We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Econo Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$404
US$248
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
US$122
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Slipway(Dar es Salaam)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanzanite Executive Suites(Dar es Salaam)
US$268
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nikko Tower(Dar es Salaam)
US$99
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Africa Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$179
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sapphire(Dar es Salaam)
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
US$132
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
7
53
36
7
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
53
36
7
13
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2010

We stayed there for one night, it was so bad so we moved to a different that charges $10 more but is much much nicer! From my observation this hotel is mainly lived by overseas workers (mainly Indians) not tourists.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle_XIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We arrived late in the evening from Johannesburg, SA en route to Zanzibar the next day.
The airconditioner did not work (temp around 38 deg C) and was very noisy.
We woke up to find no water in the hotel and the management handled the situation poorly. We checked out around 10am without a shower, fortunately we were not in Dar on business.
Johannesburg, South Africa.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jozi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in Oct 09 before and after going on safari to Ruaha National Park. We flew into Dar early morning and we had arranged for Econolodge to pick us up from the airport – a taxi driver was on time to meet us which was a good start. Econolodge itself is basic but our room was clean and quite big. There are mosquito nets on the windows but no nets around the beds. We had a room with a fairly old air-con unit (although it worked fine) and a ceiling fan. The bathroom was ok but didn’t feel as clean as the room itself. Towels are provided. Breakfast is also included but it is very basic – a piece of fruit, some toast and tea/coffee – you can pay extra to have eggs and juice. The Jambo Inn and Safari Inn are very close by. Jambo Inn serves food (and has internet), as does a place called Chef’s Pride which is opposite – not the best food but close by and it seemed safe to walk here at night, although you have to take care and I probably wouldn’t have done it alone. It is also possible to walk to the ferry terminal. Overall, Econolodge is fine for somewhere to sleep, if we had one criticism it would be that the staff were not very friendly or welcoming, compared to all the other people we met in Tanzania.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caths100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Stayed there for two non-consecutive nights.

plain/boring rooms, but everything was solid. toast/tea/fruit included breakfast. and it's just around corner from Chef's Pride (good restaurant) and a reasonably-priced internet cafe

Some rooms have A/C and they charge extra for them -- I paid for this since it was the end of my trip and I was pretty worn out. My only complaint is that the units in both rooms actually just blew air from outside (not cool air), but I didn't really care since the weather wasn't too hot.

my rooms did not have nets, but the fan above the beds was pretty good and seemed to keep any mosquitoes away (not that I saw any in the rooms)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

If you are staying in Dar on a budget what you need is somewhere clean, safe and quiet. You will get all of these things at the Econolodge on Libya Street. It is centrally located so walking is easy, or there are always plenty of taxi drivers nearby to take you to your destination. In addition, there is constant hot water and the friendly staff are always available to help with any queries you may have, be it ferry tickets or good places to eat. The continuous presence of cleaners on site is evident in the cleanliness of the rooms and the building. The prices are very affordable with a good breakfast of tea/coffee, fruit and toast included.

Even during the peak tourist season the Econolodge remains a quiet haven away from the busy city. Ask for a room at the front and you will rarely be disturbed by any outside noise. And don’t be put off by surrounding area, inside you will find a little haven of peace and order and the ever present taxi drivers in the ally will ensure you stay safe.

We were working in Dar for 6 weeks and would highly recommend the Econolodge to anyone doing Dar on a budget.

We are especially grateful to the manager Ashu who made our stay all the more easier by being endlessly patient and helpful, and to our daughter/sister Kamila who will remain in our hearts forever.

Thanks to all, from Lucy and Carol

4  Thank lucihana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews