We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great prices and Ok if you are a seasoned travellor and not picky” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Pearl Hotel
Ranked #75 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Great prices and Ok if you are a seasoned travellor and not picky”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

This is not a European or North Amercia standards hotel. That said, the rooms are spacious (has a kitchenette) and the bathrooms well appointed. Also the roof top swimming pool comes with a fantastic view of the entire city of Dar. As a result of the management being Pakistani and muslim, the Indian food is good and there is a marked absence of pork. Onthe flip side there is a plentiful bar complete with OK prices. If you want to eat food other than Indian beware - the chef has not perfected (by any stretch of the imagination) any other kind of food. You are best to stick to chicken or vegetarian dishes. The fish is overcooked, unfortunately, and always deep fried (a shame). Don't even get me going on the beef - avoid at all costs (of course that goes for the continent of Africa in general, not just this hotel).
Bring ear plugs, as there are several churches behind the hotel, and they like to sing at the top of their lungs with the additonal aid of loud speakers, cranked to the max! That said, it can be quite nice, once in a while.
The hotel it attached to a mall so there is an opportunity to exchange money at one of the three banks in the mall(I had not problems at all). Also there is a vodacom shop to obtain a sim card and usage cell phone credits (another bonus). As a white woman travelling solo, I did not feel safe venturing outside the hotel. That said, I had a driver provided to me during my stay, and I felt safe with him. Some of the white men staying at the hotel did not feel threatened walking outside during the daylight. There is a (European style) groceriy store (ShopRite) and mall just 10 minutes away where you can get just about anything you need. While you cannot cook full meals in the hotel room (no burner) you can stock up on water, juices, fruits and veggies. I often made salads to take for lunch as everything is deep fried in the cafeterias. No problems walking through this mall on my own.
Although the internet was not free 14,000 TSh a week (about $9.00 u.s.) it was fairly reliable in the lobby and to a lesser extent in the room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdonald58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    29
    21
    8
See reviews for
5
9
10
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

Big rooms, in fact very big but no WIFI except in the lobby. Rooms are clean - I found no rats or cockroaches there.

But the communal areas, especially the bar and dining area, are over-run with cockroaches of all sizes.

As for rats - keep an eye on the loud speaker on the wall at the end of the bar and watch them come and go.

Overall though it was better than Peacock Millenium Towers

Otherwise, it was convenient for my visit and dispensed with the daily fight with Dar's traffic.

Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KucheKuche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambodia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

The price charged by Hotels in Dar es Salaam is, in general, quite outrageous. They generally offer very little and want the earth for it. The Blue Pearl have recently hired a Guest Relations Manager, (Sikander) and they do seem to be turning things around as this guy takes his job quite seriously. While they are still a little overpriced on their rooms, they are probably the best of a bad lot when it comes to value for your dollar.

Check the room before you pay. Make sure things are as you want them. It is not difficult. When I checked in they wanted US$85 for a room which I would have thought twice about at US$50. Eventually they gave me a 2 bedroom suite for $85 and that was a very good deal as the suite is very nice and very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Amina, our room maid is quite meticulous and is a very pleasant and polite young lady.

Food is safe to eat and quite good. The breakfast buffet is satisfactory, not brilliant but quite good. Dinners in the evening have been splendid with a wide range on offer, but it is more homestyle than up market western style. The good thing is that it is substance more than appearance, but very good and reasonably priced. Internet is unreliable, but I had a 24 hour connection put on and even though it is slow, one has to accept where we are.

Generally, I am very happy with the service and the friendly staff. However, what makes it all work good for me is Sikander, the Guest Relations Manager. One word to this fellow and things get done.

I do recommend the Hotel and will be using it in future whenever I am in Dar. My main advice is be honest about what you want and what you expect and accept nothing less. If a hotel wants to charge the rates being asked, then they should provide service that is commensurate with what they ask. I do have that here.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kfsccb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

"I was with a small group of friends.The room was spacious actually a 2 bedroom apt. good housekeeping but charged an additional fee for it @ checkout.The food on the buffet was pretty good considering the variety and I didn't get sick big plus ;some nights better than others. I was upset because we were told a business center was present was not there offered free wifi for first 4 days then charged 3000 tshillings not a lot $1.50 but it's the principle and lousy access @ that..There was not great service overall @ the restaurant and felt harassed when eating @ the buffet by upper level mgmt. who are all Indian not African.The location is horrible spent so much money taking taxis; is in a local industrial area NOT SAFE to walk outside past the hotel.My two friends were accosted and harassed by a large group of men @ the bus stop. Not a good tourist hotel.Stay in the City Centre my friends booked and paid in advance only reason I tolerated it for 8 days!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Runaroundgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

We paid R96 for a very comfortable double room with kitchen and decent bathroom(with one glass!).Aircon was so-so when the hotel was full.Very wholesome plain food available nightly at the buffet-help yourself at a reasonable price.A good deal for the money.Have a Kilimanjaro Lager!!!And remember "Polepole"(slowly,slowly).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savannah
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

Was very large with 3 big rooms, and very clean. Buffet was good, they have wireless internet in the lobby (slow, but hey TIA!) It is also right next to the bus station.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pastorbillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

OK, the title is probably a bit headline-grabbing but this hotel would not be advisable for anyone expecting a european level of service. The staff try to be friendly, and mostly are, but when the manager is away they are very difficult to find.
One of my colleagues had a rat living in his room for a few days; the staff assured him that the rat had been 'dealt with' but we left the next day and never found out.
Frequent power cuts become uncomfortable when the temperature starts to rise with the lack of air conditioning - also there are no emergency lights on the stairs. I had to negotiate a 13 floor trek down dark unlit stairs to get breakfast!!!! Not good.
On the plus sign, yes there is one, they have two very nce pool tables. All the cues are bent and in need of replacement, and there's no chalk, but there are pool tables! The pool on the roof is quite nice too - a great view!
I would not recommend walking anywhere outside the hotel - it is notorious as a bad area. I took a taxi to visit the Engen gas station over the road. This is a bad part of town!
Basically this is a hotel trying to be a 4* but barely making a 3*. A little more effort and it could be good!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghenghiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
7.7 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#45 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
5.0 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#32 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#28 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
5.1 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#19 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Nikko Tower
Hotel Nikko Tower
#29 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Pearl Hotel

Property: Blue Pearl Hotel
Address: Morogoro Road, Ubungo Plaza | P.O. Box 4868, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 103 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Pearl Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the blossoming Ubungo area in Dar es Salaam, the Blue Pearl Hotel & Apartments is the largest all apartment-suite style hotel in the country and offers a wide selection of luxurious suites, conference venue and fine dining. We offer the best of business, leisure and luxury in the area with excellent amenities including the only rooftop swimming pool in Dar es Salaam. All of our spacious suites include air-conditioning, large beds, Wi-Fi and continental breakfast served from 6am to 10am in the Famished Restaurant. Our proximity to the Dar es Salaam University Campus and Mlimani City Shopping Centre as well as inter-city bus and train stations makes us a premier destination for travellers, business people and conference groups. For Luxury and Value, visit The Blue Pearl Hotel & Apartments – The Largest Apartment Hotel and Premiere Conference Destination in the Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Jovago.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing