We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELICIOUS FOOD BUT BAD MANAGEMENT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Resort
Ranked #82 of 97 Hotels in Dar es Salaam
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the beach hut..the location is awesome and the food is delicious but the management lets the place down. We did not have any tv in the room and also had to ask the housekeeping staff everyday to clean the rooms and they took ages....The management does not know how to run the place and did not even offer us discount for the room. overall its was enough for our 3 night stay....lovely over the weekend with music and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SGoff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for your amazing review.

We are kindly, very sorry for the inconvenience caused

We are looking forward to have you back soon.

Regards
Sunrise Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

Beautiful grounds, comfortable rooms and very generally peaceful setting. Saturdays and Sundays can become quite noisy as they play loud music on the Beach Bar deck in the afternoons, but just take your shoes off and dance on the beach. Service can either be very good or non-existent depending on person serving you but there are a few people like Chriss and Chef Dinesh who made our stay very pleasant. Always ready to accomodate us and willing to go the extra mile to make you happy. Kitchen closes at 23:30 hrs but its best to be there early as most of the restaurant staff tend to avoid taking orders when they are about to close the kitchen or bar.
Good value for money! :-)

Room Tip: If room space is not a problem for you choose Sea View, smaller and cheaper but better view as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis_Xaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for your amazing review.

We are kindly, very sorry for the inconvenience caused

We are looking forward to have you back soon.

Regards
Sunrise Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed for 6 nights. The location is beautiful, with lodges right on the beach. The rooms were filthy and not cleaned once during the stay, despite repeatedly asking. There was no hot water, and towels were taken away on the first day and not replaced.
The staff were alll very rude , especially the management, and service was very slow. There were only 6 guests when we stayed, but still had to wait over 30 mins for an omelette for breakfast.
It is such a shame the management are so arrogant and rude as it could be such a lovely resort in a beautiful setting

Room Tip: as always, if you are prepared to pay more, you get more, but there are other more expensive hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 966traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for your amazing review.

We are kindly, very sorry for the inconvenience caused

We are looking forward to have you back soon.

Regards
Sunrise Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Our room was a haven for mosquitoes and, not surprisingly, I ended up with malaria after staying there. There was a net but it was full of large holes. Since it was the only place I got mosquito bites, I assume that's where the malaria came from. I also agree with the other reviews that state the management is unpleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nansierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F0M_Sunrise_Resort, Manager at Sunrise Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Thank you for your amazing review.

We are kindly, very sorry for the inconvenience caused

We are looking forward to have you back soon.

Regards
Sunrise Beach Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

what used to be a very plesant little place is in one word awfull now the new managment are rude arrogent and un helpfull riped off on exchange rate romms terrable no aircon shower broken no hot water no wonder the place is empty give it a miss

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

We came from arusha to do some
Paperwork in dar; ee came here on our second night escaping the heat and humidity of town. We were very happy till at dinnet time we had to witness how to indian guys negotiated with what seemed to be 2 prostitutes just in front of our faces; i felt sick when the one of the guy offered her 5000tsh and 10 minutes later he was leaving with her friend and that girl with another guy; as a woman i felt like crying seeing the bargaining. I understand they are adults and they are on their right to do so but not in front of customers... They should have some
Respect for other people and "negotiate" somewhere else. Apart from that very good though food and drinks quite pricey for what they offer.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maricuqui6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

During our stay at the camp site of the Sunrise Beach Resort, we noticed how an uniformed security watchmen has stolen a wallet in our car. We informed the indian manager about this, but he didn't intervene, arguing that we couldn't prove anything!
Next day, we witnessed how another european guest got physically intimidated by the same uniformed security service: three watchmen were removing him from the reception area where he was complaining about burglary in the locker of his room. It was clear that the watchmen were acting under instruction of the indian manager.
We checked out immediately.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
14.9 mi away
Seascape Hotel
Seascape Hotel
#27 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
59 reviews
0 mi away
Giraffe Ocean View Hotel
Giraffe Ocean View Hotel
#52 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
42 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
Best Western Coral Beach Hotel
#6 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
Kunduchi Beach Hotel and Resort
#16 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
316 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
Mediterraneo Hotel & Restaurant
#14 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
293 reviews
14.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
Ramada Resort Dar es Salaam
#8 of 97 in Dar es Salaam
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Resort

Address: Mji Mwema, Kigamboni, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Price Range: £55 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of the Indian Ocean situated in Mjimwema, 7km south of Dar es Salaam lies the picturesque Sunrise Beach Resort & Conference Centre, on a private beach. The resort consists of 14 Executive Deluxe Rooms, 6 Sea View Rooms, 30 Suite Rooms. It also boasts of a magnificent campsite consisting of 7 tents., big enough to cater for overland truckers from any part of the world. The campsite is furnished with an open kitchen which gives residents that perfect view of the ocean which they have always been looking for. Our world class Conference hall can accommodate up to 300 delegates. Apart from offering that unique sea view, it also offers resources and technology equaling those of European Conference Centres. This conference hall, which is multipurpose is a perfect venue for corporate presentations, products launches as well as family functions like wedding receptions and graduation ceremonies. The unspoilt beaches of the Swahili coast offer an entirely new experience for the discerning holiday maker. Whether interested in snorkelling or diving, there is an abundance of ocean life to be discovered on the finest waters of the Indian Ocean and looking out across the ocean, you view the Sinda Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Jovago.com so you can book your Sunrise Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Hotel Dar Es Salaam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing