We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A "must go at least once"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Addis in Dar

Addis in Dar
Ranked #1 of 298 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
149 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A "must go at least once"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Coming from time to time to Dar for the last 15 years I have always heard talking about this place but never went. For sure next times in Dar I will go again. It is situated on the outskirts of town in an old reconverted villa, and has a beautifull 1st floor terrace seating available, overlooking a bunch of big old trees, so lovely settings. Better go with a few friends so that you take a combo meal that gives you a discovery to the Ethiopian cuisine. We took a vegetarian combo and then some extra dishes like chicken en meat. It comes in a big round plate which is then set on your table, and then. rather strange for a westerner, they just throw over each plate so that you get one massive 'porridge' like mass of splashed out food. Then you have to take a kind of spongebob bread and try to amass some food in that bread with your hands, strange but nice. Strange also that the eggs dish looks quite red and does not taste egg, and that you find pieces of boileg egg ... in the chicken dish, Well, all in all it is a nice experience to do with friends. Be sure to bring some kind of light along if you want to be able to actually read the menu, as at night it is a bit too dark on the terrace. Go and have a try

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kortenbergtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    148
    33
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and a Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I'd heard about Addis in Dar, but just visited on an impulse and I'll certainly be back again. The restaurant is on an outside terrace on the first floor with wonderful atmospheric lighting from many candles and the lights shaded by colourful umbrellas!
The tables are traditional Ethiopian woven tables with a tray in the middle in which the food is served on a large plate covered with injera (a large thin sourdough flatbread made of fermented teff flour). There was also a basket of rolls of injera, which at first I had thought were hot towels! These are used to eat the food with your fingers as the hot dishes are just poured onto the injera on the plate and you help yourself to what you want. I had red lentils, and 2 kinds of bure (beef) watt, one very spicy and the other milder and a lovely spicy prawn dish.
The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful when it came to choosing the dishes and the service was good.
Altogether a different and memorable and I will definitely be visiting regularly now!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tropicopter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Authentic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

What an incredible way to spend an evening in Dar. Amazing traditional Ethiopian cuisine served on traditional tables, creating an incredible atmosphere whether you're there with friends or a significant other. Topped off with good service and excellent Ethiopian coffee.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I don't get to Dar as much as I'd like, but it is an absolute requirement that I go to Addis when I'm in town.

Fantastic food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QuinnTSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Ethiopian food experience in Dar es Salaam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We heard about Addis in Dar for a while. We then went there and were so pleased to enjoy the meal. The menu was details to explain how Addis in Dar was establisihed and what tradition food for Ethiopian. The food was delicious - strong taste but not oily. The staff was friendly and the atmosphere was great. My husband and I really enjoyed it very much and we will definitely pay another visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VickyNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Addis in Dar also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Addis in Dar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing