behavior , rudeness. We tried to explain that we came down all the way as suggested from the reception of our hotel La Tangerina which had guests visiting this hotel earlier in the week and though would be a good day trip for the two of us.
We walked out ... with the Receptionist still bubbling , the Manager on duty without having showed his face , the overwhelming smell of wet / humid carpets , the flies filling up the entrance .
We could not believe what we had just experienced and made our way down the road for a walk along the side wall of the premises.

The hotel is in the middle of no where , adjacent one of the many Royal palaces filled with guards , we walked under the scorching sun trying to find shade and a place to get a drink something that only after 30' walk was possible as we reached a restaurant .

beach is filled with garbage and plastic everywhere , sea is inhospitable , the Mirage far away looked as inhospitable as the ruff ocean ... Not worth a visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giancarlo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Our group of motor homers visited this hotel for our final meal after our month long tour of morocco .The views from the balcony are to die for and after an extensive re-modernisation program the overall look of the hotel is very impressive. .Unfortunately, the service and food quality don't as yet come up to 5 star standards. Our meals were just about European standard but not "stand out" as you would expect from a hotel of this calibre .Watch out for the prices at the bar, very expensive to say the least yet no price list seems to be available .Still we thought that as the saying goes" if you have to ask the price then you cant afford the product." That just about sums up this hotel.
Phill and Carolyn Buoy
G B Privilege
Escorted Motorhome Tours

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Our first impression was horrible. The hotel lobby is always full of flies. We could not understand why. We told the Manager the there were flies everywhere, and he just smiled, and said: yes. Apart from that, this is a nice retreat from the bustling of downtown Tangier. The hotel is very quiet, and relaxing. The views from the restaurant are amazing. The bar at sundown is a must. The rooms are roomy and nicely equipped. One minor setback is the a/c unity. It is right on top of the bed, and it gets super cold at night. The bed sheets are too thin, and you will have to turn it off. The pool is nice, but not heated; and the trip to the beach is very long.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fritz69_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We booked the hotel for a family vacation. It is more of a couple retreat hotel. More on the romantic side.
As with all the hotels we stayed in Morroco, this one also lacks in service although I have to admit was the fastest of all.
Employees at the front desk, bar and restaurants are very friendly and try to help as much as possible.
Rooms are just ok. Bed is vey hard and no proper covers for the bed to withstand the A/C.
It is a shame since it is a beautiful property and with minor improvements from the management the overall stay could be A+
It is not located "in town". You will need transportation to go to the city center in Tangier. About 8km away.
You can visit the Hercules Grotte which is a 3min walk from the hotel.
A great place for couples to relax and spend no more than 2 nights.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Because my husband and I entered to them wearing casual cloth, they look down to us. Although we came to this hotel bcause of the recent rrview posted. But seems they previouse review which criticise the attitude it still exist. The receptionist was not frindly at all. We are currently staying at the hotel. The hotel looks so stunning and has a splendid beach. Will see how it will go.
With regars to their rate, it is expensive ehich I thought I should be pampered for this value but nothing special so far.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanyandluay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
10.2 mi away
Grand Mogador Sea View - Luxury Hotel
12.2 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
7.3 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#8 of 44 in Tangier
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa de France
10.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel & Casino Malabata Tanger
8.0 mi away
Kenzi Solazur
Kenzi Solazur
#11 of 44 in Tangier
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mirage

Property: Le Mirage
Address: Grottes d_Hercule | Route de Cap Spartel, Tangier, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tangier
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Mirage 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Le Mirage Tangier
Le Mirage Hotel Tangier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing