We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all! Good value”
Review of Hotel Mamora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mamora
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Centrally located, right in the medina. Rooms are basic but clean and there's even hot water! Shared toilets could be cleaner but for the budget traveller this is acceptable.
Personnel at the reception was friendly.
Nothing special but a fair place to spend the night in Tangiers.

One thing; Our window was right next to the speaker of the neighbouring Mosque (waking us up around 4am in the morning every day). Oh well, that's part of the deal (&charm) in a islamic country right? ;)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joepsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

It is a cheap hotel: 200dh for a double room per night.
Rooms are clean and quite big. Shared Toilette (toilette paper not always available!).
Quite chaotic since it is near a mosque and in the heart of the medina.
Good for one or two night stay for "easy people".

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 19Giulio86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I'm giving this hotel a 5 star rating for the way in which they dealt with the various street hawkers etc who follow you home; walking through the door is an oasis of peace and safety.

It's not a bad hotel, good spacious rooms and very clean. Also, the location of the hotel means that you can literally walk out the door and be in the eye of the Tangier storm in seconds! We had breakfast on a corner cafe and had most meals in a lovely wee restaurant a couple of doors away.

I have very fond memories of it - handy too for the ferry from Spain.

Room Tip: Watch out for the mosque - avoid the rooms that overlook it unless you like a call to prayer in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diveforcover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

A bit like a boarding school! Large non-en-suite rooms with quaint furnishings. Room 35 catches the full blast of loudspeaker announcements from the adjoining mosque.

OK for a night or two - nothing special.

Room Tip: Avoid room 35!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReubenCamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I stayed at Hotel Mamora for one night with my wife. It is located in the Medina, which may be advantage for some people and for some not. It may be noisy at night because of pabs outside the window. It is close to the port and CTM bus stop, next to the city beach. I must say it is a really good place to stay. Rooms are big with a comfortable big bed, but a bathroom (with only a shower and a sink) was very small. Toilets are on the corridor. Water wasn't hot, just warm. But it was acceptable. We paid 200MAD for a room. Room was quite clean as for Moroccan conditions. Personnel speak English and is very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kerad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We stayed here for one night during winter holidays. Then left after the firtst night.
The room was large but not well kept and rather dirty, so were the corridors. The whole smelled , so the window had to be kept open.
There was a shower and sink in the room. Promised hot water in the morning wasn't there. Toilets on the corridor were also not inviting but ok. Though the paperholder was broken. So we took the paper to the room everytime.
There was no breakfast.
Though built into the medina, the room had a window with a nicish view over a mosque and on the fright harbour.
Staff was uninterested and not willing to give a discount for the unheld promises of hot water and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

This is a no frills spot right at the entrance of the Tangier Medina right as you are entering from the side nearest the port. The staff was very nice and showed us two rooms to choose from. The shared toilet was no problem and for one or two nights I think this hotel is a great way to save some money when you get to Morocco. A pleasant surprise considering my first impression of the place!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mauritania Centre Tanger
7.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Tanger
Ibis Budget Tanger
#25 of 44 in Tangier
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Omar Khayam
Dar Omar Khayam
#27 of 44 in Tangier
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ramada Encore Tangier
Ramada Encore Tangier
#17 of 44 in Tangier
204 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ibis Tanger Free Zone hotel
1.7 mi away
Ibis Tanger City Center
Ibis Tanger City Center
#42 of 44 in Tangier
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamora

Address: 19 Avenue Mokhatar Ahardan, Tangier 90030, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Price Range: £28 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mamora 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Mamora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing