We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great introduction to Ethiopian cuisine”
Review of Addis in Dar

Addis in Dar
Ranked #1 of 304 Restaurants in Dar es Salaam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Cape Town
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great introduction to Ethiopian cuisine”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My first time eating Ethiopian food and boy I am hooked. We recieved excellent service and guidance concerning what to eat and order. Had a really amazing evening and I loved the platter that we were served with as it gave us a chance to share and taste the various dishes.

Amazing atmosphere and amazing food - a bit tricky to locate - I would recommend going with a driver.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandisiwe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    153
    34
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect last dinner in Dar es Salaam”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We went to that restaurant knowing nothing about Ethiopian food (and I have to admit, also thinking that it wouldn't be too different than Tanzanian food). It was the best restaurant I went to in Tanzania. The food, the staff, the atmosphere, everything was excellent. I couldn't recommend it enough. It is not just a restaurant where you eat, it is an experience about a country and it's culture as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fifi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An oasis of good atmosphere and food”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The restaurant was nicely decorated in an elegant Ethiopian style which really contributed to a nice atmosphere. I was there with some friends and we really had a good evening. I can recommend the mixed plats that enable you to share and try many dishes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheresiaSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quality!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great Food, Love the seating arrangement it brings us all together and its a tradition in Ethiopia.
Some thing different and certainly mouth watering dishes with some great flavours and spices.

Definitely worth a try!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chigsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“go for an experience!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This place had a great setting. quiet, charming, patio seating. full moon in the back ground. good food and quick service. good place as it is definitely a Addis experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank siddharth707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Addis in Dar also viewed

Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 
Dar es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam Region
 

Been to Addis in Dar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing