We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the money you pay!”
Review of Econo Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dar es Salaam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Econo Lodge
Ranked #43 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good for the money you pay!”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We hadn’t planned to stay in Dar-es-salaam during our trip but after a bit of a hiccup on our way home we had to stay for two nights in May 2012. The hotel is cheap and cheerful in a good central location close to a number of shops and restaurants. The staff were very friendly on our arrival and the room whilst basic was spotlessly clean with a small balcony. Considering the price of the room, we were very happy with it and the air conditioning and hot showers were a bonus. There is a constantly supply of taxis outside the hotel that will take you to the ferry port for Zanzibar or the airport and given that our flights weren’t until 23:00 the hotel staff were very happy to look after our bags during the day and allow us to hang about in the reception whilst we waited.

I would definitely recommend it to travellers on a budget!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UTB-90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    51
    36
    7
    11
See reviews for
5
46
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
København, Danmark
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stayed here a couple of times when in Dar es Salaam.

Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Rooms are big and reasonably clean.
Prices are very competitive
Breakfast is included
Unfortunately no double beds
Mamboz restaurant (best chicken in the world) is right around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelAddictDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

After reading the reviews here I understood that Econo Lodge was a basic kind of place to stay and mentally prepared myself. However, there is basic...and then there is absolutely off the scale & I'm afraid this place falls into the latter category! I'm not really sure where to start - the floors were dirty, the a/c completely broken with parts of it actually hanging off, the bathroom floor looked like someone had smeared grouting (or something grey!) over large parts of it, the shower curtain was very slimy & there was mold on the walls & floor. The bed covers felt (& smelt!) like they hadn't been washed for quite a while and the bottom sheet barely covered the grotty foam mattress. When I tried to hang the threadbare bath towel on the towel rail, the whole rail just fell off.

On the plus side, the staff were quite friendly!

Do yourself a BIG favour & stay somewhere else. There are quite a lot of budget friendly places in the same area which are of a much higher standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I have stayed at the Econo Lodge for over 7 nights in total throughout December 2012 and January 2013. All the rooms I stayed in were clean, bug-free, and in working order (e.g., fan or A/C) and the price is right (e.g., $20 for a 2 bed room with fan)! The staff are helpful, and the location is walking distance to restaurants (Chef's, Mambo's), the market, and transport (Kilimanjaro Bus Station, dala dala stops, etc). Breakfast is included and consists of fruit (e.g. watermelon), a slice of white bread, butter or jam, and tea. The owner is very cautious when it comes to safety in Dar, but if you follow some basic rules (take only licensed cabs) then you will be fine - I quite enjoyed my stays in Dar despite all the scary warnings I received.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank matayata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

It was fine. Basic, budget accommodation. We stated in a fan room that was showing signs of its age, it wasn't dirty, (although there was a lot of indelible water marks in the bathroom) and we found the staff quite friendly.

However, there is nothing much to do in this area. No bars, no tourist attractions to speak of, a few places to eat thankfully (we ate at Le Chef in the road opposite the entrance - food was fine and reasonably priced).

So if saving money is your main priority this is fine, if location is more important then I'd suggest staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsMiles2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu Valley, Nepal
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Simplicity at its best! It always feel like home when u step inside Econolodge. The price is reasonable, quite place and secure with an accommodating staff. The owner is very warm and like a BIG BROTHER! Econolodge is my home in Dar. Everytime in Dar, it is always Econolodge for me.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfae30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and as a purely practical place to stay for a cheap price it definitely does the job. The building and rooms aren't attractive by any means, but it's in a handy location and is comfortable with decent beds and bathrooms, good fans, fly screens etc (the fan was fine so it's not worth paying more for air con unless you really want it). The management may not be that friendly, but they're efficient and knowledgeable when you have any queries. If you're just after a cheap practical place then this will be fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.0 mi away
Hong Kong Hotel
Hong Kong Hotel
#25 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn Hotel
Sleep Inn Hotel
#65 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Q-Bar & Guest House
Q-Bar & Guest House
#68 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
#33 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#40 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: | City Center, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Number of rooms: 337
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Dar Es Salaam Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing