We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oyster Bay Hotel
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 4 October 2013

In a upscale commercial area, near the water and with only 8 rooms and a very attentive staff, we found this guest house a lovely place to stay. Our room overlooked the Indian Ocean, which lay across a busy highway. The staff arranged for private sightseeing for us. Dinners and breakfast were served on our schedule and were well prepared. We dined on a patio overlooking an open lawn. The interior contained fascinating art work.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

sjoe, not sure where to start this one. Oyster Bay is not a hotel, it's a home away from home. a dream home, away from home. it's truly the most incredible place I have visited for an overnight stop. my only regret is that my stay was to short between flights. I wished I had two to three nights at this incredible gem in the middle of Dar es Salaam.

Alwyn and his team to great care of me, we had the most fabulous dinner, best tomato soup, best chocolate cake and best company I had in a long time. The rooms are massive and the bathrooms are delightful; and the swimming pool was heavily inviting.

I recommend that anyone passing through Dar es Salaam should stay at this heavily home away from home, do ensure you stop for at least two nights and not just one....

Room Tip: all the rooms are incredible, I stayed on the 3rd floor and had the most amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andBeyonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This was the perfect place to end our incredible 2 week safari. This small boutique hotel is beautifully decorated with African ornaments and furnishings, the rooms are huge, and the garden and pool refreshing! I would definitely recommend the Oyster Bay Hotel to anyone requiring a hotel in Dar before or after their safari as it keeps the holiday experience unique and personal rather than staying in a larger concrete style hotel nearer the airport.

Room Tip: The rooms on higher floors have a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

What a find for us, recommended and booked by our & Beyond Agent. We started and ended our Tanzanian holiday here.

The other recent reviews very adequately describe the attributes. The rooms are large and comfortable with quality furnishings and decor. The dual airconditioners a blessing in a hot and humid Dar.

Maretha Wentzel, the manager, runs a good show starting right from the time her man met us at the airport and drove us through the chaos of the evening rush hour traffic to the hotel.

I liked Maretha's, all inclusion in the family so to speak, dinners. A special touch and an opportunity to meet and discuss various topics with other guests from different parts of the world! Lunch in a shady corner of the garden. The breakfasts were good, lunch and dinners were exceptional.

The Jackie at dinner was an added plus. Pity she wasn't allowed to sit with us.

I would highly recommend this hotel to any discerning traveller who needs to spend time in Dar es Salaam.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malcolm072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This small, luxury property has some of the nicest rooms I have seen. The living room, dining areas and other public areas are all fantastic. It is right across the street from the beach (which by the way has beautiful sunrises) and it has a good lap pool. The only downside is that for morning flights the traffic out of the area around Oyster Bay can be an issue (leaving after 7:15 am is a problem sometimes I understand). I stayed here at the beginning of a safari and my first impression on entering the room was "wow!"

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank ghfatw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This is certainly the place to stay in Dar es Salaam. Very friendly reception and attendance throughout your stay by the hostesses Lynne and Maritha. Rooms are spacious, with all comfort. looking out over the Indian Ocean. Meals are taken with other guests and hosts on the beautiful terrace are inside in the salon (tastefully decorated in African style). Food would be difficult to improve.
Overall a very pleasant and relaxing experience.
If travels take us back to Dar es Salaam there is no doubt that we will select the Oyster Bay hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KvG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

What a wonderful place is The Oyster Bay. After having stayed at the Royal
Alm and Kempinski Kilimanjaro I really found this hotel a gem! It has only 8 wonderful which are decorated in contemporary African style. Very tasteful with comfortable chairs, writing table, big bathroom with hath and walk-in shower and piles of bathtowels. Beautiful lounge/ dining room. Nice outdoor terrace where they served a wonderful lunch buffet. Ver nice pool area with sun loungers. Beautiful garden with enormous trees and access to small shopping mall with good book store. Very quiet place next to the sea. Very good service by the butlers and supervised by the managers Len and Mariëtte. Their gazpacho, cold lobster and Pavlova dessert are to die for...
We will be back for sure. Thanks for your great hospitality.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Courtyard
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dar es Salaam, The Kilimanjaro
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dar es Salaam-Oysterbay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#7 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
364 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sea Cliff Hotel
Sea Cliff Hotel
#3 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
510 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
Dar es Salaam Serena Hotel
#8 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oyster Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oyster Bay Hotel

Address: Toure Drive, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £91 - £680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oyster Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oyster Bay is like staying with friends, a beautiful large home and garden with eight luxurious ocean facing guest suites, spacious in the extreme (70 sqm) with luxurious bathrooms, air-conditioned, fabulously furnished in contemporary African style, the suites reflect modern day Africa in a timeless setting – balmy, equatorial, coastal, Dar es Salaam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Jovago.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Oyster Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing