We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to camp on the beach”
Review of Mikadi Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mikadi Beach
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place to camp on the beach”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We camped here for two nights - it is a nice location on the beach and there is a decent pool. The camping facilities are perfectly adequate. The beachside bar has wifi that is not bad by African standards. One night they cooked us a fish bbq which was great.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank noone28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    41
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
8
44
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steffisburg, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

1st at all a Shower must be Water and not Normal Water with Salt Water 2end the Sofa should be Cleand ( Talk the Sand and the Hair of from the Sofa 3 Times a Day )
I did not feld very convertible at all
3rd The Mattres di not feel to be Clean while i was Sleeping there 4th the Mosi net should not have holes so the Mossis came in

The Food was Exeland and Teasty

The Location is Perfect Right on the Beach nice and Clean

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dar es Salaam hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed here as a part of an overland tour.

It's a beautiful place and well worth the visit. The view of the ocean is picturesque and there is a lovely bar that you can relax at and enjoy the view. Drinks are cheap and the frozen margaritas are highly recommended.

We used the camping facilities and it's a good place to camp as long as you don't mind camping in the sand. My only gripe was that the showers were salt water. Not a great way to feel clean.

It's a bit out of the way, you wont be able to walk anywhere from here.

There was also good security, patrolling everywhere. It was comforting after our tour guide warned us that it was unsafe to leave the grounds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmesAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

It’s an effort to get to Mikadi from the airport, particularly if you’re heading back that way and staying only a short time, but I think it’s worth it. Mikadi slams the door on the crazy chaos of Dar and tips you into some beach-side tranquillity. This is not a highend hotel, but a beachy-backpackers and all the better for the type of people that attracts. Rooms are beach shacks, basic and clean. They could definitely do with updating the mattresses, and salt-water through the taps is a bit sticky, but they come with mosquito nets, and are roomy and airy enough. Kick off your shoes and feel the sand between your toes. The bar/dining is all sand underfoot and helps with the casual care-freeness you feel at Mikadi. Laze by the pool, hang in a hammock, walk on the beach, drink at the bar, meet people and talk. Mikadi organised a fixed-price transfer to and from the airport when I booked and, after having my phone stolen when I landed, sorted me complimentary cocktails on arrival to ease the pain (nice touch). It’s a bit out of the way if getting into the nitty gritty of Dar is where you’re at, but head to Mikadi if it’s time on your travels to stop, and breathe, a while.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoozSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here as part of an overlanding tour. Sadly we didnt arrive until about 9pm, and we left quite early in the morning to get the ferry to Zanzibar.
We had pre-paid to camp, however when we arrived we decided to upgrade to a Banda and have a little more luxury than a tent can provide! (ok, lets be honest, we couldnt be bothered to put the tent up again!)
Our little hut had two comfortable single beds, with mosquito nets, and clean sheet. It felt brilliant to have a fan and electricity after having none for the last week or so, but other than this, it was very basic. However, what more you would expect from a wooden beach hut I don't know? It certainly met our needs.
We both slept really well, listening to the sound of the ocean. Initilaly it was quite concerning to see the 'Inside camp = Safe. Outside Camp = not safe' sign in the toilets, however it was reasuring to see security guards around base.
The toilet and shower rooms seemed clean, could maybe have benefitted from a little more lighting.
We were sad to be leaving without having used to pool, and would have enjoyed another night in the bar as there seemed to be a good, friendly atmposhere. If we were in the area again would stay another night or two happily.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I bought my own tent when I stayed here which made this a budget option as staying in the beach lodges was quite expensive. The camping option includes access to the showers, toilets, swimming pool etc but you need to pay to charge your phone or use the light by your tent. You need to pay for wifi use also. When I went here, this place didn't have tents for people to rent, so check before you go otherwise bring your own tent.
This lodge has its own private beach which is beautiful and nothing can beat waking up and walking a few steps to see the sunrise.
The showers and taps are salt water but there's a fresh water tank if you don't fancy the salt water shower or salt water teeth brushing experience.
The place has its own restaurant which is good as there's not much around where this lodge is but bad in that its quite expensive. However the food is amazing here - every meal I had was great.
I wouldn't recommend you stay here if you're just in transit as it isn't mainland dar es salaam. You need to take a boat and then a rickshaw to get to this place. Boats to Zanzibar and buses to everywhere else in Tanzania don't leave from the side this lodge is on.
However, this place is perfect if you have a few days that you want to relax and escape the hustle and bustle of Dar.

Room Tip: budget travellers - go for the camping option!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed here after a long days overlanding, and I do mean long, about 10 hours over the worst roads ever.
When we turned up at this place it was like heaven. The first thing that struck me was the beach, pure bliss!
I was supposed to set up in a tent but I asked if there were any bandas free, managed to get one with ensuite for next to nothing!
Ok luxury they aint but after camping for two weeks, it was like staying five star. Large room, electric sockets, mosquito net, double bed, toilet, warm shower....and all on the beach.
The bar area is great, and the food was great, way to much provided.
I wouldnt hestitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slicvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dar es Salaam
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#10 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
657 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Dar es Salaam Amani Beach
0.0 mi away
Q-Bar & Guest House
Q-Bar & Guest House
#67 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel And Resort
#16 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#40 of 96 in Dar es Salaam
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eazy's Place
Eazy's Place
#4 of 118 in Dar es Salaam
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mikadi Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mikadi Beach

Property: Mikadi Beach
Address: Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Dar es Salaam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mikadi Beach Lodge derives its name from the Mikadi tree which thrives along the beautiful Tanzanian coastline. Jo (Zimbabwean) & Lucho (Chilean) married and owner/managers, took over the lodge in February 2008 and since then have embarked on a complete refurbishment of the place. If you have your heart and soul in a place this emanates to staff and clients alike. We are in love with Mikadi and that shows in everything we do to make your stay with us both enjoyable and memorable. They say location is everything and we are in the perfect location! We are only 15 / 20 mins from the Zanzibar ferry so ideally placed for those travellers wanting to visit Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mikadi Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mikadi Beach Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing