We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Dirty bathrooms, salty bath water, I had a leaking room 301, food not really fresh, management mediocre but good staff.
On arrival my passport was confiscated as guarantee and was forced to pay full amount for the week up front.
When later in the week ( the hotel was practically empty during the week) I gave 24 hours notice that I wanted to leave, was denied a refund, the manager said you can leave if you wish, but you won't get any money back. I had to endure a terrible week in the middle of nowhere.

Overpriced rubbish, I wouldn't recommend!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sokomoko24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBR_FO_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Guest,

We are sorry your stay with us was not more enjoyable. We understand the misconception that the bathrooms might be dirty as the water is a bit discoloured. However this is not the case as the water is treated for any harmful substances and is bathroom safe. If there was a leak in your room, we wish you would have informed us as there are plumbers, and other maintenance staff on site to assist with such issues in a timely manner. We are sorry you felt our food was not fresh, but our kitchen only cooks with fresh ingredients, fresh produce and do not have any food which is precooked or reheated.

As the financial systems in Tanzania are not able to take credit cards on hold or check their validity for any incidentals, we have tried to offer our guests the opportunity to charge their bills and any incidentals by leaving their passport with us at the reception. This is by no means mandatory, as you have the option not to do so.

As per our policies, we do not refund for early check outs. This is mainly because some events and conferences are confirmed last minute, and to avoid disappointment of any guests we must follow such regulations. We can understand sometimes that guests book with us as many visitors are visiting Dar-es-Salaam for business, but we hope next time you return for a holiday you may consider us again and enjoy the relaxation of being away from busy city life on the beautiful, white sandy beaches of Hotel South Beach Resort,

regards,
Mr. Roshan Tauro.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

I want to speak very highly of of the South Beach Resort and just say that this was a WONDERFUL hotel, with amazing service, wonderful staff and beautiful surroundings. Me an my husband had our wedding ceremony on the beach outside of the hotel, and it was our dream wedding, so beautiful. The staff were so helpful, preparing a beautiful red runner for the aisle, beautiful wedding flowers and they simply made this day possible for us. I highly recommend you staying at their resort!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We stayed there in mid Occt, 2012. It took 1 1/2 hrs to get there from the airport. Thirty minutes to the ferry, thirty minutes of waiting (well over an hour on the return-total of two hours to the airport) then thirty minutes to the hotel. after asking around, we found a sign for the hotel, then drove down a road so rough that we could not go much faster than idle speed. The room was mediocre, and the a/c unit poured water onto us when we entered and left the room, as well as making us walk through water. There were only two other couples staying there. The curry was good, but the food was otherwise lackluster. The internet was spotty, and the credit card machine did not work. There was no place to shop, buy souvenirs, or sightsee. The a/c was barely adequate.

If you want to sit on the beach and drink, this place is ok. Apparently, the locals pay a fee to walk through and use the beach, on the weekends, at which time it is packed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank riecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We were 50 of usand the hospitality was just amazing. Everything was pre organised for us. Food was delicious.. . we had a great time at south beach!!! The conference facility was also great. The staff also are very friendly...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gulrose10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 6 nights Oct/Nov. It gets very busy there at the weekends but on the plus side, it was really tranquil and peaceful during the week days. In addition, we found the staff to be really friendly and attentive to our needs.
The pool area is really nice with the option of sitting in the shade or not. A beach towel is provided at reception.
The rooms are good with a very decent-sized balcony with terrific views of the Indian Ocean. There is daily cleaning of the rooms with bottles of water provided also.
We ate in the resort most evenings and there is a good choice of food on the menu - vegetarians are also well cathered for as staff made every effort that we were aware of the vegetarian options, particularly for breakfast. There are a number of bars in the resort including the Whisky Shack where the ideal option is to order your beer/cocktail etc. and take it to the seating that is contained within the resort but is actually on the beach - this is just heavenly at sunset! If you follow football, they also had a special outdoor area showing the big games.
Just beware that if you are going to the airport or to Zanzibar, make sure you give yourself 4 hours to get to the airport and 3 hours to get to the ferry to Zanzibar. This is because traffic is chaotic at rush-hour.
Overall, a really relaxing fun-filled stay with very kind staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st or 2nd floor over-looking the Indian Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miami1h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBR_FO_Manager, Front Office Manager at Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to respond, we really appreciate your feedback to us and thank you for choosing our hotel as your leisure partner, we hope your time spent with us was memorable. We will surly share your feedback with the staff in that they continue to keep up the good work. Regarding the duration to the Zanzibar ferry or to the airport we along with the other hotels all over the city are trying to address the traffic problems, hopefully the government will be addressing this issue pro-actively.
Thanking you once again
You’re sincerely,
Roshan Tauro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Tanzania and Dar is really growing as a tourist paradise: They´ve got the best safari, the traditional African culture, but also THE beach!
South Beach Resort is a great pick for a mid-price experience of the latter.

Ok rooms, ok food (a little pricy perhaps...) and a GREAT beach! And that is what we are looking for...
In just 30 min you will be down town Dar es Salaam if you are looking for a market place, or different food.

I spend a week at South Beach with my wife and kids (5, 3 and 1y old) and we had a great time!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elvelyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Our family visited for one night in July 2012.

The food was hit or miss - some really good, some really not.

The rooms were small, but that didn't matter so much. The problem was that there was no electricity at night and the staff never turned on the generator, so that the air conditioning wouldn't work and it became unbearably hot with no A/C. The worst thing for our family is that there are NO MOSQUITO NETS, which we have never experienced in 5 years of traveling in East Africa. The bathroom also had a funny smell.

The pool is really nice and the beach is also very nice with not too many hawkers or rocks or seaweed (although staff could do more to clean up the bottle tops, plastic, trash, etc from the beach right in front of the hotel). But there is no shade provided on the beach.

The playground is pretty dangerous for little kids.

The staff was very attentive and friendly.

I think for a younger, local crowd it would be a fun place to party. But for an expat family, it was not a great fit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
15.3 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
15.3 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#25 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
64 reviews
16.4 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
#17 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#13 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
303 reviews
14.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
408 reviews
0 mi away
Giraffe Ocean View Hotel
Giraffe Ocean View Hotel
#61 of 98 in Dar es Salaam
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam

Address: Kigamboni, Box 3034, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 98 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £42 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Kigamboni area or better known as South Beach, features an exclusive location on the Indian Ocean front. It is located comfortably away from the hustle and bustle of the city, 8 kms from the Kigamboni ferry.Thirty-six (36) well furnished, air conditioned rooms with one double bed and one single bed in each room. Every room also offers a private balcony overlooking the Indian Ocean.South Beach Resort is the perfect location and environment to cater to all your functions from Birthday Parties, corporate day-out parties, corporate team building events and entire company family day out events up to 4000 people! Our premises facilitates and supports the company's goals, whether it is to bring departments closer together, or to provide excellent entertainment and catering to the entire staff and their loved ones. our state of the art conference centre equipped with all the essential technology, stationary and comfort is the best in South Beach which can accommodate up to four (4) different conferences at once or open up into one large hall for up to 400 people. The conference hall can also be converted and decorated to host amazing, memorable wedding parties! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel South Beach Resort Dar Es Salaam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing