We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace away from the madness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oyster Bay Hotel
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed only one night as we had a layover between flights. The hotel does all they can to make your life easier. Sadly we arrived late in the evening and left early the following day but the food and accommodation were excellent. I highly reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going to be there during the day overlooking the gardens will be quieter though the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrickthehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2012

This hotel is perfect to relay after a long flight and to regain energy for safari or to catch another flight.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philipp G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

After travelling through Tanzania this really was a treat, we only wish we could have stayed longer!! The service is genuinely warm and everything you need is there. The gardens and pool were very relaxing and the food great. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the dinner party style lunch and evening meal.

The only slight negative is the time it can take to get from the airport but that's really due to the traffic. It's worth it when you get there though!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShaneJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The welcome was warm and friendly, personalised by the lovely manageress who went out of her way to make sure we had all we needed. On our second night, and her night off, she took us to the Slipway for a sundowner next to the water - a memorable experience where she introduced us to the local Konyagi gin and to the pilots on the next table: one of whom was to fly us to Selous Safari camp the next day! The room was huge and air-conditioned to perfection, with mosquito nets around a vast bed. The rain shower was hot and fierce. Lovely.
To top a happy stay we were served some of the best food of our holiday. In particular the lobster thermidor, fresh from the fish market, was the best I've ever tasted. Wine and conversation flowed and I would heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Wonderful airport collection service, wonderful comfortable rooms, stunningly good and fresh meals and welcoming warm hospitality/hosting. Could not ask for much more. Make sure you have their fresh juice and marmite on toast before any early morning airport departure!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamesHAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at BehoBeho in the Selous for 3 days at the end of our Safari, then, through the happy circumstance of meeting the owner of both hotels, we spent a lovely afternoon and evening at the Oyster Bay, before catching our plane home. Oyster Bay is comfortable and elegant, and the "light supper" of lobster salad was delicious. We definitely recommend a stay here if your travel plans take you through Dar es Salaam.
We also highly recommend Beho Beho in the Selous for a safari lodge. A pair of elephants greeted us upon our arrival at the camp. The private cottages, and bathrooms, are spacious and well appointed, the meals were served in a variety of venues around the property, which was fun and interesting. The guides were very knowlegeable and they took us to a variety of habitats for animal viewing, including a walk and "sundowners" in the bush in the evening and a boat ride to see the hippos and crocodiles. A most pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B3BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We just returned from safari in Tanzania and stayed at Oyster Bay at the beginning and end of our trip. Could not have asked for a more wonderful place to stay ! From meeting us very late at the airport, to lobster salad waiting for us when we arrived, this was a place to remember. Maretha and her staff arranged for guides to the local markets and treated us like family. The hotel is furnished beautifullly, the food absolutely delicious. Our room was located on the top floor and we had a wonderful view of the Indian Ocean. This is the place to stay when in Dar !!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bspTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
2 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#4 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
516 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
6.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
371 reviews
3.6 mi away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#17 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Bay Hotel

Address: Toure Drive, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £91 - £673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oyster Bay is like staying with friends, a beautiful large home and garden with eight luxurious ocean facing guest suites, spacious in the extreme (70 sqm) with luxurious bathrooms, air-conditioned, fabulously furnished in contemporary African style, the suites reflect modern day Africa in a timeless setting – balmy, equatorial, coastal, Dar es Salaam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Hotel.de and Jovago.com so you can book your The Oyster Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing