We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”
Review of Hotel Slipway

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Slipway
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Lusaka
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Slipway was our destination for the final night of our trip to Zanzibar, which owing to flight departure times required an overnight stay in Dar. I hadn't quite realised the distance from the airport, or how horrendous the traffic would be, but this certainly isn't the fault of Slipway.

However, having sat in traffic for the best part of two hours (yes - really!!), the mood on arrival wasn't great! The attitude of the staff at check-in was surly, for want of a better word, and although the process was fairly painless, it didn't spark a great excitement for being in their company, or lift our mood. Some key low-lights:

Room was really small - and VERY dated throughout! En-suite also quite grubby.
No room service (you can't even order a drink from one of the nearby restaurants as the hotel has no bar! It seems they have no "agreements" with any of the eateries?)
Our air-conditioner froze up during the night, and then started making "cracking" noises in the middle of the night, and had leaked everywhere. This was in the second room of our one night stay, as the first looked straight out into a wall - and that air-con didn't work.
Switched on the shower only to realise that the head wasn't tight, so the entire bathroom was soaked; you then had to hold the shower head to keep it still, or turn the pressure down to a dribble.
No tea or coffee in the rooms, which when you have a 5am departure is essential; strangely there was a kettle and cups though!
When we asked if they would pack us a breakfast as we had a really early departure, the response was that they can only do that with 48hours notice (this said, despite them knowing for over a month before our arrival that we were departing at 0500hrs!)

I'm not sure what you have to do to get a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence; whatever it is, I didn't see the evidence of it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Benj0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    130
    63
    12
    11
See reviews for
39
76
26
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel has many assets: the rooms are spacious and clean (and several have a beautiful sea view); the service is friendly; the price is reasonable. Though located far from the business center of Dar es Salaam, it is close to the sea, to a shopping center, and to some practical eateries. The internet functions well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilindoni, Pwani, Tanzania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

based on Mafia Island, i have stayed at the slipway several times when on business in Dar.

The slipway is extremely well located and excellent for some urgent retail therapy especially when you've been holed up on an island for 6 months!

The staff are really friendly and always have a smile on their face which is really pleasant.

Recently the breakfast has moved and has improved by leaps and bounds! The croissants are some of the best i have tasted outside of France - I was really pleasantly surprised! Although we didn't get to use the pool it was really a nice to know that it was available to us and when we had a look, it is in a great location.

Although I feel slipway has improved greatly I still feel that the price (which has been increased) is still a little high for what you receive. There are quite similar accommodations nearby which are half the price.

All in all, was quite impressed. the location is great and we had a really nice view from our room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danii K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I stayed at Hotel Slipway for 2 nights for work meetings and had a very enjoyable experience. My room was small but clean and nice. Air con worked great as did wifi and plenty of hot water in the shower. I had a nice view of the bay from my window and the breakfast buffet was fantastic. The staff was friendly and helpful but didn't seem to have a lot of information about things to do in the area. Just at the end of the walkway there is a dock where a boat leaves for Bongoyo Island a few times a day--this was a nice way to spend a Sunday afternoon. The shops are touristy and a bit expensive but convenient if you just need to grab a small gift for someone back home. I had dinner at the Waterfront restaurant and at Hotel Slipway's restaurant and although I enjoyed both, I was impressed with the uniqueness of the meal I had at Hotel Slipway. On my last day my flight didn't leave Dar until midnight so I tried to book my room for day use, but the hotel was fully booked that day. The staff was happy to hold my bag and let me use the pool in the afternoon after my meetings. There are nice pool showers as well. If you stay here my biggest suggestion would be to try to get out and see some of the real Dar.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The place is pleasant, located within a shopping mall, clean rooms and prices are affordable. There's a waterfront restaurant next door, great place to sit out and enjoy the beach view. They serve great seafoods too.

Room Tip: rooms on the mall side are exposed to strong wind and rain water could enter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hector J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Slipway hotel is a lovely place to stay. The rooms have air conditioning, the views of the sunset and harbour are lovely and the staff are generally helpful and efficient. I chose this hotel because of it's location in Dar and also from the reviews on this website. A few things I found disappointing were; the shower didn't have hot water until the morning after I'd checked in, the tv reception was terrible and the wi-fi didn't connect. I was too tired to point this out to the receptionist and crashed early. The next morning breakfast was served in what can only be described as a building site. Workmen hammering and drilling and the food and serving staff looked like you'd asked them to sell their children when asking for the sausages and beans to be topped up! Overall the hotel is clean, pleasant and has lovely views but it does need to scrub up on it's breakfast location as this was most disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyray38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camrose, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight in this hotel on our way home from our African adventure. We knew it was a long way from the airport but it was recommended to us and we enjoyed our stay once we got there. It had a good sized room, free Internet that actually worked and it was right near some shops and restaurants. It even had air conditioning that worked well. There was nothing to complain about it at all. If you are used to 5 star then you probably won't be happy but it was a good place to stay short-term. As we had to leave before breakfast I cannot comment on the food but understand from others that had breakfast there, it is very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albertameev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
3.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
5.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
652 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
473 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#9 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slipway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slipway

Property: Hotel Slipway
Address: Slipway Road | Msasani Bay, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Slipway 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Slipway is ideally located just 7km from the Dar es Salaam city centre on the posh Msasani peninsula, right on the Indian Ocean overlooking Msasani Bay. It offers best value for money accommodation in this upmarket neighbourhood. The hotel is integrated into the Slipway complex, which provides a wide range of amenities including various dining options and everything a traveler needs. Within its vicinity are a selection of popular shopping, dining and nightlife destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Hotel Slipway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing