We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and good value for money!”
Review of Hotel Slipway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Slipway
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2013

It is located on the peninsula and is close to all the embassies. Good location, good value for money, nice shopping centre/mall right below where you can buy souvenirs, food, books, etc. They have internet, even though it quite often does not work.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the new wing, much better air-condition and nicer and newer setup!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
Thank FelixBorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasScherer, Manager at Hotel Slipway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Hello Felix - thanks for the good review.

Regarding the quality of internet access: we have over the past few weeks upgraded our system, which may have led to some temporary instability. We are, however, very pleased with the outcome. Since the switch was completed up-time has been 100%, and the speed has increased quite substantially. Lastly, the coverage is now wireless throughout the hotel.

We hope you will come and try on your next visit and will share your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

My favorite place to stay in Dar. Right on the water - beautiful location. Lots of shops and things to do. Rooms are adequate and reasonably priced. Breakfast a bit boring, but not a biggie for me. It is a great place to stay for business and leisure. It is near a lot of the embassies. Great place to meet up with people.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraBorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasScherer, Manager at Hotel Slipway, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear Laura

Thank you for your positive review of Hotel Slipway.

On the issue of breakfast: you may have seen that we are in the final stages of building a swimming pool. Once this is done breakfast will be served al fresco right next to it.

With the changed location comes a new menu. We hope that both aspects together will make the breakfast a lovely new experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Overall a great location and nice rooms, but they often do not have a manager on site in the evenings. Perhaps to be expected of a smaller operation, but makes it highly inconvenient for travelers with issues on internet connectivity or billing issues after 4pm!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a good choice for families or female travellers especially. It is located is a slightly remote part of Dar, which is great if you do not plan to go out at night. There are 4 restaurants, a mall, a currency change office, a jewelry store, an ice cream and a shisa place, a library, many curios and even a travel agency on site! The view on Msasani Bay is just wonderful, to top it up.

The only disadvantages would be the size of the rooms (ok but not big) and the fact that they have been under renovation for years! But it's for a good reason, and a great swimming pool should be available soon!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djarabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed just one night. Right on the seafront. Located within a shopping complex.
Rooms were clean and comfortable. Shower area was a bit less roomy. But was clean.
Room was comfortable overall.
Hotel need to replace blinds facing sea because it is made of glass and leaks cool air of air conditioner out.
Summary . Good place for short and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharnjit_Sondh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I have stayed at Slipway a number of times while in Dar es Salaam on business, most recently for two weeks in January 2013. I feel safe and comfortable there and the staff are always very friendly and kind. I was staying in the new part of the hotel, overlooking the sea. The simplicity of the room appeals to me and everything was in good working order. The complex has several restaurants, and the Waterfront is in a beautiful situation. I also enjoy the Japanese restaurant. It’s fun to browse in the adjacent craft market. The completion of the swimming pool will enhance the hotel a lot.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJMdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Stayed at the slipway for 1 night while on a business trip very nice place basic but nice the restaurant the dolphin one about 400 yards away had a nice view of the sea and nice food also nice walk along the beach front

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
0.9 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#6 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
496 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
5.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
352 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slipway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slipway

Address: Slipway Road | Msasani Bay, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £91 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Slipway 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slipway is ideally located just 7km from the Dar es Salaam city centre on the posh Msasani peninsula, right on the Indian Ocean overlooking Msasani Bay. It offers best value for money accommodation in this upmarket neighbourhood. The hotel is integrated into the Slipway complex, which provides a wide range of amenities including various dining options and everything a traveler needs. Within its vicinity are a selection of popular shopping, dining and nightlife destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Jovago.com so you can book your Hotel Slipway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing