We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what we were expecting................”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ahlen Tangier
Ranked #44 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Solihull, UK
Level 6 Contributor
717 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
“Not quite what we were expecting................”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We went on an all day excursion with TransAndulican Tours - we stopped at the Hotel Ahlen for lunch. This was an integral part of the Tour, promising an authentic experience. In truth this was a ‘packaged’ touristy experience. First we were told we would be in a tent. It was, but effectively it was a canvas banqueting set up, one of two identical facilities in the hotel grounds capable of holding 200 people each. We were promised a display of horsemanship – 2 stationery horsemen dressed in traditional costume – and musicians and belly-dancing. We also had lunch, this consisted of a vegetable soup followed by chicken and a plate of vegetables and cous-cous. Grapes for dessert, mint tea and a macaroon. These were claimed to be authentic Moroccan food – It was tasteless and greasy. The macaroon had a most peculiar taste.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    7
    8
    18
See reviews for
8
6
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

As far as hotels in Tangier go this is a good hotel to stay in. Cleanliness is not regarded highly in morrocco neither is service so for the the price this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank massison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, Ca.
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

This hotel doesn't offer
* Cable/satellite TV
* Premium TV channel(s)
* Telephone
* Refrigerator
* Minibar
* Alarm clock
Safe Deposit Box,
Hair dryer
Stay away from this place if you can

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ViajeraLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tangier hotels

Elizabeth City, NC
Level 6 Contributor
499 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2008

The Hotel Ahlen definitely needs to be overhauled/upgraded. The carpeting is stretched and soiled in the common areas; the bedrooms need better cleaning and more upscale furnishings; the tiny balconies need chairs; the bathrooms need better shower fittings and better caulking around the tubs. The personnel were friendly, and the hotel is in a fairly OK location. Breakfast was bleak: very minimally acceptable. We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The lack of cleanliness.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2007

Very disappointed. This deserves 1 or 2 stars, not the 4 stars it has
Bathrooms not very clean, hot water almost non existant. Faucet came off while turning. Pillow extremely lumpy and beds felt as if they were on a platform of cement.
Stayed here May, 2007

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Lara12372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
1.4 mi away
Sheherazade Hotel
Sheherazade Hotel
#33 of 44 in Tangier
4 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ibis Tanger Free Zone hotel
2.7 mi away
Chellah Hotel Tangier
Chellah Hotel Tangier
#39 of 44 in Tangier
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Tanger
Ibis Budget Tanger
#26 of 44 in Tangier
42 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tanjah Flandria
Tanjah Flandria
#38 of 44 in Tangier
148 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Tarik
Hotel Tarik
#40 of 44 in Tangier
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ahlen Tangier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ahlen Tangier

Property: Hotel Ahlen Tangier
Address: KM 5 Route de Rabat | Avenue Des Far, Tangier 90060, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 44 Hotels in Tangier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ahlen Tangier 3*
Number of rooms: 257
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ahlen Tangier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing