We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Dar Jameel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Jameel
Ranked #4 of 49 Tangier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at this guesthouse as I travelled to tangier. It was amazing inside, very clean and absolutely great staff. My room was on the top floor and it is very spacious. The staff were very helpful for shopping and organizing a taxi in the morning. I would stay there again.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank GrantO13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Dar Jameel is situated in the heart of the Medina and finding it was the first part of our amazing adventure, due to its labyrinth of winding alleyways. We arrived slightly earlier than expected, but were warmly greeted by the hotel manager, Iddris. He was very accommodating from the moment we walked in, offering us a glass of fresh mint tea, which was greatly appreciated after our trip.

The hotel is beautiful and decorated in traditional Moroccan design. If you're looking for an authentic place to stay, I doubt you would find much better in the area. It is adorned with classic Islamic tiling from floor to ceiling, creating a tranquil and calm atmosphere. All areas for guests continue this theme and the roof terrace offers fantastic views of the Medina, port, beach and the new city.

Our room, situated on the second floor, opposite the breakfast room (perfect distance for us!) was better than we could have ever imagined. Again beautifully decorated, with an en suite bathroom, large double bed and a large window overlooking the Medina and port. It was very spacious, clean, light and comfortable. The free access to air con was a massive added bonus.

Breakfast was super yummy and varied. I wish we could get away with eating up to 5 fresh pastry treats every morning! We were served fresh orange juice, bread, olives, jams, cheese, butter and more mint tea by the lovely members of staff, who were all very kind and attentive.

We can't recommend this wonderful hotel enough, with its perfect location, authentic feel and great staff! We can't wait to visit again. Better order in some extra pastry treats!!

Thank you :)

Room Tip: Would highly recommend booking the room we stayed in on the second floor,opposite the breakfast room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hungry_hands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

t's a beautiful riad in a great location, it's in the Medina. Good price. In a quiet alley. The family room is a good size. Breakfast is very good. Staff are very helpful. The best spot to relax and nap is on the topmost penthouse. It offers a great sea breeze most of the day. There is a slight sewer smell when we got in. You have to cover the sink with the stopper to prevent the smell lingering in the room. Also turning on the exhaust fan helps. The beds are firm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gprado00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar J, Owner at Dar Jameel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear guest, thank you for your comments about your stay at Dar Jameel. We value all guests comments and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for letting us know about the smell from the sink in the room you stayed in. We have since had the problem fixed. We hope to see you again when you are next in Tangier. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were wowed by Dar Jameel from the moment we stepped into the reception lobby. The guesthouse is incredibly beautiful, with intricate tiling and detailed molding that extends throughout the entire building, including the guestrooms. We stayed in Dar Jameel for two nights total, once at the beginning of our Morocco trip and once at the end. Both times we got lovely rooms with all the amenities (comfy beds, wifi, hair dryer, bottled water, etc.).

The rooftop terrace was gorgeous and provides a view of the ocean as well as the Medina -- the best of both worlds! There are many places to just sit and relax within the guesthouse, from the rooftop to the common room to the dining areas.

The staff at Dar Jameel were extremely courteous and professional! The guesthouse also provided us with tasty breakfasts every morning (lots of Moroccan breads).

Overall, I would highly recommend staying here if you're in Tangier! The location was perfect for us -- right on the outskirts of the Medina (but a quick walk to the markets and the Kasbah), and also a quick walk to the ocean. Also, the guesthouse is right across from the "Hotel Continental," which is a landmark in Tangier, so it's always easy to find your way back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom floors are gorgeous (with very high ceilings) but may not offer much natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zhitongz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at Dar Jameel for three great nights! We payed a little bit extra for an upstairs room with a private bath and an air conditioning unit, but it was entirely worth it! We arrived from the port in the pouring rain and were welcomed with mint tea. The men at the front desk were all so helpful! They offered dining suggestions, directions, and even recommended a barber shop. The hotel was very beautifully decorated with many common spaces and the added bonus of rooftop access. Getting breakfast served every morning was just what we needed for our long days of walking around and exploring. I would highly recommend staying at this wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra to get air conditioning and a private bath. We stayed right next to the break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at Dar Jameel for a night.

The location was great. It's walking distance from the port but inside the medina.

The breakfast was served on the top floor and quite nice.

The staff were friendly enough.... The room was clean and quite spacious.

The only drawback was that the toilet / shower was not in the room - they were private but we had to go outside our room for toilet / shower which was kind of weird.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pekopoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here in January--it was our first time in Morocco. We took the ferry over from Spain and stayed two nights before renting a car for 10 more days in Morocco. The Riad is very beautiful, with lots of original tile and woodwork; the beds were the most comfortable we slept in on the whole trip. The breakfasts were great each morning, and the view from the top floor where breakfast is served is really pleasant. Breakfast included fruit, fresh cheese, olives, yogurt (packaged) and several kinds of fresh breads, plus they will cook eggs to order.

The location is good, and once you orient yourself, it is actually very easy to find/retrace your steps. It is convenient to the main shopping streets, very easy to walk out of the medina either on the coast side (to get a cab or park) or on the side that leads to the new city (which has some good cafés/restaurants, ATM, taxis). The coast side is very close and we had our cab drop us off there, and then it was a short walk to the Riad. Have someone meet you from the Riad or you will likely have to pay a guide, since maps are so hit or miss. BUT, it is VERY close to the road, so if you must pay a guide--be firm and don't pay more than a few dollars.

Staff are very laidback; they will make restaurant recommendations and give directions when asked, but they weren't as chatty as everyone else we met during the rest of our trip--so in retrospect they seem reserved. The man at the front desk was a little reluctant to give us tips on handling the "guides", but I think because he didn't want to embarrass us by confirming that we had been ripped off by the guide that brought us to the Riad. He made a good restaurant recommendation and was really pleasant at breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tangier hotels
4.7 mi away
Mnar Castle Hotel Apartments
0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#9 of 44 in Tangier
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Minzah Hotel
El Minzah Hotel
#8 of 44 in Tangier
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dar Chams Tanja
Dar Chams Tanja
#1 of 49 in Tangier
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar El Kasbah
Dar El Kasbah
#9 of 49 in Tangier
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Sultan
Dar Sultan
#5 of 49 in Tangier
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Jameel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Jameel

Address: No.6, Rue Mohammed Berghach | Oued Arhadan, Dar Baroud, Tanger, Tangier 90000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Tangier-Tetouan Region > Tangier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Tangier
Price Range: £38 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Jameel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Jameel, the House of Grace and Beauty, your sanctuary in the medina of Tangier, is a beautifully restored, traditional riad style guest house on the edge of the medina next to Tanger Ville maritime port.. An oasis of peace and tranquillity, Dar Jameel is a secure, intimate and calm space amid the bustling life of the medina and is ideally located near the International Port, the town beach and the new town. Wi-fi is available throughout the house. The house is built on five levels with eight large bedrooms, six with with bathrooms inside the rooms and two with external private bathrooms near the rooms. By January 2017, all rooms will be en-suite. The house is richly decorated in traditional Fes style,with magnificent stucco ceilings combined with a more modern Moroccan look. There is a large terrace, where a relaxation room with 360 degree views to Spain, the Bay of Tangier and the medina, is located. There are a number of steps inside the house, therefore, travellers with mobility issues are advised to reserve rooms on lower floors. There are many communal areas to rest, read or simply enjoy the view located throughout the house. There is a small library and a collection of music CD's or a bluetooth soundsystem to play your personal preferences. A generous breakfast is included in the price of rooms. Local, organic food is used whenever possible.Multi-lingual staff are available 24/7 to answer your needs. Dinner for groups of six or more can be provided when ordered in advance. A personal laundry service is also available at a small charge per item. Dar Jameel recommends that you use only trusted registered guides and taxi services. A list of these and other tourist information is available from the reception area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Jameel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Jameel Hotel Tangier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing