We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great and enjoyable place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jangwani Seabreeze Resort
Ranked #31 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Thika
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great and enjoyable place to stay”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed three families. Great accommodation, rooms spacious clean. Breakfast was fabulous.The staff were polite and friendly. The pools were very clean with the residents pool very welcome for learners. Great place for teens and kids. The beatiful white sand beach plus the beach umbrella allows one to enjoy the sea breeze all day. All in all a remarkable place to stay where you get value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewKiragu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    47
    19
    5
    14
See reviews for
33
17
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I really should have done this earlier but better late than never. Stayed for a week in August 2011. Great accommodation, no issues there at all - air conditioning was fine, bathroom lovely and spacious. The staff were polite and very helpful too. The pool was available everyday, but the best bit was the beautiful white sand beach literally across the street from the main hotel building - sheer bliss. Will return and stay there again - no problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artikal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat,Oman
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Since my visit in 2010 the hotel has had a face lift and all the rooms are now extremely comfortable and well appointed. I beach front location is ideal and the entertainment and facilities are varied with something to please everyone. The only downside is the poor service from some of the local staff. All in all a very enjoyable stay and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Only two floors, second floor only accessible by stairway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muscatsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolla, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

The room air conditioner did not work. The shower head was missing. The bathroom smelled like an outdoor toilet. The food was not prepared well. The desk attendant was indifferent and customer service is unknown.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanky50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We spent a week in Zanzibar and had 2 days in dar es salaam on our return journey home. We were brought to Jangwani by the taxi driver who collected us at the ferry and we do not regret it.

The hotel is situated 20 minutes out of the hustle and bustle of the city and its beachfront setting make it even more relaxed and pleasurable. The rooms were more than basic. with a king size bed, clean crisp white lined, fully operational air conditioning, a writing desk & chair and cupboard facilities allowing you to pack out.

The bathroom was average with a toilet and basin but most importantly it had a seperate demarcated shower. This made us estatic since most of the showers in zanzibar were just a shower head in the bathroom with drainage being done on the same level as the bathroom floor in one corner. The shower drain was blocked at first when we got there. We reported it and the maintennce man "Yaseen" was fixing it within the hour and even replaced the older shower head with a brand new one.

The rooms are all built around a beautiful courtyard with the breakfast area and a private swimming pool for hotel guests only.There is a small curio shop around the reception and lounge area with wifi access. Across the road, a mere 15m walk from the hotel is the actual Jangwani resort. Here they have 1 large swimming pool and 1 toddler pool, a dining area, pool tables, PS2 and Wii games, a bar and dancefloor, and a few travel convenience stores. As you walk out of the resort courtyard you on the beachfront. The hotel beach is cordened off by rocks tht extend into the sea and ensure that the beach is private and for hotel guest only.

We spent the 2 days over a weekend and were suprised and excited over the hype the resort had. They provide a very upmarket party atmosphere with music and drink for the adults at night with alot of locals attending. During the day they have activities and amusement for children with Pool inflatables, cartoon characters like Spiderman and Games run by clowns. Even without kids we thoroughly enjoyed it all. At the resort they also offer boat rides to the smaller islands accross the beachfront and even to Slipway which is a another hotel/restaurant/mall a little further away.

The food was amazing. Breakfast was basic with the usual teas, coffees, juices, cereals, eggs and some accompaning dishes. Lunch and Dinner was spectacular. Most of the food in Zanzibar and Dar es Salaam are a a indian/african fusion. We had peri peri prawns barbequed to perfection in a tandoori oven. Beef Shitaki with a spicy sweet and sour sauce that was more indian than far eastern. The sunday lunch was buffet style with Basmati rice, lentil curry, fried tuna nuggets, beef goulash, spicy vegetables, sweet and sour chicken and a range of relishes and chutnies.

We definitely got more than we bargained for. In terms of affordability we paid $US 80.
We were originally supposed to say at another beach resort on the island of Kigamboni which is directly accross the main ferry port at Dar es Salaam for $US 60. The taxi driver advised us against this as a taxi to Kigamboni is $US30 one way so $US60 return because even though its only 500m away - you need to board a ferry with the taxi to get there. Jangwani on the other hand has a free shuttle service to the Holiday Inn in town .From the Holiday Inn we were able to get a taxi to all the local attractions for under $US10 and took the 18:30 shuttle service in the evening back to the hotel.

We loved Jangwani

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AfricanTrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Over 2000 us dollars was stolen from my hotel room. The management did nothing. I told them that I wanted to file a police report and they told they would do it. On the last day they told me that they were not going to be responsible for the money and would not file a police report.
The room was fair but needed repair in the bathroom. The refrigerator door fell off the first day and no one came to repair it so it fix it. Most of the time the food was over cooked and bad. Service was very bad and they were not friendly or helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrMort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

we arrived at the resort late at night tired from our journey from the uk first impresion the place was clean tiedy and the respition gave a warm smile! which made us relax there after everything was going smooth, my 3 kids enjoyed the pool so much and othe kids games in the beach area the boat trip to a lsland was a added touch . there was pleanty to do at jangwani sea brease hotel and i would recomed it to anyone

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhaveshLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
1.4 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
#16 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#46 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
51 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
Ledger Plaza Bahari Beach Hotel
#23 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel White Sands - The Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
295 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#14 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jangwani Seabreeze Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jangwani Seabreeze Resort

Property: Jangwani Seabreeze Resort
Address: Africana Road Plot 95, Mbezi Beach | P.O. Box 934, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#7 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jangwani Seabreeze Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jangwani Sea Breeze Resort is situated on the mainland of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, along Mbezi Beach on clear white sands, a 25 minutes drive away from the city center. The Resort is situated on either side of Africana road, with all facilities and outlets on the beach side and the accommodation on the opposite side. The rooms and the courtyard pool are located on the quiet part of the complex and are exclusively for hotel residents only. The Resort side on the beach front has two bars, a restaurant, a Sheesha Bar, a gym, a swimming pool, a kids pool, beach beds under makuti bandas, kids play area, live music and featured DJ’s, dancing, Spa & Sauna, Boating facilities, Shops, Sundecks and conference halls. Our restaurant serves ala carte daily from 12pm to 11pm. On weekends we offer a vast buffet and a barbeque on the beach. The bars are open till late night, serving all kinds of drinks, cocktails and snacks. Food and Drink service on the beach is available throughout the day. Our resident DJ plays the latest national and international tunes every Saturday and Sunday.The 32 Boutique rooms are all located around the courtyard resident pool area, well away from all other activities, which means peace and tranquility is guaranteed. This area is exclusively for hotel guests. All rooms are with 32" Flat screen TV, Individually controlled air conditioning units, fridges and mosquito nets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jovago.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jangwani Seabreeze Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jangwani Seabreeze Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing