We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read the fine print (if you can find it)”
Review of Blue Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Pearl Hotel
Ranked #73 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Booked this hotel via the internet for the evening of 7/16/2013, with an assurance on the booking page that the reservation was cancellable within a reasonable amount of time prior to arrival. However, last May (or was it April?) when I went to cancel, I was informed (on a page that could be accessed only after the reservation had been made) that the reservation was such that it could not be cancelled at all. Moral: book ahead with a reputable chain.

Room Tip: Try the New Africa in downtown Dar instead. It's reasonably priced and centrally located; the s...
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank LeeB613_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

This hotel is located on the outskirt of the city centre, around 10km from the city centre. The whole area is a mixed development with some shops and commercial spaces, and office blocks. Parking is available and secured. However, the surrounding area doesn’t seem to be that safe, hence please be careful if you intend to go out, especially in the evening.
Although the hotel has signed of aging, it is quite welcoming and the hotel is rather clean. The lobby area is huge, and not the sort of cramped into a small area. Plenty of seating places to unwind. Next to it is the restaurant where the buffet breakfast is served from 5.30am – that is pretty early, but you need to leave early if you want to be in the city centre by 8am,or even if you have to travel to the airport. The traffic jam is pretty bad due to major roadworks, and plenty of potholes on the road.
The room has a small kitchenette complete with microwave, fridge, toaster and cutlery. The room is spacious and the bed is nice and firm. However, the pillow is way too soft for my liking. The bathroom is decent with a bathtub, though it is a bit small. Plenty of space in the cupboard as well.
There is a swimming pool on the rooftop where you can have a 360degree view of the area. The walkway to the pool is also filled with flowers, and there are plenty of seats available. There is a small gym on the 12th floor – you have to go through the gym to get to the pool.
At USD78 / night,I think it is a bargain and would recommend for those on leisure and no need to be in the city centre very early in the morning. However, there is no free internet available.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The good - nice little pool with great views on the roof.

The OK
Rooms large and clean
Food at dinner quite good
Breakfast ok,
No safes in the rooms, but security boxes are available on the ground floor.
Some staff very helpful, others didn't seem to know they were doing

The not so good
Traffic to the airport is a nightmare, partly due to the road works. Allow two hours in the evening.
There is a partly built church next door that plays very loud noise from early in the morning - it is not music - just noise - start the day with a headache!
The surrounding area is not particularly safe, the nearby bus station attracts thieves.
My room had good wired internet, but no hot water. A friend had hot water but no internet. They are happy to sell you internet time whether of not it is available so check before you buy a ticket.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cr7London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K, Manager at Blue Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking time to comment on our facilities. We are delighted that you enjoyed our meals, our spacious rooms and swimming pool, that has a great panoramic view of Dar es Salaam skyline. We have already engaged the church about the noise and are happy to announce that an amicable solution has been reached and none of our guests will start the day with a headache!. We have also raised our data bandwidth making it very fast and it is now free to our in house guests. Bus terminals are notorious world over for thieves, so our advice if wanting to catch a bus, even though we are so close, is to use a Blue Pearl Hotel taxi to assist you. I have just started with the hotel and am upgrading all the facilities so feedback from our clients is invaluable to me in this task.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Really did not enjoy my time here, 2 nights, on the way to Arusha and on the way back to JHB. First nights room was bad. Duvet cover dirty, pillow case dirty and the water pressure in shower poor. Aircon not working properly. The food was below average as well. Close to the airport but the traffic is a nightmare. Took me 2 and a half hours to get to the hotel from the airport. Will not book this hotel ever again. Breakfast had no choices, better of eating somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

There is not much to add to the previous two dots (poor) ratings! The hotel is just not worth the money. In addition to that the hotel tries to make money whenever possible, for instance selling overpriced internet vouchers when the internet does not work. On top of that I was billed twice on my credit card. There are much better places to stay, eg "Holiday Inn"!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariskaZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Was visiting Dar on business for a couple of weeks and was put up here thinking it was closer to where I had to visit. The rooms are spacious but needs renovation in the near future. Midway between airport and city center. Ground floor has some shops and a conference center. You have to pay separately for wi-fi which was slow. Single bhk apartment around 120 USD. Definiely overpriced. Nothing much to see around the Ubungo plaza area either. If all the other hotels are booked near the city center, the go for this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahesh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Recently spent five days here for a conference for work and found the hotel to be very subpar in many regards. I will agree that the price is not bad at $95 per night for a single, and the room furniture decor is also nice. Beyond that things start to go downhill.

1. The wifi is beyond terrible. Even if you get a signal, it only works about 25% of the time. Speeds are slow. In the rooms, many colleagues could not get it to work at all. In mine, I had to sit next to the door as it wouldn't work in the bedroom area.

2. The food is awful. I ate all my meals here between the conference lunches and room service for dinner. Nothing was of high quality although it was affordable. Conference coffee breaks served food like fish sandwiches, meatballs, pastries, and potato chips. A very strange combo and not tasty at all. With nothing else close, you're pretty much forced to eat the food here.

3. The air conditioning in the rooms only works for about 10-12 hours a day and at random times. Sometimes I would wake sweating other times freezing. You couldn't control when it went off and it was never the same time day to day.

4. The hotel is generally run down. Although rooms are not bad, hallways, elevators, conference space, etc looks likes it's from the 80s with no improvements. Elevators have concrete floors. Conference space was hot and dingy.

5. Some staff were friendly but the majority just seemed untrained in hospitality.

6. Check out the bar and the stores. They are laughable.
Overall this hotel is dumpy and not worth the cheap price. Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TTapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
4.4 mi away
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
#43 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
168 reviews
0 mi away
Butterfly Hotel
Butterfly Hotel
#46 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
5 reviews
7.7 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#28 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#36 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
150 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel
Sleep Inn Hotel
#67 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
79 reviews
5 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#11 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Pearl Hotel

Address: Morogoro Road, Ubungo Plaza | P.O. Box 4868, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £56 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Pearl Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the blossoming Ubungo area in Dar es Salaam, the Blue Pearl Hotel & Apartments is the largest all apartment-suite style hotel in the country and offers a wide selection of luxurious suites, conference venue and fine dining. We offer the best of business, leisure and luxury in the area with excellent amenities including the only rooftop swimming pool in Dar es Salaam. All of our spacious suites include air-conditioning, large beds, Wi-Fi and continental breakfast served from 6am to 10am in the Famished Restaurant. Our proximity to the Dar es Salaam University Campus and Mlimani City Shopping Centre as well as inter-city bus and train stations makes us a premier destination for travellers, business people and conference groups. For Luxury and Value, visit The Blue Pearl Hotel & Apartments – The Largest Apartment Hotel and Premiere Conference Destination in the Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing