We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont dont waste your time or money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Resort
Ranked #82 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 18 August 2012

what used to be a very plesant little place is in one word awfull now the new managment are rude arrogent and un helpfull riped off on exchange rate romms terrable no aircon shower broken no hot water no wonder the place is empty give it a miss

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We came from arusha to do some
Paperwork in dar; ee came here on our second night escaping the heat and humidity of town. We were very happy till at dinnet time we had to witness how to indian guys negotiated with what seemed to be 2 prostitutes just in front of our faces; i felt sick when the one of the guy offered her 5000tsh and 10 minutes later he was leaving with her friend and that girl with another guy; as a woman i felt like crying seeing the bargaining. I understand they are adults and they are on their right to do so but not in front of customers... They should have some
Respect for other people and "negotiate" somewhere else. Apart from that very good though food and drinks quite pricey for what they offer.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maricuqui6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

During our stay at the camp site of the Sunrise Beach Resort, we noticed how an uniformed security watchmen has stolen a wallet in our car. We informed the indian manager about this, but he didn't intervene, arguing that we couldn't prove anything!
Next day, we witnessed how another european guest got physically intimidated by the same uniformed security service: three watchmen were removing him from the reception area where he was complaining about burglary in the locker of his room. It was clear that the watchmen were acting under instruction of the indian manager.
We checked out immediately.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

During my stay at the Sunrise Beach Resort in Dar es Salaam (Tanzania), 3 robberies out of the safe locks have been reported. I was one of the unlucky guys.
Most probably, the house keeping possess a master key and uses this for stealing the valuable goods out of the room’s safe locks. The Indian manager doesn't do anything to prevent robbery in his hotel. On the contrary, it looks like he accepts this. The Indian managers attitude can be described as: "A complaining guest is always wrong as long as he/she can't prove anything."
Be warned!

Room Tip: The rooms at next doors resort will be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We had travelled from Dodoma with the idea of spending two days relaxing her on beautiful Kigamboni Beach. We stayed in Seaview Room No. 16 for two nights, after seeing it advertised on the company website. However were were very disappointed because:
1. Reception staff on both days were unfriendly.
2. Our room was not ready when we arrived in the late afternoon:
- there was only one bathroom towel, Another one was later provided, but both were a grey dirty colour.
- no bathroom soap
- no mosquito net. It was later installed by the Reception Manager, but it was too small for the king-size bed, and was torn in at least 2 places
- no bedspread
- sheets & pillowslip were unclean
- floors were not properly swept
- one light switch was not working
- the refrigerator was not working properly
- the shower drain was blocked
- the basin seem to have a leak on the floor on the right hand side.
3. I had to ask twice for bathroom soap to sent to my room, and even though it was eventually delivered by staff, it did take more than 2 hours.
4. On the second day of our stay, the peaceful ambience was shattered by the amplified music of a private birthday on the beachfront bar. This went on for almost four hours.
5. Many of the beach furniture was either unclean, or old & damaged.
6. The most disturbing aspect was the manner in which the Room Service Staff cleaned our room on the second day:
- They used a sponge, which had been sitting in a mop bucket & on the floor, to clean the tea cups & glasses of our room!
- They even used the toilet brush to clean the shower!
So what should have been an enjoyable experience, turned out to be a most unpleasant holiday.

Room Tip: The beach front bungalows have nice angled views of the beach(esp. # 16, 17 & 18), but they all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Icthus1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed for our 2 last nights at this hotel and we liked it. For 4500 TSH we had a hut near the beach. It was very basic, but clean and nice. There was no noise at night, only musquitos because you're near the water. A lot of local Tanzanians come to this beach during the weekend. It's nice to meet local people. The dinner is great!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Ann188637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

spent 2 days in the beach of this hotel, so have no idea about the hotel. the beach is incredible long!! white sand, clean in general. my friends (who work in DarEsSalaam) go there for weekends. they prefer the beach of exactly this hotel istead of goin' the nearest to them. so it's safe, clean enough, good bar, perfect view!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
Thank Nata1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
14.9 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#28 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
59 reviews
0 mi away
Giraffe Ocean View Hotel
Giraffe Ocean View Hotel
#53 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
42 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#6 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
#15 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
316 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#14 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
294 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Resort

Address: Mji Mwema, Kigamboni, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £55 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Indian Ocean situated in Mjimwema, 7km south of Dar es Salaam lies the picturesque Sunrise Beach Resort & Conference Centre, on a private beach. The resort consists of 14 Executive Deluxe Rooms, 6 Sea View Rooms, 30 Suite Rooms. It also boasts of a magnificent campsite consisting of 7 tents., big enough to cater for overland truckers from any part of the world. The campsite is furnished with an open kitchen which gives residents that perfect view of the ocean which they have always been looking for. Our world class Conference hall can accommodate up to 300 delegates. Apart from offering that unique sea view, it also offers resources and technology equaling those of European Conference Centres. This conference hall, which is multipurpose is a perfect venue for corporate presentations, products launches as well as family functions like wedding receptions and graduation ceremonies. The unspoilt beaches of the Swahili coast offer an entirely new experience for the discerning holiday maker. Whether interested in snorkelling or diving, there is an abundance of ocean life to be discovered on the finest waters of the Indian Ocean and looking out across the ocean, you view the Sinda Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Sunrise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing