We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Nearby Hotels
Sea Cliff Hotel(Dar es Salaam)
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Slipway(Dar es Salaam)
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tanzanite Executive Suites(Dar es Salaam)
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harbour View Suites(Dar es Salaam)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
43
54
41
20
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
54
41
20
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaircon fannice hotelcity malli highly recommend this hotelrooms are cleanbreakfast includedtaxi drivershort staynice breakfastnice staytwo nightsreceptiontvferryminniemombasainternet
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed there for 3 days. Breakfast is not good at all, staff is so lovely and very helpfull. They work very hard to satisfy guests, but that small indian lady, keep shoutting on them like animals, she talk badly to them infront of guest, she has no manner and is not qualify to do this job, she has to be trained again. Room was nice. Good hotel for those going for bussiness, but have to change their manager.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamadeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Since we took over the hotel we have made great strides in improving the hotel and the overall guest satisfaction shows this clearly.
Naturally not always does everything goes according to plan, especially if a clash of Cultures becomes apparent, which however has been addressed.
However, we continuously work on improving the quality of the hotel further in order to be the fist address in Dar es Salaam for QUALITY BUDGET ACCOMMODATION.
We look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

i choose this hotel ..for just for one night .....but after staying one night I felt that ...I should not move to other hotel because of the so friendly staff.....during my stay they was very helpful and they just gave me the home feeling ....service was also nice .....the rooms was very clean and and they had lot of entertainment programs from every where from the world......also the reception was very helpful and very nice peoples ....and the hotel manager mr pawar was a very kind person ....he was always ready to help ...I can just say ...I enjoyed it very much over there my stay .....and definetly I will come back next time .....thanks to all hotel staff and to manager mr pawar ....which all makes my stay more joyfull

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raj d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Since we took over the hotel we have made great strides in improving the hotel and the overall guest satisfaction shows this clearly.
However, we continuously work on improving the quality of the hotel further to be the fist address in Dar es Salaam for QUALITY BUDGET ACCOMMODATION.
we look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I booked 3 nights Feb.08-10 single room from booking.com, after check-in i feel i am misled by booking.com, which describes this 3 star hotel free wired internet in public area, actually hardly available because only two cables, one in the lounge and the other in the restaurant. You have to take patience to wait for your turn. Buffet breakfast is so economical that it can hardly be called buffet: only toast,milk,coffee,plus a little slices watermelon, and that's all. The restaurant is with limited tables, around 8-9am peak time hardly to get a free table.
Mosquito net does not exist and unknown worm bites may occur. Mini-market is not within hotel. Even one bottle of water unavailable to buy within hotel. Hotwater is only warm water. I have to rush up bathing to get warmth. The floor of room is not clean, with dusts in corners.What's the worst is that there is no dustbin in your room!
Atttention: when you check in they immediately charge your credit card full value. After 2 nights i decide to check out to find another hotel, but the reception told me they will not refund my third night fare already charged when checking in.
IF you are on business avoid this hotel. Suggest for transfer passengers for one night stay and for budget only.

Room Tip: the 4thday I checked into Sophia house and apartment hotel two blocks away with 10 minutes walk, much more valued though USD50 for single room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Habibtam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Since we took over the hotel we have made great strides in improving the hotel and the overall guest satisfaction shows this clearly. I am however sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
However, we continuously work on improving the quality of the hotel further to be the fist address in Dar es Salaam for QUALITY BUDGET ACCOMMODATION.
we look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

One of the best place.....to stay, very good staff, hotel manager is well mannered person, I really like this hotel....I hope come again...service staff very nice, they have good knowledge about his job.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krishnakumar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formula10TZ, Group Operations Director at Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you very much for your valuable feedback. Since we took over the hotel we have made great strides in improving the hotel and the overall guest satisfaction shows this clearly.
We continuously work on improving the quality of the hotel further to be the fist address in Dar es Salaam for QUALITY BUDGET ACCOMMODATION.
we look forward welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We choose this hotel for oversleep in Dar. We let all staffs in our room all closed and went for one hour have some dinner. After we came back found out that our camera charger and cover for lens dissapeared from bag which was on the bed. Hotel is not safety, windows are not possible to close and after you think its closed you can open them easy from balcony. And strange was when we came back safety card from room was wrong and didnt work.
Nobody wanna talk with us. Staff manager speaks english average and it was really difficult to explain her anything. Only one person who was abble to speak with us was manager of hotel. He promissed us to show us camera on the floor but until this time he didnt. He had always few reasons why not now and he will do it later. He also promissed to call us and inform about all but we were thoose who called always first coz nobody cared!
Personal is arrogant. Food is average and water is only cold.
This hotel nevermore, deffinitely not safety at all!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dajka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formula10TZ, Group Operaations Director at Iris Hotel Dar Es Salaam, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Madam,
respectfully, you arrived already with a very bad attitude. Not only did you try to lie to us about where you are coming from (as we always keep a record of our guest passports for security reason) and you tried to make us believe you are Italian but as a European I immediately recognised your Russian based accent. Further to this, I became suspicious about you and your rather strange guest you brought with
In fact as I personally spoke to you, I came already to the understanding that you are potentially going to be a problem, and indeed you were. I sincerely doubt that your items were missing, I rather believe that you made up this story as we did not want to give you a discount.
Yours truly
Hans J Heuer
Group Operations Director
Formula 10 Hospitality Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews