We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Slipway
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Cliff Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seascape Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$325
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western CBD Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Suites(Dar es Salaam)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveller rating
121
141
75
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
141
75
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterfront restaurantbongoyo islandsouvenir shopsnew sectionshopping complexhotel areabusiness tripno lifttravel agentrooms are basicsea viewthe hotel managersmall rooma wonderful stayindian oceanbusiness travelernice pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 366 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Slipway hotel is a lovely place to stay. The rooms have air conditioning, the views of the sunset and harbour are lovely and the staff are generally helpful and efficient. I chose this hotel because of it's location in Dar and also from the reviews on this website. A few things I found disappointing were; the shower didn't have hot water until the morning after I'd checked in, the tv reception was terrible and the wi-fi didn't connect. I was too tired to point this out to the receptionist and crashed early. The next morning breakfast was served in what can only be described as a building site. Workmen hammering and drilling and the food and serving staff looked like you'd asked them to sell their children when asking for the sausages and beans to be topped up! Overall the hotel is clean, pleasant and has lovely views but it does need to scrub up on it's breakfast location as this was most disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyray38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight in this hotel on our way home from our African adventure. We knew it was a long way from the airport but it was recommended to us and we enjoyed our stay once we got there. It had a good sized room, free Internet that actually worked and it was right near some shops and restaurants. It even had air conditioning that worked well. There was nothing to complain about it at all. If you are used to 5 star then you probably won't be happy but it was a good place to stay short-term. As we had to leave before breakfast I cannot comment on the food but understand from others that had breakfast there, it is very good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albertameev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I've stayed at Slipway several times and it's continually improving. Several years ago they upgraded all the rooms in the main building, so they're now equipped with all you need and tastefully decorated. You can choose smallish rooms facing the sea or larger rooms facing the car park, which is now much quieter than before as access is restricted to hotel guests and taxis.

Breakfast is now served at a large covered area below the hotel and is much improved on the previous arrangement. Really a great spread of food - fresh strawberries and smoked sailfish every day!

My only gripe, and it's a small one, is the additional Tourism Levy that is added to your bill on checkout. It only comes to $1.50 per day, so why not just include it in the rate? It's tedious to have to pay this when you're leaving for the airport and trying to use up your small currency, and then it's recorded on a separate receipt from the room, which makes it hard for business travellers to claim from their employer.

Room Tip: Main building has the best rooms. The larger rooms are rear-facing, towards the car park.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Africahand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is a good value hotel in a fantastic location, right above the shops and restaurants of the Slipway area, which makes it perfect to come back to after a day of meetings - lots of choice about where to eat, and the perfect place for a sundowner.

It's fairly basic but very clean, with aircon and mosquito nets, and the service was really good. Paying by card is a bit of a pain because their machine often cuts out, but I doubt this is much to do with the hotel. Despite many of the rooms opening directly into the open atrium/stairwells of the craft centre it feels very safe. Wifi unfortunately pretty patchy outside the main building.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I booked this hotel as I have been to Slipway complex before.

This hotel is suitable for a short stay, clean, friendly service and close to restaurants and town.

Don’t expect a 5 star rating for the price, but if one is accustomed to African 5 star hotels, who’s rating had been done in the 70’s, then this will be by far much better.

The rooms are clean, simple, but work well.
The staff is friendly, and they do try.
WiFi is free and in all rooms, and the signal is very fast and stable.
Breakfast is good, fruit, yoghurt, juices, eggs, breads, cold meats and cheese etc

There is a Supermarket in the Slipway complex where one can purchase additional things one might need, snacks, water, toiletries etc.

Slipway complex has an abundant number of gift shops, there is a cellphone shop, library, travel company, restaurants, even a hairdresser.

Overall I would stay here again and would recommend this a a suitable short trip stay.

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms with a balcony
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fbenettolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews