We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A colonial home from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oyster Bay Hotel
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A colonial home from home.”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The welcome was warm and friendly, personalised by the lovely manageress who went out of her way to make sure we had all we needed. On our second night, and her night off, she took us to the Slipway for a sundowner next to the water - a memorable experience where she introduced us to the local Konyagi gin and to the pilots on the next table: one of whom was to fly us to Selous Safari camp the next day! The room was huge and air-conditioned to perfection, with mosquito nets around a vast bed. The rain shower was hot and fierce. Lovely.
To top a happy stay we were served some of the best food of our holiday. In particular the lobster thermidor, fresh from the fish market, was the best I've ever tasted. Wine and conversation flowed and I would heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
43
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
127 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Wonderful airport collection service, wonderful comfortable rooms, stunningly good and fresh meals and welcoming warm hospitality/hosting. Could not ask for much more. Make sure you have their fresh juice and marmite on toast before any early morning airport departure!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamesHAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at BehoBeho in the Selous for 3 days at the end of our Safari, then, through the happy circumstance of meeting the owner of both hotels, we spent a lovely afternoon and evening at the Oyster Bay, before catching our plane home. Oyster Bay is comfortable and elegant, and the "light supper" of lobster salad was delicious. We definitely recommend a stay here if your travel plans take you through Dar es Salaam.
We also highly recommend Beho Beho in the Selous for a safari lodge. A pair of elephants greeted us upon our arrival at the camp. The private cottages, and bathrooms, are spacious and well appointed, the meals were served in a variety of venues around the property, which was fun and interesting. The guides were very knowlegeable and they took us to a variety of habitats for animal viewing, including a walk and "sundowners" in the bush in the evening and a boat ride to see the hippos and crocodiles. A most pleasant stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B3BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We just returned from safari in Tanzania and stayed at Oyster Bay at the beginning and end of our trip. Could not have asked for a more wonderful place to stay ! From meeting us very late at the airport, to lobster salad waiting for us when we arrived, this was a place to remember. Maretha and her staff arranged for guides to the local markets and treated us like family. The hotel is furnished beautifullly, the food absolutely delicious. Our room was located on the top floor and we had a wonderful view of the Indian Ocean. This is the place to stay when in Dar !!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bspTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We spent two wonderful nights here at the start of our holiday in Tanzania. Whisked from the airport in our air conditioned car to the amazing Oyster Bay. Maretha and her staff made us feel so welcome and we instantly felt at home.

We had requested twin beds and our room/suite was beautifully presented with our twin beds, a sitting area and huge bathroom. Amazingly we were offered a second room next door if we wished to use it so that we would not even have to share!!! Can you believe that? The one room was perfect but we were very impressed.

We had dinner our first evening and lunch and dinner the next day. Breakfast was served in our room. The food is delicious, beautifully cooked and presented. Maretha had arranged to serve huge prawns, more like lobsters, at the request of some other guests, we were lucky to be there that day. We had a swim in the lovely pool in the beautiful gardens.

Maretha took us to the Oyster Bay shopping area behind the hotel and we exchanged our money there for Tanzanian shillings, We got a very good rate, much better than we saw at the airport. There are also some great little shops there for quality gifts. We took a taxi, Maretha found her local honest driver, to the Slipway shopping centre and also to 'Wonder Workshops' which supports a group of disabled artisans making handmade products from scrap metal. Reasonably priced and very funky we bought several small ones. Oyster Bay has some huge examples in their gardens.

Whilst we were at Oyster Bay we were fortunate to meet Charley Bailey who owns Oyster Bay and Beho Beho in the Selous. A great character, we spent a very enjoyable evening listening to Charley's stories. When we stayed at Beho Beho later in our trip the young Tanzanian guides there told us how much Charley has helped them with their education, travel and overall support and how Maretha had helped train them and had also become their friend. It was really great to meet people who were trying to make a difference and obviously cared for the people working for them.
www.wonderwelders.org.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best view but you have to be OK with lots of stairs. All the rooms are fabu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I stayed at this awesome boutique hotel when I was visiting Tanzania with my friend for our birthday celebration! Out of all beautiful things that we experienced here at this hotel, The Manager Marietta was outstanding. What a gracious host! The hotel is an interior designer's dream and the rooms are comfortable and spacious. The meals were carefully selected and most delicious! And the staff were truly amazing! From the barman to the chef. Thank you for the personal touch and attention to detail... And most importantly your superb hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ProudlyNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Should you find yourself wondering where to stay for a couple of days in Dar es Salaam, then you should definitely check out the Oyster Bay Hotel. What was once a former maternity home has been transformed into the ultimate chic boutique hotel. Fabulous bedroom suites with massively generous bathrooms and really interesting artwork everywhere, this is a great place to stay that would also suit a 'lone traveller'. Great cuisine too.

Discreetly well managed by the effervescent and affable Marietta, I had a very enjoyable stay there and look forward to a return visit in the future.

Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank damenaomineufeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam
2.0 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Bay Hotel

Property: The Oyster Bay Hotel
Address: Toure Drive, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oyster Bay is like staying with friends, a beautiful large home and garden with eight luxurious ocean facing guest suites, spacious in the extreme (70 sqm) with luxurious bathrooms, air-conditioned, fabulously furnished in contemporary African style, the suites reflect modern day Africa in a timeless setting – balmy, equatorial, coastal, Dar es Salaam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your The Oyster Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing