We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Hotel Slipway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Slipway
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This was my ninth or tenth time to Dar es Salaam and I usually go for safe bet business hotels in the upper range since the city is not known for outstanding hospitality. The only problems with this sort of hotels is the fact that they are generic and expensive.

A few weeks ago a friend of mine had told me about a place I did not even know existed: Hotel Slipway. It seems it has re-opened rather recently under a new management. The rates looked very interesting so I gave it a try.

The hotel is located on a Peninsula, about 10km from 'Bongo' down town. While the surroundings have a bit of an industrial feel (there seems to be sort of a boat yard that could do with a facelift) the hotel itself is nicely set close to the ocean and offers great sunset views (there actually is a very decent restaurant right by the sea; at high tide you can wet your toes in the water over a really nice meal).

The hotel's amenities are not five-star, but everything works and staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are a bit small but this is compensated by the fact that you can step out and find yourself in a busy public space with shops, banks, a hairdresser, plenty of souvenir shops and a couple of restaurants. The place is distinctly different from the business hotels I used to frequent - and certainly more African. On Sundays there is an invasion of people from all walks of life all coming for that very special sunset and for a popular kids' playground. It gives the area a feel of carnival and it can become a bit noisy in the early evening hours. The flip side is a truly interesting kaleidoscope of people all having a great time out, and if you happen to be there you better join the crowd.

All in all I was very pleased with the experience, certainly as far as value for money goes. As I was checking out I overheard the receptionist tell several arriving guests: 'Sorry, we are fully booked', so they must be doing something right. I recommend Hotel Slipway and I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arve44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

I realize that there are not that many good hotel choices in Dar and I guess this is why people put up with The Slipway, which my witty British colleague dubbed “The Slipshod.” Where to begin? I booked transport from the airport to the hotel through The Slipway and upon arrival there was no one there to pick me up. As a woman alone traveling on business arriving in Dar after 9 pm, I was left to improvise my own arrangements at the airport, and no apology or explanation was ever offered by the the hotel. When I finally got to the hotel at about 10, the woman at the reception desk asked that I pay my entire two-week stay in full before I even saw the room. When I said that I travel frequently and that this was highly irregular, she backed down. Nice welcome to Dar from the hotel!

The internet at the Slipway (accessed through an old cable in the room that kept slipping out of my laptop; there is no wireless), which the manager brags is free, only works about half the time (but it’s free!). The mini-fridge in my room stopped working for a few days and I assumed it was broken. When I eventually pulled the fridge away from the wall, I saw that it had been unplugged by the staff during the week. I guess the staff thought I didn’t deserve to have the fridge on, in spite of the fact that I had bottles of water and yogurt in it.

Another morning I awoke to find no running water for showering or brushing my teeth. I called the reception desk several times to ask for a bucket of water for bathing. The staff seemed baffled as to why I would want one and instead finally sent up two 1.5-liter bottles of drinking water sans bucket. Again, no apology or compensation was provided to guests.

At the end of my two-week stay, I went to Zanzibar for four days. Before leaving I booked a room for the last evening I would spend in Dar before my flight out. I was given the same rate that I had paid during my stay. When I came back from Zanzibar, I was informed that the person who booked my room should not have given me the two-week rate and that since I had left the hotel for four days, I would have to pay the same rate as if I had just arrived. When I asked to speak to the manager, he smirked and said rules are rules, no exceptions: I would have to pay the higher rate no matter what his staff told me, and that if I didn’t like it I was free to leave. I explained that I would be coming back to Tanzania for the next four years for a project and it didn’t seem to make good business sense to alienate a customer over a small amount of money. But evidently $15 was worth more to this small-minded manager than admitting his staff had been wrong or being gracious to a guest who had just spent almost $2,000 at his establishment.

I have traveled extensively in Africa on business over the past four years, but the arrogance and high-handedness of “The Slipshod” is truly exceptional. I will not be returning to this hotel and neither will my colleagues.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jcmauburkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

A warm reception and comfortable rooms but
the manager is absent or untrained.
The pleasant dining waiter needs a uniform! instead of a dirty shirt.
Our in-rooom tea/coffee station wasn't complete for the 2 nights we stayed...no sugar
or no coffee.
Our friends next door had another guest entering their room with a computerized card!?
Management needs waking up.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porini64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I arrived at Dar es Salaam Airport on a hot and steamy afternoon. Getting out of the arrival hall was challenging and somewhat tiring. What a refreshing experience it was, after an hour's taxi ride in heavy traffic, to eventually arrive at Hotel Slipway!

Entering the small but stylish reception hall I was greeted by friendly faces who immediately made me feel at home. My room (54 on the top floor) had a small balcony overlooking the ocean. The room was not super spacious but clean and had everything I needed (internet, sports & news channels, a functioning A/C and a small fridge).

The really good news comes when one steps out of the hotel. The Slipway is a lively compound offering all kinds of amenities from banks to souvenir shops. I particularly liked the book shop on the ground floor. And, of course, the Waterfront restaurant which must have one of the most stunning views for any restaurant on this planet.

I spent 4 days at the Slipway and enjoyed them thoroughly. The whole atmosphere is warm and friendly, the hotel's staff are always there to help. When I took the taxi back to the airport I knew that I had just left an oasis. I shall sure be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 134zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

My room was usd130/night, payable in advance. Overlooked a quiet open area and on to the ocean.. a comfy room and with all facilities nearby. The whole area has character, space, friendliness, colour and a short pier for a sunset walk. Dar is hot and humid so western comforts, and a sea breeze by the waterfront bar, are appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aeoliansands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The Slipway is a convenient, reasonably priced accommodation, the rooms are comfortable and clean and the AC and hot water actually work with restaurants and coffee shops within the complex as well as numerous shops selling collectibles and keepsakes, a safe and reliable option when traveling through Dar on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We had been to Dar es Salaam a week before while my husband was on a business trip and stayed at another hotel. Needless to say, even though the other hotel had a pool, it did not offer anything else that my children were interested in. The Slipway had comfortable rooms, and there were lots of things on site and nearby that I could do to keep my children busy while we were there - a playground, restaurants, bank, travel agency, bookstore, grocery store, and the kiosk markets (both there and down the road). We went for a walk every morning to see what the fishermen and women caught. One day, we took the ferry to Bongoyo Island and stayed all day to play on the beach!

The staff was wonderful! Our room was cleaned every day. Every time I needed laundry done, it came back within 3 hours (plus it was cheaper than all of the other places we had stayed in!)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephanieMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
511 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
1.2 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#3 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
5.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#7 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
364 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
#13 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slipway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slipway

Address: Slipway Road | Msasani Bay, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £91 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Slipway 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slipway is ideally located just 7km from the Dar es Salaam city centre on the posh Msasani peninsula, right on the Indian Ocean overlooking Msasani Bay. It offers best value for money accommodation in this upmarket neighbourhood. The hotel is integrated into the Slipway complex, which provides a wide range of amenities including various dining options and everything a traveler needs. Within its vicinity are a selection of popular shopping, dining and nightlife destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Jovago.com so you can book your Hotel Slipway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing