We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what they offer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oyster Bay Hotel
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what they offer”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Value for money: Unsatisfactory. The room was superb, management and staff were very, very friendly.However, the stay is too costly for what they offfer. The food (table d'hôte) was fine.
Nice ambiance.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wboesiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
43
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
victoria bc canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We returned to the Oyster Bay hotel again because it is so very special. Arriving at the airport, you are picked up by an air conditioned car with cold drinks and cool face cloths, so refreshing after flying. The hotel is decorated in a minimalist style. There are only about nine spacious rooms which all have ocean views. This is one of the best hotels in which we have ever stayed. Maritha is an excellent hostess and a superb chef. Meals are eaten in one seating around a beautifully set table either on the back terrace or in the gracious dining room. This hotel feels like home. We will most definitely be back.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre but there is a wonderful pool WiFi coverage can vary depending upon wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libradoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

You could't find a more calm, kind, well-designed, elegant and comfortable haven in the heat of Dar es Salaam. Situated on Oyster Bay in the leafy diplomatic area of the city, this small hotel is ideal for a stopover if you're en route for Zanzibar or the National Parks.

Meals and drinks are taken on the verandah in the company of other guests and/or the hotel's managers, so that you almost feel you're at someone's very smart home rather than a hotel. Conversation is jovial and lively.If you'e not up to conviviality you can retreat to your own large and well equipped room.

Designed by a famours South African interior designer the hotel's foyer and rooms contain fine antique asian and local furniture and works of art.

There's a swimming pool in the garden.

A stylish experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

A great "jumping off" spot in Dar Es Salaam or for anyone doing business or travel in this busy East African city. Charlie Bailey has transformed this into what really feels like a private home overlooking the Indian Ocean. An oasis in this teeming, busy city. Drinks and meals served in a wonderfully decorated "home" are superior. Guests made to feel like old family friends. A "must"!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors seem to be better....but, no elevators!! Rooms are huge; bathrooms spectacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed only one night as we had a layover between flights. The hotel does all they can to make your life easier. Sadly we arrived late in the evening and left early the following day but the food and accommodation were excellent. I highly reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are going to be there during the day overlooking the gardens will be quieter though the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrickthehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This hotel is perfect to relay after a long flight and to regain energy for safari or to catch another flight.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philipp G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

After travelling through Tanzania this really was a treat, we only wish we could have stayed longer!! The service is genuinely warm and everything you need is there. The gardens and pool were very relaxing and the food great. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the dinner party style lunch and evening meal.

The only slight negative is the time it can take to get from the airport but that's really due to the traffic. It's worth it when you get there though!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShaneJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#6 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Oyster Bay Dar es Salaam
2.0 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#5 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Bay Hotel

Property: The Oyster Bay Hotel
Address: Toure Drive, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 95 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oyster Bay is like staying with friends, a beautiful large home and garden with eight luxurious ocean facing guest suites, spacious in the extreme (70 sqm) with luxurious bathrooms, air-conditioned, fabulously furnished in contemporary African style, the suites reflect modern day Africa in a timeless setting – balmy, equatorial, coastal, Dar es Salaam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your The Oyster Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing